Reviews for Hallelujah Lyrics

Performed by Jeff Buckley

By Pages:   Previous 10 Pages    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    Current page No. 11/ 19
Add Your New Review About The Song

smiling jeff | Reviewer: mories | 9/9/07

jeff buckley must be smiling, like many writers do when they read or hear people analyse their work. but that's ok. i listened to the music, cycling to work and back, at work, at home, for a week now and i am not mentally ill. i just love it so much right now. every body finds in a song, a book, a movie what's there for him and her. and that's just so fine. :)

Shivers | Reviewer: Andrew | 9/8/07

The first time i heard this song it sent shivers down my spine, and everytime i listen to it the shivers get worse and and my eyes start to flood up, I play it over and over and sing it twice as much although when sitting on my own cant get the words out for crying, no other song ever written has made me feel like this, im not a religous man but could not live without music and this is song is evry emotion contained in something i would call heart rendering perfection from the voice to the guitar and lyrics this song haunts me and will untill there is no breath left in me remain my favourite song

Interpretation of Hallelujah - not dove or dark but Tao | Reviewer: Susan | 9/4/07

I heard this song for the first time this weekend, and it is so beautiful that I have played it over and over and over. My interpretation is that the song compares human sex and love as our attempt to reach the ultimate, perfect love of and relationship with God. We long for the sacred romance, but have to settle for our earthly version of it. That is why it is a "broken" Hallelujah. Sex is worship if it is an expession of love.
The second verse as well as the first refers David, who saw Bathsheba and had to have her, so he sent her husband into battle. The verse with the flag over the marble arch continues the theme of the biblical time of David.
When I listened to the song I though that Buckley was refered to "the holy Tao" (pronounced dow), which in Taoism is in essence God the creator.
Whatever word he used, Jeff Buckley captures in his voice humanity's longing for union with God.



My interpretation of this song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/1/07

A lot of people have speculated on the meaning of this song. Someone said he knew for a fact what it was about, but wouldn't tell anyone because he didn't want anyone to stop liking the song. That person presumably thinks this song is about sex. An earlier analysis said the same thing, except explicitly. Of course, it is partly about sex, but I think there's more to it. The only overtly sexual verse is the second-to-last one where he speaks of "moving in you".

More to the point, this song is about love, not just sex. The sex is part of the love, but it goes hand-in-hand with it. "Remember when I moved in you? And the holy dove was moving too", for example, where both sex and holiness are combined together, because they move together.

So if we then take religion to be an allegory for love, then much more of the song makes sense. The "secret chord" that David plays that pleases the lord is a symbol for love, again, but "You don't care for music", so the person he's singing to doesn't believe in the holiness of love. This is also seen by the author saying that "Your faith was strong," meaning you could love at one point, but "her beauty and the moonlight overthrew you" (i.e. the lover was seduced by something else, and is no longer interested in the pure love the singer sings of). The seducer brings forth a "Hallelujah" from the lips of the lover, which indicates the lover has forsaken the old "god" (love) for the new god (the seducer). The singer doesn't like this and, feeling alone ("I've been here before, I’ve seen this room and I've walked this floor, I used to live alone before I knew you", which means he feels now as he did before he met his lover) admonishes his lover, ("Love is not a victory march"). Apparently, part of the seduction of the lover is that the lover believes she has some claim on the singer.

Thus, we end up in the last verse where the lover has staked a claim on the singer. The singer doubts his faith in love "Maybe there's a god above", but he also seems to have left the relationship. "All I've ever learned from love was how to shoot somebody who outdrew you" (the outdrawing refers to the claim staked on the singer by the lover).

In the final lines, he speaks of how his love is not a cry that you hear at night (think sex) and it's not someone who's seen the light (someone who believes in love as he does), but it's cold and broken and pleading. It's a very sad song about loss of faith, disappointment, and maybe even hope (the "secret" chord he's heard of that might yet please the lord). All in all, a very deep and beautiful song.

Lyrics confusion | Reviewer: Hattie | 8/28/07

As for the holy dark v. holy dove thing - apparently rufus wainwright changed it to dark but it was originally dove, and it seems Cohen himself (let alone everyone else, inc buckley, of whom i'm a fan) changed the lyrics in a later version! It's weird - i think some versions are more biblical, some more sexual, in their allusions, but wikipedia it for more info anyway.

Also i knew it originally from shrek - despite the fact the actual film and the soundtrack have different people singing it...

memories | Reviewer: Natalia | 8/27/07

this lyrics, this song, his voice remind me so many things, thoughts and situations from the past...When I firstly heard this song I was crying...I made so many mistakes, so many people I disapoint.
Anyway I like this song bery much, this is a song of my life.

hallelujah questions | Reviewer: nikki | 8/19/07

the version i have seems to skip the first two verses and jump straight into Baby i've been here before.... then at the end, there's another verse that doesnt appear on these lyrics. what's up with that??? i want the ORIGINAL song....please help! email me and tell me which version is the REAL version please

lyrics correction | Reviewer: Will | 8/14/07

"i thought the holy dog was movin', but the verse sounds so much deeper now that i kno9w its a dove"

Unfortunately, Im fairly sure its neither. Its the 'Holy Dark' which is moving. Leonard Cohen meant it as complex but beautiful imagery portray sex as quasi-divine.

Uplifting | Reviewer: kate | 8/10/07

Jeff Buckley's version makes me tear up every time. I admit that I'm partial to him (if you don't have Grace, get it), but really his rendition of this song is uplifting and quite lovely.

dove vs dog | Reviewer: hot t | 8/10/07

i thought the holy dog was movin', but the verse sounds so much deeper now that i kno9w its a dove.

Sweet | Reviewer: Voi Perkele | 8/6/07

I heard this song first time when they promoted the 24-series' fourth season on tv here in Finland. As Jeff sings about marble arch ect, Jack Bauer looks like his in agony and crying and everybodys dying and so forth --- Very touchy moment. At that moment I desided that I must get the song and watch the serie. Good decisions both :)

Hallelujah | Reviewer: Colin | 7/29/07

This song seems to strip me to the bone it says so much more than just the lyrics,been through some really tough times a few years ago and I think I know where L cohen was at when he wrote it. Some people on here say it gives them hope i'm not so sure but all the best songs mean different things to the people who listen to them
Anyway great great song sung beautifly by J Buckley

Edukators | Reviewer: Wendy | 7/22/07

I even almost cried during the movie "The Edukatos" because of this song, Hallelujah. I know Leonard Cohen, but don't know Buckley so well. Gotta listen to more of his music.

.. | Reviewer: matt | 7/14/07

i had to sing this song at my mums funeral a few months ago.. byt he end of the first verse i was in tears.. i love it so much.. it my mums favorite song, so its very special to me.. every time i hear it i close my eyes and remember the good times.. it makes me smile.. this song is just so beautiful.. jeff buckley is amazing

Great song | Reviewer: Tennille | 7/14/07

i only know it from the O.C. the show, and it made me cry so much now i love listening to it the show got me hooked.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   Previous 10 Pages    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    Current page No. 11/ 19