Reviews for One In A Million Lyrics

Performed by Guns N' Roses

Add Your New Review About The Song

Musical flypaper | Reviewer: Ben | 9/5/13

I love this song. First of all, it's musically catchy -- the verses and the choruses are two distinct chord progressions, and both of them have cool, catchy twists. But, OF COURSE, it's the lyrics which make the difference. Art as flypaper. The lyrics snare every fucking bigot in the room who decides to stand up and say "Axl is right, maaaan, queers/blacks/immigrants just bother the shit out of me, living their lives as if they deserve to, breathing our air, shitting in toilets like human beings, etc. etc., bitch, whine, moan ..."

The truth of the matter is, by 1992 this lyricist, Axl Rose, was finally admitting, to SPIN magazine, to being bisexual himself (he would later change his mind again), though he blamed it on a sexual molestation in his youth, which any psychiatrist will tell you is a handy bullshit excuse. This is what usually causes the more virulent strains of homophobia in men, sexual abuse of the young. THAT is the wrong, the sin -- pedophilia. It happens more often to girls, but it happens to boys too.

Now, two adult men who wish to fuck, or even love and commit to each other, marry, have a family, etc., I have NO problem with, and those who are "offended" by the mere fact of gay love make me utterly sick to my stomach. Because there is almost ALWAYS more to the story, usually some sick "uncle" who wasn't even a real uncle, in the past, still in the nightmares, twisting what could have been a happy, healthy childhood into a sad and scary life of anger and hate.

Axl, like other early 90s celebrities who brought their psychodramas to the public (Roseanne and Sinead O'Connor come to mind) finally found some peace through psychotherapy. God bless him; I hope he's sleeping easily these days, with a lover by his side, and I don't give a GOOD GODDAMN whether it's a man or a woman -- and neither should you.


Disconcerting | Reviewer: 7-4-1984 | 7/16/13

Stop listening to the few words that you find disconcerting and listen to the whole song. Put the words into context. This is an ignorant drug abuser coming to the big city of LA and experiencing all of these things he's never dealt with before in his life. Like most people, he just wants to live his drug addled life and be left alone while doing it. The song, like most art, is a look at our owns lives and society. The song reflects the things this drug using loser dislikes about the city. The words used in the song reflect the ignorance of the uneducated masses who sometimes use foul language to disparage those things and the people they dislike. Don't complain if you are disturbed by the language. Because, like most art, if you don't like it, you don't have to consume it. Unless of course you're sitting at a stop light next to someone in a car with their windows rolled down acting like Barry Manilow and sharing their songs with the world at the loudest possible setting (11...;)spinal tap) of their car sound system. And yes, that was a Barry Manilow reference on a web page discussing Guns n Roses.

Expression sure, but still ignorant nonetheless. | Reviewer: truthhurts | 3/28/13

He is doing NOTHING remarkable but being ignorant. There was NO NEED to use the 'N word unless he truly was/is a racist. The fact that he quickly followed the 'N word with the line "Radicals or Racists Don't point your finger at me" , shows that he knew he crossed the line and like a typical racist was trying to back peddle on his previous lyrics. Even their own guitarist Slash said he felt VERY uncomfortable with that lyric and most likely went alone with it to not ruffle any feathers in the band. But based on the comments on this board, I can see why most of you agree with these lyrics because you have the same ignorant views.

Axl and the Queers | Reviewer: Coscia | 11/21/12

The queer agenda was just a minor annoyance in the late 80s. Today, it's out of control and I wish mainstream artists would have the guts to do what Axl did. He's right. They're despicable, dirty, immoral creatures.

I only hope Axl hasn't gotten more PC with age.

and another | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/14/11

dont worry about what he dislikes.. everyone who gets effected by this song is a Softy.. Wtf a music artist cant explain his feelings in a form of art he enjoys? if he hates gays as much as me et him be.. we let you be in NYC and in CA

Re: 6/6/09 "uhhh" Post From "kevin" | Reviewer: Zook 9-90-9 | 6/23/11

It's pretty awesome that Axle put these lyrics out and really doesn't care what we think. If music is "Art", than it should never be limited by what's popular, politically correct or even accurate. Would G-n-R really have been popular singing about how normal homosexuals are, how much they enjoy constant nagging from street peddlers or how honest cops are?
Maybe the reason Axle made millions of dollars is because he can be honest and express what he feels even if just in a moment without concern for fallout. It's obviously a rare trait. It's nearly illegal to offend gays, minorities or cops. Even a misinterpreted statement that offends a few and your career is over.
Kevin feels he has the right to his opinion to attack anyone who chose to or has no other option but to earn a living via manual labor. He decided these people are "lazy and stupid" are not doing anything "worthwhile with their lives"! Incredibly, Kevin's statements came after he asked another reviewer who doesn't share his opinion "Who the hell are you to tell people who to love and who not to?"! If Kevin represents all gay people then I agree with Axle that "faggots don't make sense". Keven even accused somebody of being elf-righteous and later suggests that we should impose our perfect systems and corruption free government and way of life onto the Mexican people so they too can wonder who died and made us God. As if we don't already provide Mexico with massive amounts of aid and allow them to use it as they see fit. Keven thinks we know better than the Mexicans and therefore we should fix them. I suppose we could send all of the tax revenue generated and provided to the US Government by illegal immigrants working those "crappy" labor jobs for less than "natural born Americans" would.
Good think we don't have to worry about this Kevin guy reproducing and spreading ignorance!

