Reviews for Again Lyrics

Performed by Flyleaf

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    Current page No. 4/ 6
Add Your New Review About The Song

Song | Reviewer: Cassie | 4/25/10

Okay, if u listen to every one of their songs, it sounds like it is referring to god, and yes they are all connected to god, but necesarily about god. Get it? Its a very confusing thing, but thats just my veiw on it, and YES i am Chriastian and YES i do worship and beleive in God.

Are We Done Now? | Reviewer: Lindsay | 4/23/10

For the record, I believe in God... I DO NOT believe in Religion. As for the song "Again" I must agree with Greg in that it is not "obviously" about religion. I don't believe there are any lyrics that point directly to Christianity. "...down on my knees...," contrary to what many people in this forum believe, is not a phrase only used when talking about God. People beg on their knees, they cry on their knees, they even PROPOSE on their knees! "...please see and believe again...," again does not point only to believing in God. The artist or character believes in love, in the person with whom he or she is pleading, and in saving their relationship. As to whether or not Flyleaf is a christian band, I can not comment. However to insist that they are based on this song, or to say the song is about God, Jesus, or any aspect of religion is simply an example of turning something into what one wants it to be, rather than for what it is. These people seemed to have a completely subjective approach to reviewing this song. Your Evidence Is WEAK!!

The song. | Reviewer: Kelsie | 4/13/10

For anyone who says that everyone shoold practice christian religion I think you should shut your trap. Just because someone isn't Christian that doesn't mean that their life will be better. As for the song, I absolutley love it and could listen to it all day.

actually-- | Reviewer: kaci renee | 3/7/10

they are a christian band,, they preformed for the billy graham rock the river tour ((and just because not all songs come out and state it they are about god,, very few arent,, and even then they have hidden meanings about it)) ALL OF THERE SONGS ARE ABOUT GOD IN ONE FORM OR ANOTHER no matter whether you can tell or not,, they are.. just saying,, cause they are

lol | Reviewer: your all | 2/27/10

lol, there only considered to be a Christian band because all the members are Christian, as the lead singer herself said 'If you're a Christian, it affects everything in your life. So if you're a plumber, does that make you a Christian plumber?'" saying that since they're all christian thats why they are considered a "Christian Band" in which some BUT NOT ALL songs reflect upon it.

song | Reviewer: bethany | 2/15/10

i dont worship God. but i looveee this song!!!!!!!! and i love singing it. im doing a cover of it with the band im in. they also really like the song!!! i love flyleaf!!!!
i love im sorry! and this song and loads of others!!!!!
you dont have to believe in God or anything to love this song tbh!
get over it. if u dont like it because its about God . grow up!!!!


bethx

Made Agin in to a human Video for Sold Out from my charch | Reviewer: Andrew Martz | 2/14/10

I think this song in great I even made it in to a human video. and pray that God will yous it to show other to christ. and to all you out there say I neven will belive in God don't say that inless you have try and even then you'll find out haw grat he is and that he can chang you life and make it new.

ummm | Reviewer: ash | 2/13/10

amy rose makes a very good point ,i mean u don't have to be so hateful because its religous ....personly i LOVE god he has saved my life so many times ,nd before i had god in my life i was always so angery at people and thought of killin myself but then one day i went to church and it all changed i had people how cared about me , how loved me .u don't have to be religous to love ,u have to be any thing u don't want to be but lovin god and havin him in ur heart will pay in da long run .i also think that u need to chose soon cuz then will be to late to ask 4 4givness ,nd there will be a day that U will be in front of god for trail . nd U have to choose now to be a better person cuz hate gets u no were in life or afterlife.
ash <3

u need to no !!! | Reviewer: ash | 2/13/10

amy rose makes a very good point ,i mean u don't have to be so hateful because its religous ....personly i LOVE god he has saved my life so many times ,nd before i had god in my life i was always so angery at people and thought of killin myself but then one day i went to church and it all changed i had people how cared about me , how loved me .u don't have to be religous to love ,u don't have to be any thing u don't want to be but lovin god and havin him in ur heart will pay in da long run .i also think that u need to chose soon cuz then it will be to late to ask 4 4givness ,nd there will be a day that U will be in front of god for trail . nd U have to choose now to be a better person cuz hate gets u no were in life or afterlife.
ash <3

Different strokes for different folks | Reviewer: Greg | 2/13/10

As someone who's written a few songs which could have a spiritual meaning as well as a very simple person-to-person message, I can appreciate the duality of the lyrics.

