Reviews for Hallelujah Lyrics

Performed by Jeff Buckley

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 2/ 19
Add Your New Review About The Song

truth is | Reviewer: Jordan | 12/19/12

The truth is no one will ever know the true meaning of this song but the man who wrote it so stop talking rubbish people and enjoy the song the man gave to us and for all those religious people out there why do use always have to look for some stupid meaning behind it he even says in the song stand before the lord of song not meaning god because there is no such thing look into the true past of your religion and ul find nothing but scams and devil worship god is a man made creation to make themselves feel there is life after death so stupid get a grip people enjoy your lifes and the songs that are in it because when your dead your dead

Caution: Very honest | Reviewer: Lucie | 12/19/12

This song seemed amazing to me in that visceral, from the gut feeling everyone talks about. Of course, like so many of you I had to take a look at the lyrics. The lyrics are at odds with the "religious" theme of the song, but that is exactly why I adore it. I get Cohen's sarcasm, frustration, and defeat. The whole package is nothing but amazing. Remember how "Born in the USA" was not about patriotism? "Hallelujah" is not so much about the lord as it is about man's pithiness in the context of his world full of hope, sadness, failed love, lack of intimacy, acceptance, etc. As such, the song is made so more more significant by the dichotomy and irony of the chorus, music and lyrics. It's a complicated song, but life is complex if you're a thinking person.

MISSING STANZAS | Reviewer: Mark Beckwith | 12/17/12

I don't know if Jeff Buckley sang the third and last stanzas or not, but they are NOT included in the above posted lyrics.

Third one:

You say I took the name in vain
I don't even know the name
But if I did, well really, what's it to you?
There's a blaze of light in every word
It doesn't matter which you heard
The holy or the broken Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah, Hallelujah, Hallelujah

And the last one, without which the song cannot be understood as Leonard Cohen wrote it:

I did my best, it wasn't much;
I couldn't feel so I learned to touch.
I've told the truth, I didn't come to fool you.
And even though it all went wrong,
I'll stand before the Lord of Song
with nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah.

Hallelujah, Hallelujah, Hallelujah, Hallelujah

This song is about HUMILITY. Every huamn attempt at anything is flawed, always has been, always will be. Even so, the singer will still stand before the universe and sing hallelujah, as imperfect as his/her attempts at loving or anything else have been, not as a sniveling wretch, but with courage and dignity intact for having taken a RISK and made his/her flawed effort, but EFFORT nonetheless.

Hallelujah | Reviewer: someone who enjoys :] | 12/17/12

This song is one of a kind. soothing and touching, but people need to stop making a big deal about this song and enjoy it.. who cares what the lyrics mean. you know it than thats great and if you don't that shouldnt stop you from listening to an amazing song. music is suppose to be unique and creative, not strict and having to mean everything or understood (if that makes sense). so yeah just enjoy. REALLYY!!!! :]

Moved | Reviewer: Louw | 12/13/12

I am nearly 50 years old and have a great passion for music all my life but never in my life any form of music moved me like Halleluja, actually no words known to me can describe this piece,

and that includes all versions of this song. I am a uge Leonard Cohen fan and thank God to give this humble man the talent to wright such a historicle piece of music.

I totally agree with some of the wrighters that music is an art and not be took apart with certain meanings atachet to the words
If the shoe fits put it on.
Sorry for my bad English as it is only my second language.

WOW | Reviewer: Valerie Johnson | 12/6/12

I heard this song and could not stop there. I googled all information on the song and listened to everyone who has sung it that i could find. I am not finished yet either. I going to get the book also. This song touched me. It is my all time favorite.

Misuse of "Hallelujah" | Reviewer: sk3rzzo | 10/18/12

While the music is soothing, the words are kind of lame, especially by the fact that the artist is employing spiritual themes. He also doesn't seem to understand what the word "hallelujah" means. Hallelujah means "Praise the LORD." How can "hallelujah" be "broken?"

