Reviews for Hide And Seek Lyrics

Performed by Imogen Heap

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 8/ 66
Add Your New Review About The Song

my opinion | Reviewer: Rawr the munster | 2/10/10

I believe this song is about how her boyfriend cheated on her "mm whatcha say, mmm that you only meant well? Well of course you did" i think it is being sung in the sense of "mmhmm whatcha say, mmhm you only meant well... riiight, of course you did."

This has nothing to do with WWII | Reviewer: Jon Waxman | 2/6/10

There is nothing deep about this. It is just a song about some guy who broke up with a woman and is not so nice because the woman cheated on him. She feels bad because she screwed up the relationship, or not.

i think i may have it..... | Reviewer: Greg Moschides | 2/5/10

i think the song is about oppression. like others have given examples, holocast. see, i live in south africa, and i saw this translation beacause of the aparthied that happened and ended in 1994. look it up if you dont know what im talking about.

View point | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/29/10

I think the point of her songs in you kind of have to think about it and it could go either way. Either about relationships or the holocaust or whatever you believe it is I'm sure may have had something to do with it. Or if you don't feel like thinking about it, you can just listen and they're still great songs. Favorite Artist Ever <3

It's Not About Relationships | Reviewer: Shannon | 1/29/10

It seems like it is about the the Holocaust or a country taking another country's land. Maybe not land but something important to the country. Really look at the lyrics and you'll see it. Trains and sewing machines probably have soemthing to do with the time period. The "Mmm whatcha say" part probably means that the country taking over thinks it's all for the best when it is not.

You guys got it all wrong | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/25/10

It is about getting a divorce. Where are we, what the heck is going on is about she is in the court room getting divorced. The dust has only just began to form.... Is " we just got settled into our new house" crop circles in the carpet, the furneture is gone. Sinking feeling, the divorce is a bad idea. Spin me round again...... Means tell me what it's like to have a happy relationship again. When busy streets..... Meand she wishes other people would know what it's like to have a divorce. Hide and seek means her exhusband was hiding stuff from her and she tryed to find out what it was and she felt like her relationship was like a game of hide and seek. Trains and sewing machines refers to her thinking of her wedding and the trains of her wedding dress and the sewing machines that made it. Oily marks..... the pictures are missing from where they used to be the takeover is the divorce itself. The sweeping...... it means the divorce caused a flood of emotions and still life means she feels like the house has no life without him. Chorus( see above) blood and tears means they went through everything together how could a divorce happen? They were here first means the happy moments were before the fights and the divorce. The mmmm watch ya say part means remember what you said at the wedding, that we would always be together? That it's all for the best if you said the divorce was for the best, why do I feel horrible. .....you dicided this part speaks for itself . Ransom notes keep falling out your mouth means he was telling lies and didn't tell her the truth. Mid sweet talk newpaper word cutouts means you didn't mean what you said at the wedding or right before the divorce. The rest speaks for itself.


Look deeper into the words and rethink | Reviewer: Tony | 1/25/10

Ok so I started looking around and I found this:
Heap's mother (an art therapist) and her father (a construction rock retailer) separated when she was twelve. By age thirteen, she had begun writing songs. She had already played music from an early age, and is classically trained in several instruments including piano, cello and clarinet. She later taught herself to play the guitar and drums, and subsequently two unusual percussion/ideophone instruments, the array mbira and the Hang.[4]
Heap did not get on well with the music teacher at her boarding school, so she principally taught herself sequencing, music engineering, sampling and production on Atari computers. She went on to study at the BRIT School of Performing Arts & Technology in Croydon, South London.
Not only did I find that but I also found this:
SOLO SINGLES
"Getting Scared" (1998)
"Shine" (1998)
"Come Here Boy" (1998)
"Oh Me, Oh My" (1998)
"Meantime" (1999)
"Hide and Seek" (2005)
"Goodnight and Go" (2006)
"Headlock" (2006)
"Not Now, But Soon" (2008)
"First Train Home" (2009)
"2-1" (2009)
But one of the things that really caught my eye was most could be compared to sadness.