I'm far from a practicing Christian. But I'm not agnostic or some militant atheist, nor do I bear a grudge against the religious (except the religious who insult the intelligence of the masses by claiming God has relayed instructions for the rest of us solely through them, and we must take their word for it and allow them to rule us all). I'm simply a guy who is working through some issues, who doesn't believe everything he's told about God and religion JUST BECAUSE--and I won't say "I'm a Christian and I believe it" just to satisfy other people. I try to avoid saying or doing things that hurt other people because I believe it's the right thing to do, regardless of whether or not it's going to have an eternal consequence for my soul.

Just to give some perspective, I was raised by Methodist parents who were not heavy handed about religion with me growing up. My father wanted to allow me the opportunity to think for myself--a decision he's admitted to regretting as his faith has become closer to center stage in his life. Myself, I've never regretted being given that freedom, because having it has allowed me the opportunity to know beyond any doubt that if I choose to become a full-blown practicing Christian (or adhere to any other faith, for that matter), I'm doing it because I genuinely believe in it, not just because someone indoctrinated me by drilling it into my head before I was old enough to understand the concept in the first place.

All that said--personally I took the song to be a plea from a person to a sensitive, maybe even oversensitive loved one who bears the weight of the world on his/her shoulders. This is evidenced by the lines about their heart breaking with every injustice and living like it all depends on them. Because they feel like this all the time and take so much on, they feel exhausted and defeated (Here you are down on your knees again, trying to find air to breathe again). It's like they're saying to this broken person, "let some of this go because it's so unhealthy for you, I want you to be happy" (Only surrender will help you now, I love you, please see and believe again).

The only line I can't see making sense in that context is "You're so close to me that you nearly died", unless you assume that the person the song is written to is in pain over things that were said or done to their dear friend, the writer.

But that was MY take on it. Then I scrolled down and saw the post titled "reality people", asserting that the song was "obviously about religion". While I wouldn't quite use the word obvious (it's not like someone who knew nothing about Flyleaf or their music would hear this song on a secular rock station and say "They should play this at my church!"), re-reading the lyrics objectively opened my eyes to the Christian interpretation of the song. It could just as easily be interpreted by spiritual people as God talking to one of his suffering children. This makes the lines "Here you are down on your knees again, trying to find air to breathe again, right where I want you to be again, see and believe" fit better than the secular interpretation. In the other choruses, being on your knees seems to be about being burdened with something you can't bear, but the speaker's suggestion that it's "right where I want you to be again" can change the meaning of being on your knees into a reference to prayer. Otherwise the line could come across as pretty cruel, couldn't it?

I don't think either interpretation is right or wrong. Both make sense pretty much start to finish if you follow the lyrics. That's the beauty of it! This song can have a deep, touching, and logically explainable meaning to people, whether they believe in God or not. I believe that should be looked at as something that can unify us, not a reason to argue and stereotype people.

John Mayer put it great: "Belief is a beautiful armor, that makes for the heaviest sword." What you believe, you have a right to believe if it helps you and doesn't hurt others. But many people beat people over the head with their beliefs and try to force them to see things their way. I'd ask anyone, regardless of race, creed or color this one question: what belief is truly worth believing in if you have to force others to believe it?

