Hallelujah | Reviewer: steve | 12/16/08

Just listened to the real version and it moved me so much. Just listening to the heart and soul of the singer was so moving. Let the music loving world unite and beat the x factor nobody to number 1.

One of the best songs of all time! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/13/08

This song is simply amazing, words cannot describe the emotion the melody evokes. Jeff Buckleys version is the best version anyone has ever heard, his simplistic approach to it, made the song outstanding. No one can ever top this version.

I hate how often this is played. | Reviewer: Aaron Pecora | 12/10/08

This is such a moving song, but it loses something every time it is played on something like the O.C. or Shrek. The thought of this becoming one of those ubiquitous songs that everyone knows makes me a little sad. I guess we just can't leave well enough alone.

AHMAZING! | Reviewer: Aila B. | 11/24/08

I can't tell you how many times I cried during the O.C. when I heard this song. Its so powerful and meaningful. I feel like Hallelujah is one of the most amazing songs of all time.

R.I.P. Jeff Buckley<3

Heartwarming Rendition | Reviewer: Mary | 11/8/08

I honestly never knew who Jeff Buckley was until I watched the latest "Unplugged" episode as Jon Bonjovi performed it. Bonjovi actually spoke about the "late, great, Jeff Buckley" prior to the set and let me tell you, I was extremely intrigued. So much, that I did a little research and pulled up Jeff Buckley's performance on "YouTube." It's a shame to think the world has lost such an amazing talent......

Choir | Reviewer: MandraKara | 9/26/08

Womens Choir (an auditioned choir) at my school is singing this in 4 part harmony, it's an interesting arrangement. I'm an Alto 2, so we normally start the verses. Then the Alto 1s take over. The Sopranos are always like background in this song. It's nice to see the Altos take the melody for a change.

simply the best... | Reviewer: mike | 8/23/08

Leonard Cohen may have composed the lyrics of this song, but his performance could never and will never exceed the quality which Jeff's version has. It's sad that his talent went to his grave with him. We will never know what his talent held in store for the future.

im sort of cornfused | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/15/08

i never realy listened to the lyrics unit resently and the first thing that poped into my head was this song is realy nast but then i read some the reviews and i think i get it but im still alittle lost so its like there so in love they become one by makeing love then she leaves him thats why hes sad i dont understand. the sex part is just because when your realy in love its apart of the pacage or what but it is a beautifull song i dont like the buckly song at all the one thats the best out of all of them is the one sang by rufus wainright the piano part is so coolso if you could fill me in. IN PEOPLE TERMS NOT THAT SMART

This Is Amaising | Reviewer: Chris | 5/23/08

we did a spring concert at my school and i chose to perform this song on stage infront of a sold out audience of 1000 people
and i had dedicated it to my grandfather who had passed away many many years ago, but i knew he was listening to it when i performed this song at the end of the song everyone stood up and started clapping, and all the tears started coming out of my eyes, it is a very powerful song.

One of the best songs ever. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/21/08

I totally give Cohen his due for writing it BUT let's be honest...Cale and BUCKLEY are the ones that sang the definitive versions. Buckley in particular...Dear God, it is so moving.
Love the lyrics which pull from the Hebrew scriptures but somehow take on multiple meanings for whomever is listening to it.

This song has made the world a better place.

Hallelujah -- Artist: Jeff Buckley | Reviewer: Anon | 4/27/08

Well I'm sure by now everybody knows Leonard Cohen wrote this tune. Leonard Cohen, the individual, is about as narcissistic as artists come. In fact, he set a lot of the benchmarks for this behavior back in the sixties that others followed. And, unlike Jeff Buckley, who was never really a part of that scene, Leonard made it to old age.

“Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.”
- Santayana

unique | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/12/08

I guess either you feel or you don't feel this song. Either you feel it deep in your soul or you don't feel it at all. Jeff Buckley was something else, I'll tell you that. I suppose I feel it. I feel it and I can't help but falling in love with it every time.

sick song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/2/08

go and read 'again to carthage' by john l parker (sequel to 'once a runner'). after you finish the second to last chapter, you'll know why this is probably one of the best running songs i can think of

Capturing song | Reviewer: Nell | 3/28/08

Tears came to my eyes the first time I heard this song quite a few years ago. The word 'Hallelujah'seems to play over and over in my mind me each time I hear Jeff sing the song. His drowning was very sad, but his music continues to live on and keep his memory alive.

Get Real | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/23/08

There is a phrase in performing called "Poetic License"
It is not plageurism or theft or fraud of any kind. Jeff Buckley made no claims on the copywrite of it this is just his version and interpretation