duhhh | Reviewer: randy | 8/27/10

listen to the last verse after the immigrants and faggots verse axl clearly states "radicals and racists dont point your finger at me im a small town white boy trying to make ends meat" what he meant and if u dont belive me look the shit up hes a white kid his country is going to shit fuckkk all u fucking immigrants that think this is fucked up? how many of u in your own home country have songs about white kids or crackers or pale faces or yankees i can go on all day its ok when another race does it but when a white goes off its a serious issue dont skim the song listen to the lyrics

calm down people | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/28/10

I agree a ton with the second person to post here. I know the things Axl said are not appropriate, but it's no reason to get mad or worked up. He was simply reflecting on society and chose those words to do it, quite possibly just for shock value.

uhhh | Reviewer: kevin | 6/6/09

Not sure if this song was just to shock people out of their comfort zone (which I'm all for) or if the lyrics were seriously meant... Cause the "immigrants and faggots" comment and how "it's all Greek to me" is a pretty goddamn ignorant thing to say.
I like Guns N' Roses, don't get me wrong, but Axl can be a dick. No wonder why Slash left.

Anyway, as for "GNR fan," you sound like a total fucking moron. I'm gay, so what? I don't care if you don't understand it, but there's no reason to act all self-righteous about it. Who the hell are you to tell people who to love and who not to? I make you feel sick? GOOD. People like you need to be put out of your shallow little comfort zone a lot more. Fucking boring moron.

As for immigrants, legal immigrants don't apply to what you said. Illegal immigrants, I'm iffy on though. I live in Texas, so I know a lot of Mexican immigrants, legal and illegal. Illegal immigrants only take away jobs that are shitty, like labor jobs, and if that's the best you can do then I am not impressed. Get a better job, for christ's sake, and quit whining. Illegal immigrants only take away jobs from those who are too lazy and stupid to get a decent education and do something worthwhile with their lives, and I have no sympathy for those bastards. They can actually create jobs, and stimulate the economy since they don't demand as much money as a native born American.
And you DO realize that the government in Mexico is EXTREMELY corrupt and treats all of it's citizens like shit unless they're rich? The poverty rate, by the way, is over 40% there. If they're risking their fucking LIVES to cross the border, I think that means they'd rather die than live in the situation they were in. We refuse to help these people yet go off in countries like Iraq for oil and then claim we're doing it to "help them." These guys are our fucking neighbors.
Unlawful killings by security forces, kidnappings (even by police), physical abuse, overcrowded and poor prison conditions, arrests/detentions with little to no reason, corruption, ineffecient judicial systems, confessions due to physical abuse used as evidence in trials, criminal intimidation of journalists causing self-censorship, domestic violence against women, violence in general (even murder) against women, trafficking in people (even with official involvement), social and economic discrimination, child labor, AND MORE happen every day in Mexico.
No wonder they want to get the hell outta there.

Idiots are everywhere | Reviewer: Procliam | 6/1/09

I have heard more than enough of this bullshit whining "ohhh, if your not a native american, then you must be an immigrant". Fuck that shit. It was our white forfathers that started this nation, so as far as that goes, in america, we are the natives. Let me clarify. There is a vast difference between braving a sea voyage to come to a land where there is oppurtunity and to escape persecution through hard work and hiding in the back of cousin hector's stolen pickup truck and coming into this country to leech taxpayers money while you bloat your corpulent bodies off of your fat welfare checks.

Shut Up | Reviewer: GNR Fan | 1/23/09

tht queer tht is titles shocked. u need 2 quite defendin faggots. i personally hate immigrants and faggots. immigrants take our jobs and get everything 4 free, and faggots MAKE ME SICK 2 MY STOMCH! its Adam and Eve not Adam and Evan.

too strong | Reviewer: hostile17 | 10/21/08

i like this song a lot, the melody, the strong convictions of the singer. Axl and Slash are just too ignorant white boys, maybe they are racist too, but this is still lyrically and musically a powerful and haunting song.

...Shocked | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/28/08

I'm young, and I'm just starting to get into the 80's rock. I like quite a bit of it: Aerosmith, AC/DC, Billy Idol...etc. But this song surprised me. I really hope that it was meant as a metaphor rather than a direct feeling from the writer, because one specific line haunts me: "Immigrants and faggots, they make no sense to me" and later in the song he comments on how he's white. If he's not native he's an immigrant. I know alot of people forget that, and if they can lose track of the generations that have come ashore here they instantly assume that crosses into the land of native. I know that back when this song was produced the social issues were not as strict as they are now, but it still bothers me. However, I'm sure that I interpreted this song far too literally (as I always do) and completely missed the softer message in this song.

Just One In A Million | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/24/07

Obviously reflecting society. He is doing something remarkable. He is admitting how stupid society is and how it made him clouded as a child growing up. Slash is half black by the way and he composes the music.

20 yrs later and better than ever | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/16/07

A song like this will never bee released today.... issues stand out stonger than ever before.


Add Your New Review About The Song