I really enjoy getting other people's take on things. If your belief is an armor (you respect others' opinions and you enjoy pleasant philosophical discussion on whatever, whether it's pop culture, headline news, politics, etc.) post up and we can chat sometime. If your belief is a sword (you get in people's faces and tell them why they should think like you do), then I'll pass on debating anything with you... people browbeat me enough as it is.

Reality People | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/1/10

It's obviously about religion. The lines"Your so close to me that you nearly died" and "I love you please see and Believe again" clearly demonstrate it, what other relationship would someone be talking to someone on their knees saying "I love you, please see and believe again?". What other kind of relationships goes so close to "your so close to me you nearly died?" What relationship tells you to surrender? I mean, I'm fine with things being not Christian, I support that not being in your face Christianity, but when something like this clearly has ties to it, you have to admit it, and not just say "oh it doesn't" because we don't agree with it. Yeah, it's great that we can apply our own meanings, but there is a meaning that the acutal artists attached to it too, and for a reason.

it is about a relationship | Reviewer: Kira | 1/30/10

This song is about a relationship. Its about someone you deeply love. I love Jesus Christ with all my heart. I have a personal relationship with Him. For me, this song is about God, to you, it might mean something different. I don't go around "preaching God" because He told me to. I talk about Him because I can't help it, I love Him. God totally spoke to me through this song while i sat in the Target parking lot. To me, God is telling us to hold on, be still. see and believe.

The meaning is how you connect the song to your life | Reviewer: Emily Gentry | 1/30/10

I took the meaning of this song both spiritualy and realtionship wise. The meaning may be that she (the lead singer) is talking about God seeing people on their knees and pleading them to see that their life could get better. It may also mean a relationship point of view. I've have relationships like that.

The words touch on how she wants the person to surrender and realize that she is there for them, and that she loves them enough to save them. That maybe the person is struggling with something in their life and needs help hence the "down on your knees again", and then she comes back with saying "i love you please see and believe again".

These lyrics are strong and hit very personal points. We all have somebody who has been broken and given up, and we are there to save them and tell them "believe everything will be alright". This person that is being described is someone who takes the pain seriously, and that they're never satisfied with "face value, wisdom, and happy lies". This person has been hurt, but is crying out for help.

I put myself in the singer's point of view, and I can relate in helping people who are in pain. I relate to this song very much, and I highly approve that Flyleaf is achieving their dreams while relating to their listeners...the song has different meaning to everyone, whether right or wrong, its just how you perseived it in your life.

Emily <3

Attn: People | Reviewer: John - Cincinnati | 1/25/10

I fail to see how this song could have a Christian meaning. Yes I know that some of Flyleaf's songs have Christian meanings, but that doesn't mean that all of them do. Get a life, seriously. Christians make me sick because of stuff like this.

This song could easily, easily, very blatantly be about a failing relationship. But obsessive Christians always want to stretch lyrics something like 20 miles past surface value to announce "OMG SONG IZ ABOUT TEH GOD" If that's what you think the song is about, great. Just don't try to make everyone else "see the light." Everybody interprets songs differently, and the average person is likely gonna interpret this as a relationship song. No reason to get all worked up on the web. (INTERNETS R SRS BUSNESS)

Allison | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/23/10

Ya know, what I really got from this song (mostly the first verse) is someone who acts like a Christian, but is really "Holier than thou". The way they say "Praying it all be new
and living like it all depends on you". Thats what I gathered.

I must say, I really agree with Eric Murphy. If you're not a Christian, whatever. Good for you, I guess. But don't bash us for what we believe in. We're not doing it to you because we know it wouldn't be good manners. Yeah, there are a lot of people out there trying to shove the Word down your throat, but most of us don't roll that way. We'll talk about God until we're blue in the face because thats what he wants us to do. He wants us to spread His gospel. But we aren't going to force you to listen to it.

To the "anonymous" poster from 12/17/09,...I'm sure several people will join me in saying,...WE'RE PRAYING FOR YOU! :)


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    Current page No. 4/ 6