The truth about clean. | Reviewer: Jomit | 5/21/13

You trippers, that comment about getting info out is bland, much blander than the song allows a comment to be. The song is about being in love with a girl, and trying, wanting, to please her, but he keeps fucking up. The song is about how she can say whatever she wants, what ever she pleases, and the words will come out clean, because he gives her that benefit of behavior, meaning he accepts her beyond anything she could ever say, he just wants to know what's going on inside her, so he can know her, be a part of her, solve the issue. But you get the subtle subtext that the issue is unsolvable, as the issue is his unrelenting love for her and the endless limits he'd go to know he satisfied her. The whole point if the song is that he couldn't have an issue himself, with her, he just wants to love her/understand her. The conversation seems to be concerning one moment though, the opening instrumental almost sounds like a love-drawn build up of tension, then it's his gasping thought pattern, despair and the motivation he has to solve her. It's a deep as fuck love song. Ain't no river wide enough, ain't no four letter word dirty enough.

Clean | Reviewer: Cody | 6/5/10

A. The album was released in 99'
B. That 9/11 cmmnt... wtf dumbass lol
C. The song can be interpreted in a few ways like 97% of songs, but i totally agree with Dru on this, he's trying everything to please his girl, and get some info out....


D. INCUBUS OWNS! AND THAT'S SOMETHING EVERYONE CAN AGREE ON :D

Mr. Boyd is lovely | Reviewer: Megan C | 6/1/10

Incubus is AMAZING. And I think that Clean is a very sweet song. He talks about how he wishes he could have a map of his gf's head so he can learn how to not make her frown. That right there makes me feel tingles in my pants. haha I love Brandon!!

Clean | Reviewer: jessi | 3/16/10

Okay as for the 9-11 comment... you're a dumb ass- this album was released in 1995 and 9-11 took place in 2001. Obviously the lyrics reflect a relationship where the girl doesn't express her emotions and he wants her to. Dru (commenter above) is right on it.

clean | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/20/10

personally, i think the bulk idea is a relationship (obviously) but she keeps saying the guy is doing stuff wrong, treating her badly, but she doesn't even say it and when she says something bad, it comes out clean, so it makes her look innocent.

other than than, i have no idea =D

clean | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/2/09

I really don't find that this has a September 11 feel to it. I think that it's just about not understanding each other in relationships. She doesn't express her feelings and he's just trying to figure her out.

clean | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/15/09

This song kinda has a spetember 11 feel to it. A plane hit one of the towers at around a quarter to nine and I'm sure whatever cussing and emotions those people had, it all came out clean. They were caught in a bind they didn't expect and no one should expect.

clean | Reviewer: dru | 12/5/07

its about an argument that results in the silent treatment he gets. he's saying just say what you want to say, nothing hurts worse than silence. even dirty words will come out cleaner than the silent treatment.

clean | Reviewer: anonymous | 7/12/07

this song is the song for all them people have relationships that take a funny turn for no reason.