Hallelujah | Reviewer: the preacher | 8/14/12

The music is nostalgic. Don't listen to the words and the sound is soft lilting. WIth the words, the music becomes different. You hear the melancholy in it. It points to a person's troubles. While there are biblical references, this is really about a relationship. The first initial "honeymoon" stage until the broken part... where it's gone. It wasn't meant to last, etc. etc. Whatever. It's a man's lament.

this song | Reviewer: Sandy | 7/18/12

these words dig deep into my soul! I know this sounds corny but the lyrics have a way of getting into the deepest parts of me--nothing, and I mean nothing, soothes me the way this song and these lyrics instill a genuine inner relaxation. I have heard all kinds of music, all different this moves me like no other! I say these words are inscribed in my very being! I know this sounds weird and corny but I am older person and no one or no thing has ever made me feel like this!

wrong | Reviewer: Jenn | 6/26/12

One commenter wrote that no one is right or wrong about this song because it's art (or something like that) and I'm inclined to agree.

However I can't agree with Kathleen, who wrote on 11/25/11 that the song "is misleading, the melody and the word Hallelujah leads one to feel it is praise to God, and it is fitting and sublime in that respect, but, the lyrics belie it's spiritual beauty, and instead of enabling the soul to soar, leads it to "thump" at the dichotomy between perfect melody, spiritually loaded word, and then, disheartening lyrics."

Before Jesus took up his current residence, he was supposed to have walked on this earth and suffered as people do, where there are no angels or trumpets, where sadness exists the same as joy. This song is about the different kinds of hallelujahs that our experiences on earth cause us to sing out, not about whatever glory and infinite happiness might exist beyond death.

That being said, this song has been rewritten many times, and there are Easter versions out there that probably have lyrics Kathleen would prefer.

Reflecting in Hallelujah. | Reviewer: John Fischer | 6/21/12

He is in conversation with God and in a trouble state just coming to faith through tremendous adversity and trials and he displays this by referring to Biblical David who after falling away from God, the reference of her bathing on the roof, and David sinning against God by sleeping with her, instead of being with his army and then having the incredible revolt, attempts on his life, and his resulting Psalm 51 where repents and asks God for mercy. The other reference is in the same context where Samson felt his strength was in his hair and God through amazing trials of him having his eyes put out, and enslaved, Samson begged for mercy and was granted mercy. Even after telling these stories in metaphor to the personal suffering he talks about this not being a victory march. He had Faith, but fell away from the Lord, the Faith of David as he defeated Galliath is unquestioned, but later in David's life like that of a follower now, questioning and darkness comes to test and refine your faith. Victory has not yet been obtained in these Hallelujahs.

David's secret chord is prayer in Faith. You don't like music do ya? Is a reflection of Buckley's song not reflecting Faith that is true..yet. He questions the Lord in this way and also displays the questioning in his heart. The baffled King is not only David who is baffled but the story of coming to faith in trial where revelation is coming but not yet understood. The words "baffled king composing" reflect this state of he Heart that is being transformed through brokenness that comes through trial.


These amazingly difficult stories of suffering are reflected in the voice of Buckley infecting incredible pain and suffering evolving and the last several Hallelujah's to that of acceptance and love.
He speaks while he suffers of a time when he knew the Lord and the Spirit was with him in " Well there was a time when you let me know
What's really going on below
But now you never show that to me do you?
And remember when I moved in you?
And the holy dove was moving too
And every breath we drew was Hallelujah"

They Hallelujahs here are nice but not like they will be soon.

He is showing in suffering how he is struggling in his true Faith and through suffering admits he did not have True Faith
in these verses:
Well maybe there's a God above
But all I've ever learned from love
Was how to shoot somebody who'd OUT DREW YA
And it's not a cry that you hear at night
It's not somebody who's seen in the light
It's a cold and it's a broken Hallelujah

the "it's not a cry you hear at night" and the "it's not somebody who's seen in the light...the metaphor of cry's at night of someone who seeks the Lord in times of Trouble and Darkness...and seen the Light is a common reference to seeing God, or Jesus in darkness when your are being tested are used many times in the first book of Psalm which have many references to the Messiah and Savior. By Buckley's version saying it is not these, he is indicating the same thing at this point in his faith walk as he did right after the references to David and Samson...it is not a victory March...it is a cold broken Hallelujah. Repentance and confession of sin is called for from the Old Testament through the New Testament, the message never changed in this regard...God wants our Heart. But what is amazing in this song, is what comes next-A long series of Hallelujah's first they are like the last series, nice but the Heart is not fully expressed. It is the last series of Hallelujah's that Jeff Buckley testifies his coming to True Faith in the Lord. The incredible pain and suffering in his voice with the first of the last series of Hallelujahs often referred to as "haunting" Hallelujah, then the next reflects his Heart in the beginning process of being Transformed in understanding provided by questioning and seeking the Lord in Trial, the third the Love of the Lord is starting to be shown in his story of accepting the Lord Jesus Christ in True Heart and Faith, and the fourth shows Love...deep and pure Love of a transformed Heart as he accepts Christ and the beauty of the guitar played around the last two Hallelujah's are in celebration.

