Never was CCR | Reviewer: Paul Namron | 6/7/14

The Hollies made this song after the CCR broke up.As far as I know , the songwriters professed to copying the CCR style on purpose.I NEVER heard CCR do this song.

BEST HOLLIES SONG EVER | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/13/12

From the summer of '72. The title is Long Cool Woman (In a Black Dress). I bought the 45 (RPM on 7" vinyl) after hearing the song once on WPTR, Albany, NY. I still have it and still play it. I own the album too. Don't know where that guy got the idea about "fine mess". TIMELESS? I've been listening to Long Cool Woman for 40 years, and I still love it. ONE OF THE TOP FORTY SONGS OF ALL TIME. BRILLIANT, AGELESS, CLASSIC ROCK.

Sure about that? | Reviewer: tired | 1/18/08

Hmmmm....guess The Hollies misunderstood the lyrics, as well....the song is listed as LONG COOL WOMAN IN A BLACK DRESS on their albums. Are you saying you know more about this than the artist?

*****

A fine mess up in lyrics | Reviewer: missheard | 2/13/2007

Just a quick note..

Title of this song is actually Fine Mess
second line is actually fine mess not bad mess

but since second line is hard to understand it has become know as long cool woman in a black dress

No matter what the title or lyrics I agree it is timeless and will NEVER get old...

Great song | Reviewer: Gregg | 9/6/07

I listen to this Hollies classic all the time, along with "Long Dark Road."

BTW, LOL Jim, it wasn't THAT innocent a time. After all alcohol was the drug of choice, it was prohibited, and people willingly broke the law to have it anyway ... the events in the song probably take place in a speakeasy.

Long Cool Woman (In a Black Dress) | Reviewer: jim merrills | 6/2/07

just downloaded this CLASSIC HOLLIES song it takes me back years when we were young and there were no drugs and stuff like that .they dont write songs like this anymore.pity.

A fine mess up in lyrics | Reviewer: missheard | 2/13/07

Just a quick note..

Title of this song is actually Fine Mess
second line is actually fine mess not bad mess

but since second line is hard to understand it has become know as long cool woman in a black dress

No matter what the title or lyrics I agree it is timeless and will NEVER get old...

Long Cool WOmen | Reviewer: Hayley | 2/10/07

My Dad got me hooked on this song, and I ABSOLUTLY LOVE IT!

listen to this song......... | Reviewer: Rick Lukens | 11/30/06

This song is timeless.It will never die.I have never heard a song like it;I mean there's not even a guitar solo in it,but who cares,it's superb.The vocals are so on,and I think it is right up there with Pink Floyd's "Brain Damage/Eclipse" and "Astronomy" by Blue Oyster Cult.One of My all time favorites.

fabulous song!!!!! | Reviewer: Frederick Lukens | 11/30/06

This song is timeless.It's one of those that will be around forever.If I had to pick 20 songs to go up in a space shuttle with Me,this would be in the top 2,along with side 2 of "the dark side of the moon" by pink floyd.I mean,I don't even thinnk it has a guitar solo in it,but it does'nt need it,either.

Reverb, Oh how sweet it is! | Reviewer: babysgottheblues@yahoo.com | 5/11/06

Oh Man! Will you listen to the Reverb on this song. First time I heard this song I thought it was CCR, but I didn't hear that voice I was used to, & then discovered it was the Hollies. Imagine that. They must have used a nice Fender Amp with Reverb cranked or mabey a Ampeg Reverbrocket? If anyone knows what they used for the guitar & voice please reply? Hollies, you cut a fine classic. Everyone I know loves your song.

Excellent | Reviewer: Nikki | 6/9/05

Every time I hear this song it takes me back to a different time. i love it. I also hear it on a lot of movies.