hmm | Reviewer: lyle | 1/25/10

i do think its about ending a relationship, but i get a huge feeling that theres so much more when i hear it. i think she speaking of the complications of relationships, even more so when they end. and how people overlook how simple things really should be, but we screwed that up for ourselves. possibly about how fake we also can be, hiding from our own truth. just my opinions

Beyond Interpretations... | Reviewer: Tyler | 1/24/10

I absolutely love this song. I can see both the ending relationship interpretation and also the Holocaust one. I lean more towards the relationship interpretation though. But beyond interpretations, this song moves me in a way few others can. If I sing the lyrics aloud with the music, I cry every time. Few songs can do that to me. The emotional impact of this song is unprecidented.

open | Reviewer: Paul | 1/23/10

I don't know what it's about. It changes every time I listen to it. It's so so beautiful. I can't stop listening to it. Don't get caught up with one interpretation and stick with it. Let it work it's magic every time you hear it. It caresses you differently each time. Thank you it's gorgeous.

other issues | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/15/10

This song is about Imogen's parents divorcing, about moving out of her own home into a new one, unfamiliar and cold. She wonders where her parent's love went, why they can't find each other. No one notices her pain, and no one notices how suddenly her life has changed, how she is insensitively tossed aside in the crowd of people. She wonders why they're doing this to her (whatcha say) and she doesn't want to believe the divorce is happening. They don't care about her in the mess of their relationship. The crop circles are dents in the carpet from furniture, where it used to sit. She talks of the sewing machines that were here before she was born, signifying family and home. The oily marks on the walls (like a painting) from the still life, her empty living room, a place where things used to be happy, and they used to have happy, familial moments together.

nafta | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/17/10

wow I guess I really off what I got out of the song was the lie that was told to us about nafta
and how we are consumer nation now not a industrial one and all the industry have closed
and they don't care you go Wal-Mart

Err my interpretion of the song... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/16/10

I actually think the song is about the holocaust. Why? Don't sing the words, try saying it out loud and it's sort of like a poem. Well this is what I thought it meant..

Where are we? What the hell is going on?
(Seems like their going off the train to the camps and going what's happening?)
The dust has only just begun to form. Crop circles in the carpet. Sinking, feeling.
(It may mean that the war has just begun.)
Spin me round again, and rub my eyes. This can't be happening.
(This part may go in another persons point of view when their hair is getting shaved or something and they can't believe it.)
When busy streets a mess with people would stop to hold their heads heavy.
(The camp is getting crowded, and everyone is sad.)
Hide and seek trains and sewing machines. All those years they were here first.
(Hide and seek meaning the Jews were hiding and the Nazi's were trying to find them. All those years they were here first may mean that the Jews were here first.)
And the rest you may get it. But for this part, Mmmm whatcha say,
Mmm that you only meant well?
well of course you did
Mmmm whatcha say,
Mmmm that it's all for the best?
of course it is
Mmmm whatcha say?
Mmmm that it's just what we need
you decided this
whatcha say?
Mmmm what did she say?

It may mean what did you say? That this war is all for the best? And they reply back saying of course it is, and yeah..

Well that's what I think.

It's not about relationships... | Reviewer: Kristin | 1/13/10

If you really dig deeper into the meaning of the song, you can see it's not about relationships...
I see this song being about the holocaust..
"hide and seek" when jews would hide out, but they were found half the time. "Oily marks on walls" thats after the jews were taken from their homes and put in the gheto...
"trains and sewing machines" Trains being the transportation to camps, and sewing machines in the workers areas...
Do you see it?

sad | Reviewer: abigail | 12/30/09

This song is about ending a relationship, and being cheated on before the relationship was ended.
The song describes the ending of the feelings and the emotions and the commonalities of their relationship together, until the "whatcha say" part. In this second she is responding to what her guy told her, that breaking up is the best thing, etc. she ends this section asking "what did the other woman say?" saying that she's figured it out.
She knows that he's just feeding her words (like i'm sorry, etc.) but she knows it's just "newspaper cut outs," or words that mean nothing to him. she says that she knows he doesn't care anymore.

sad.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 8/ 66