Buckley or even Cohen could have been or not been of Faith, I am not a judge of this, can anyone judge the Heart? Our Lord God creates all people for his intended purpose whether it can be seen by man or the people he is involving or not. pharaoh's heart was hardened and God through pharaoh let the world know who He was. God used Cyrus the Great of Persia to rebuild His holy City Jerusalem, He used Judas the betrayer of Jesus. I believe God used Jeff Buckley to tell the story of coming to Faith in such a way it will stand the test of time. It tells of God, of Faith, of the refinement of a broken heart through trials on earth, the guidance and acceptance of the Holy Spirit, and the falling away, and the coming back of the prodigal son, the acceptance in true faith of a refined heart, and the reflection of the Love of Jesus Christ that comes of a transformed heart that is of true Faith in Jesus as our Lord and personal Savior.

Was Buckley or Cohen Christian, Jewish, Agnostic...is not the point. The point is the message from our Lord is there for those who choose to see.




THE ORIGINAL LYRICs are much MUCH better | Reviewer: AvIbp | 4/30/12

In my guesstimation:
THIS remake (cover) (There are many) speaks of a relationship between a man and a women. The original speaks of a relationship between a man and his god.

The change in lyrics disturbs me a tad-bit and lessens the song but, the rejoicing still make it a winner.

the real author and intent | Reviewer: Alan McG. | 4/12/12

This song was actually written by Leonard Cohen and covered by Jeff Buckley among others. KD Lang's version is outstanding too. as far as meaning... I believe most of the lyrics are metaphores. Cohen was part of the beat, early hippie poet generation and often wrote similar to the style of Bob Dylan. he was a radical and often hid true meanings among metaphorical phrases. I'm not sure how religious he was. he was a Jew at a time when being Jewish wouldn't make.you all that popular, so as far as perceived bible references, probably not intended to be taken literal, most likely metaphores.

... | Reviewer: Ellie | 12/21/11

I have loved this song for forever. I never knew the full lyrics so I looked them up. For me this is a song of beauty and sadness. I don't know what it means. I'm not sure many people know for sure. Everyone thinks something different.
Sometimes it's easy to explain: a girl falls in love with a man...
But for me it expresses something that I can't explain, something that I know is personal, that only I will feel.
Not many songs can do that.

As with all music, as in all songs. Each of us take it to mean something different, it's in how we interpet the song. No one is wrong, nor right. | Reviewer: Jeff | 12/15/11

1st off, I have to touch on this comment by Kimmie1..."A genius doesn't cover someone else's song, they write their own!" I somewhat agree with this opinion, however, I think of someone by the name of...Johnny Cash. And I think of his cover of Trent Reznor's song "Hurt"...and even though it was a cover, Johnny Cash WAS a genius! Hell, even Reznor himself said...only a real and true genius can cover a song like Johnny Cash in kind of making the song as if it was his very own!

Now this is the first time I've ever heard of this song, as well as the first time in ever reading the lyrics...and tonight is also the first time I've ever heard the song. Yes, that's right...heard the song. Not listened to it, as anyone can listen to a song...but to hear a song is quite different.

A woman I know, who I have known for about 10 years had just sent me this song today. As she finally told me that she has been in love with me, so to speak...for quite some time now. However, she was always afraid to tell me. As she is afraid of being/getting hurt again, so she was too scared to tell me how she had felt. So she ran away from me for a few days, lied to me about being in love with someone else and well...the rest of the story isn't something I'm wanting to share.

But I now understand her a little more, a lot more actually. And understand why she ran away, lied to me and whatnot...and well, I guess I have to agree with what Erin had to say on 7/1/11 Love is patient...


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 2/ 19