Life comparisons | Reviewer: Slim Shady | 6/18/09

Yo, I'm Nicho Cudby AKA Slim Shady. I'm basically in the same position as what Jay-Z was when he was first releasing raps. I've re-written this rap (Obviously because I'm white not black) but it's the same Idea though.

opinions are like ass#@%!'s..... | Reviewer: Terri | 6/18/09

think or say what you want about this song. I'm a black female that happens to love this song. The music - not the lyrics - are what jumped out and grabbed me immediately. I'm not a big fan of rap, but this sounds like some old school funk with a go-go flavor. I don't hear him dissin' women; I hear him telling a story based on his own experiences. And who has the right to judge another individuals personal experiences? Hey, if Barack Obama digs it, its A-ok by me!

you know what haters | Reviewer: jay z | 6/5/09

if u hatin on him like
"A bitch ain't one!!!! | Reviewer: Pita | 2/20/09

I am not insulted by this song eventhough, I'm a woman but, the fact still remains that, those lyrics are degrading to women that are not in the bitch category. Jay-Z raps only to make money and to support the capitalist society. He has no sympathy for conscious lyrics. He is just another .0000001% African American man with a little paper. Paper that is created to put all of us in debt, and it is only a matter of time until this white capitalist government reign down the wrath of destruction on him. Remember according to the united constitution he is only and still only considered 3/5 of a man. So, time will tell what his downfall will be. The put you up and they bring you down, regardless if you're trying to resist.

Pata
New York, NY"

you just mad and bein racist 4 no reason because u sayin shit like he just another black guy wat the fuck man/girl (idc) and get past his skin color because of he was white i bet ure ass would be all up on him.

99 problems | Reviewer: Divalicious | 6/4/09

Yo I love this song. Ima fmale--- I could care less aboutwhat he says in this song. Idc. Love this song. My favorite part is when he is with the police officer talking. It's the last song on my iPod and I just go done listening to it with these lyrics. Jay z is doing good with his raps. Idc what no one says. He and beyonce both don't got time for no body I. There songs but they are maaried. Lol

this is song is so bad ass | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/28/09

i had all kinds of problems with girls and finally i said fuck em all..and thats what i did..i didnt care what happened..this song is just another song that has a story..i dont even get how anyone could say this song is degrading to women..he gets pulled over and into a fight and talks about radio not playing his songs which they actually did not want to play his songs when he first started releasing songs.. you people need to stop over analyzing words like bitch and hoe and listen to what the rest of the song is cuz its a story about what happened when he started making music that was released

god you f***ers are idiots | Reviewer: Anthony | 5/27/09

way back when Ice-T wrote a song by the same title, with the same chorus. Except when he was rapping it was all about the bitches and how easy it was for him to get them.

Jay-Z flipped it to say; "look, I am getting hell from all you f***ers and I don't need any of it, I don't have girl problems, cuz I already have too much shit to deal with right now."

it wasn't meant to bring down women, it was just that he's sayin he doesn't want ANY kind of of woman because that would bring more dimensions of shit that would be on his mind (good or bad) that he doesn't want to have to deal with at this moment in time. He feels sorry for you, almost in a mocking sort of way.

"Hey, you've got lady trouble? I WISH I had that kind of luck" sort of attitude.

stop playing the race card | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/18/09

jay-z is a capitalist. who cares if he's white or black. there are people on wall street doing much worse things to us and i think they're all white. jay-z is just doing what pays the bills, granted its the bills to a bentley and a wedding on a private island. to beyonce. but i digress. point is, don't hate him just because kids, or more likely their parents, are too ignorant to know whats good for people. its natural selection.

ridiculous | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/23/09

If you think this song is insulting you are ridiculous.
As far as i can tell, this isn't a typical rap song. He isn't singing about sex like most rap songs. Isn't he saying that he doesn't need a chick?

99 problems and ya image is one | Reviewer: Faith | 2/24/09

Check out the images of black people in rap - so its cool to be a pimp for black men and cool to shake ya ass if youre a black woman. Rap as promoted by mainstream society puts black men and women down - keeps them down. From slavery to prostitution - a giant step? From the n word ending in er to the n word ending in a - some progress. But then money doesnt talk - it swears...

A bitch ain't one!!!! | Reviewer: Pita | 2/20/09

I am not insulted by this song eventhough, I'm a woman but, the fact still remains that, those lyrics are degrading to women that are not in the bitch category. Jay-Z raps only to make money and to support the capitalist society. He has no sympathy for conscious lyrics. He is just another .0000001% African American man with a little paper. Paper that is created to put all of us in debt, and it is only a matter of time until this white capitalist government reign down the wrath of destruction on him. Remember according to the united constitution he is only and still only considered 3/5 of a man. So, time will tell what his downfall will be. The put you up and they bring you down, regardless if you're trying to resist.

Pata
New York, NY

Apropos | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/7/09

Jay-Z can almost be regarded as a libertarian with his openness toward the perspectives of his audience, whether in line with his personal ones or not. And since lyrical content is art, it is naturally a subjective perception. Jay-Z does respect all listeners, asking them to dance between his intended literal and symbolic words. Leaving an alternative interpretation up to whomever may hear, even the critics who annoy him, he also respects himself. He can form an opinion about an audience member's view, and he can agree to disagree. Never does he indicate that no one is entitled to not read into his lyrics, even if they fail to get his actual point. This joint, "99 Problems," is merely one of many examples.

Ugh... | Reviewer: Izaek | 2/1/09

A lot of rap can suck. A lot of people are racist, no matter what color they are. This song is good not degrading in anyway unless you make it degrading, in which case you degrade yourself. So just stfu and stick to the songs you like maybe?

Not offensive | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/19/09

This song isn't racist nor is it degrading to women. He isn't referring to women as hoes. He even says in the lyrics,

"This is not a hoe in the sense of havin a pussy".

Just because he raps about not letting a bitch run his life, doesn't mean it's degrading. He's not talking about a decent woman, he's talking about a woman who can obviously be regarded as a bitch.

I don't see why people are taking this song as a personal insult, as if this song was written for you.

I am a young, white female and I find nothing wrong with this song. If you don't like it, no one is forcing you to listen to it.

i got 99 problems , but a bitch aint one | Reviewer: Walter | 11/24/08

man , i hate them hatering bitches man. cops all over are above the hizzzohouse on brutallity , man rodney king is one example you can use. and i think jay z was sayin in the song , like if he were in a situation like king. and how cops are out to do shit. but its their job , they gota do it to feed familys and shit. man the world is too idealist and materialistic. fucking like 500000 dollar cars man , donate 4/5 that amount and buy like a shitty car and suppp it up.

haha oh man , im baked lol


and its rap , it aint crap
the music of the intellegent vocal minded person who likes fat ass beats and thumpin bass

build a bridge and get over it | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/8/08

Look.. your opinions on the racial or sexual connotations of this song ammount to nothing.. if you like this song then good on ya!! thats proabably why you came looking on google for the lyrics.. if you dont like this song, and especially the lyrics, do something about it.. and by something i mean not post a poorly constructed comment on a website with a fake screenname (or even better "annonymous") just so you think that you have finally got some strangers attention in life.. nobody cares..