Reviews for He Stopped Loving Her Today Lyrics

Performed by George Jones

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    Current page No. 1/ 7
Add Your New Review About The Song

Oh, to see her one more time... | Reviewer: lonely hearse driver | 7/23/14

I was madly in love with a girl my sophomore year in college. I proposed to her, but she said no (she wanted a career). Shortly after that, she transferred to the University of Alabama. I lost track of her. It's been 45 years, but I still carry a torch for her. Recently, by chance I found her through the internet. We've been emailing frequently. I found out that she had married a jerk who abandoned her and 2 daughters. I'm thinking I don't look so bad now. I pray that we may someday get together again.

She sent it to me | Reviewer: Wally | 7/4/14

we were highschool sweethearts for 3 years, I left her over something stupid but we stayed in touch for a number of years, we both married and then the past 4 years both have been seperated and finaly for a month now we have re connected, a love that died. We do a song of the day from our past and this was hers today. Sad but so greatful I found her again.

Sad songs are the best | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/25/14

When I hear this song, my eyes mist up, my wife uses a box of tissues, the kids start whimpering, the roof starts leaking and my dogs howl. It would have to be the most mournful, unbelievably sad, pathetic country song of all time. I love it!

Tears me apart | Reviewer: John | 1/21/14

I'm 40 years old. Have been married for 20 years to my first true love. We have 3 beautiful children and have spent over half of our lives together. I never thought I'd be in this spot but We'll be divorced within the month. I fear that this will be my theme song from here on out.

I still love you babe.

xoxo

He Stopped Loving Her Today | Reviewer: Lonnie Lynne O'Kelley's Hanley | 12/14/13

My Mother and Father had 6 children and we're married many years before they divorced. My Mother never dated or remarried and always loved my Daddy no matter how mad he made her and they always talked though the years and when he was so sick he waited for her to come see him before he died. This is their song 😢

He Stopped Loving Her 4/30/88 | Reviewer: Della | 11/29/13

My mother divorced my father but she was his one true love, and he loved her until the day he died. She would have come to see him one last time but because of my wicked step mother she was unable to. They had a special unspoken connection that only those who share a special once in a lifetime love share. Every time I hear this song I think of my Mama and Daddy who did not get to say their final goodbye, and I break down in tears.

Yeah, yeah, yeah... | Reviewer: Grandview MO | 7/9/13

I cannot even read the lyrics to this song without my eyes becoming misty. She told me it was over some 45 years ago and, to this day, I still carry the proverbial torch for her. I was truly in love with her but she just played the game with me, and I meant nothing to her. I dream of seeing her again, holding her one more time, but know I never will. I suppose, when they carry me away, I'll forget her, at last... or will I?

Truest Song Ever Written | Reviewer: Valerie Nae Johnson | 4/27/13

My mother died in 1983, after she and my father had been married for 34 years. They had been together since they were teens. Their marriage was so strong and filled with love. My dad passed 2 months ago, some almost 30 years later. Still at the time of his death, he would awaken sometimes through the night and call out her name as if he was answering her call.

After my mother's passing, I could not, and still cannot today, hear this song without crying deeply. The kind of love George Jones sang about is something few people know in their lives. I thank him so much for putting such heartfelt feelings into words-God bless him, and all he leaves behind.

SHE stopped loving HIM today | Reviewer: Confidential | 4/27/13

Those words will apply to me when I die. I didn't know what I had until I let him go. That was 25-30 years ago, and I still look him up on the computer. I hope and pray he has married and is very happily married with children.

Greatest Country Song of All Time? | Reviewer: Dan W. Taliaferro | 4/27/13

Perhaps the greatest Country song. The truly great ones always have love as the subject, and relate some universal truth or experience; in this case, unrequited love. The lyrics are simple, true, and deeply moving. George Jones, with his excellent voice and unmatched gift for phrasing, touches all who have loved and lost. Others sing this song now, and some perform it very well, but no one will ever capture the emotion Jones brings to this song. Sad to know we will never hear George sing this song live again.

Beautiful song | Reviewer: Sheila Parker | 4/27/13

This song was always the song that reminds me of my husband that passed away in 1981 from alcoholism. He was a beautiful man, we both worked at Disneyland, had a home, dogs and a great life. But alcohol made life with him impossible. I had to leave. Years later and after a close call with his kidney and liver failure I went to see him., we celebrated our Sept birthdays together. We told each other we loved one another and always would. Helped him move out of the house that we had built before married into an apartment. He loved this song, he loved me and I loved him . He is at peace now. I can't help but hear in George Jones song the loneliness, isolation, the crazy thoughts that came to his mind and knowing death was the only peace. Ken used to tell me he would not live to see the age of 35, he died at 33. I am grateful that George got clean and lived a longer life of song that all of us have loved.

It is about a never ending love that only died when he did. | Reviewer: csh | 4/26/13

At the end of the song it says that they wondered if she would come see him one last time and that she did. So, she didn't die. Read the lyrics. Never says why they broke up. That was not the point of the song. George's soulful voice made this song! No one else could have put the emotion and yearning in it like he did. The song was recorded in 1980 and released in 1981. Sent him to the top and made his career. He didn't really want to record it at first cause he thought it was to "morbid." But, he was certainly glad that he did. RIP Possum

A song that lives through my life. | Reviewer: Issac | 4/26/13

George has died today, but his music and words lives on. I too have that love for someone that will never die, she is and always will be the love of my life, but I didnt know it at the time and allowed my path to depart from hers. She was my wife of 32 years and I left her. Oh God what a mistake I made. I live with that sadness everyday, and pray that she someday forgives my and knows how much I truely do love her with all my life. You never know what someone means once they are gone. I love you my dear dear sweetheart.

Sometimes death is the only way to stop loving. | Reviewer: Al Zimmer | 4/1/13

Life can have many loves. Time can heal most of them. Then that one person comes along. Many reasons why they cannot ever get together. Many years go by and the intense love you have never ever diminishes. Death is the only way to stop the love you have.

in love for eternity! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/12/13

This is the best song I can remember hearing that would tell it like it was or is for someone that is still truly in LOVE with their ex. Another is WITHOUT YOU by Nelson Smeltion


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    Current page No. 1/ 7