Reviews for In The Name Of God Lyrics

Performed by Dream Theater

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    Current page No. 6/ 7
Add Your New Review About The Song

what its actually about. | Reviewer: Jesper | 10/16/08

This song doesn't just focus on one religion in particular.

I heard from somewhere... I believe it was an interview with one of the band members, but it could be about Jim Jones the guy who led hundreds of people to their deaths in Guyana in 1978, ordering them all to drink cyanide-laced Kool-Aid when the US government investigated whether he was holding people against their wills.

and to Garurumon, you need to stop being so ignorant, people in different places have different beliefs. Who are you to criticize them? Isn't it possible that its just as "ridiculous" that you pray to some god that sent his son who could walk on water and make water into wine to impress us. Look I don't want to go on some socio-religious tirade but you need to seriously consider some things before you say them. Everyone has a right to believe what they want, and even though you may not share their beliefs you need to at least respect them. I'm not saying that you can't say the things you are saying but before you say them please don't be ignorant to the facts.

dun0 | Reviewer: risen | 10/9/08

im using a cellphone right now, so here, i don't really understand the lyrics but after reading the reviews, i agree with the guy that said this song criticizes muslims, though he couldn't spell it right, he had a good point about them, bible never teaches that, and myung is christian :P

this sounds like a song i can play on bass, one of my faves lol,

Universal message. | Reviewer: Blake | 10/3/08

I'm not positive on who exactly they are talking about, if any specific group at all, but I'm pretty sure almost every religion can fall under the category of "killing in the name of god." Christianity included. Dont jump to conclusions and say the song is about Muslims. Actually, dont jump to any conclusions until you can spell Muslims.

True Meaning | Reviewer: Garurumon | 9/27/08

Stupid people below me,
dont talk if u dont know anything,
please reamin silence okay,
hah... there are so many loosers this days..

True meaning of this song:
This song critize MOSLEMS people
1. "Killing in the name of God"
Ring a bell?
The only religion that allow to "KILL" in the name of God is MOSLEMS.

2. The Prophet that they're talking about is definiteloy Muhammad. "Self proclaimed messiah", definitely Muhammad.

3. This is the most definite fact. "Citing from the holy book". Holy book = ible. And the only "other holy book" that cite from other "holy book" is al-quran.
An Ustad (Moslems leader sumtin whatever) once told me that 75%/more things that contains in al-quran comes from the Bible. And the 25% is just "Teaching hatred".

Well, there you go.
Dream theater rocks, and they're definitely true.
I mean, come on! You pray while your head towards east and your butt gooing up, and doing gym exercise while repeating arabian languange?

HAHAHAHAHAH! THATS THE STUPIDEST PRAYING I EVER HEARD,
LOL

there are to manie possible answers | Reviewer: Ariel_JP | 8/10/08

1 of the many answears is that the song speaks about the religion in general the discrimination that is in all of them and how too manie times "the god will" or the "God's messenge" are misunderstood and they are taken to violence and murder.Sometimes the religion is taken as reason for war or sometimes as an excuse
I'm Ariel Urtasun From Argentina i went to Drean Theater consert this year,the 3 of march
this is my opinion about In The Name Of God of Dream Theater is one of the best songs ever



Christians too | Reviewer: S├ębastien | 3/1/08

Hello I'm french I just want answer David. I hope that I'll don't make too much mistakes and sorry if I didn't really understood what you wanted to say.
I agree that many religions "involve discriminating others" but don't forget that in the past, christians did the same: don't forget cruisades end Inquisition for examples.

dnt get all confused now... | Reviewer: David Garcia | 2/10/08

faith...does NOT by ANY means lead to destruction...I am a Christian and I can tell u that w/e the lyrics may mean, whether it be expressing the irony implored in many religions that involve discriminating others ( leading to "ethnic elimination"...OR whether the song imposes that religion takes away from individuality and "leads us blind"...the POINT IS THAT...well Being Christian is NOT about violence, being judgemental of others who think differently, or about brainwashing us all...it's about living as we were meant to, purely...we hav been called to live holy lives...face it, there IS a God, there is ONLY 1, and he DOES care about u...and we were meant to live for him...so yea...



oh yea LOL...I kinda 4got to review the song...AWSOME John Myung hit some nice lows there n Portnoy sounded GREAT ( luv the snare in the kit he used 4 dis' album) Labrie as always was really tacky but I cnt help luving his tone..Rudess was as always too fast to keep up with...AND Petrucci...my man, WOW...his tone is so dark in this album but he manages to always keep that clean sounding touch...LUV DREAM THEATER, these guys are all trained musicians with a gifts, and them together make my all-time band, Dream Theater no matter how much they change their sound, are completely their own...amazing song, amazing band...=] thats DT for ya!!!

Not Anti-religious at all | Reviewer: Hakan | 1/21/08

The people that think this song is written from an anti-religious view don't seem to look over lyrics enough.This song points some cults which take the religion in a way that benefits their violent purposes or other personal aims/ambitions.Some cult leaders like David Koresh, Marshall Applewhite, and Jim Jones or religious terrorist group leaders like Usame Bin Laden. This song is all about misinterpretation of Holy books and manipulating the people for individual aims..The song is clearly not anti-religious at all according to me

Not Anti-religious at all | Reviewer: Hakan | 1/20/08

The people that think this song is written from a anti-religious view don't seem to look over closer on lyrics. This song is clearly about some cults which manipulate the people for their violent purposes by citing from the Holy books. Some political, some religious and some cult leaders just take the religion in a way that benefits their self-centered aims, ambitions. This song reminds me of some leaders like David Koresh, Marshall Applewhite, Jim Jones, Usame Bin Laden etc..The song is about destructive interpretation and manipulation of the religion mostly..Some people can make out personal meanings according to their experiences in their lifes, but this song is clearly not anti-religious

In the Name of God | Reviewer: benxander | 1/6/08

People have stated that its anti-religious.
But this song isnt from an athiest point of view, because all of Dream Theater are infact religious. Jews and Christians.

What the song clearly is about is the fact Holy Wars arent God's intention and that there's no need to go to war over religion. You shouldnt let what you believe is right to rule over you - even though it is hard to accept if you are a christian, on the grounds that fairth is all you rely on.

Awesomeness!!! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/12/07

One of the best DT songs I've ever heard! Took me a while to get into it, but it won me over! The whole "Train Of Thought' is just amazing. Can't wait to see them on Feb 1. :D

religion | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/1/07

cleary the author has taken an atheist stand on the world around him. He represents within this song the destructive nature of faith, and not only that it leads to destruction, but how it forces us all to be led blind, and lose our sense of individuality. They believe that god is the most important thing in life and forget to live by devoting their lives to him. 'They know no other
Life but this.'

The next line is also interesting, 'from the cradle, they are claimed.' i was reading 'the god delusion' and this line emphasises a strong point within that book, that most people are born and brought up with their religion, and don't make a concious individual decision to follow god, this is supported thoroughly throughout the entire song.

He talks about the irony of the bible, and how it teaches of destruction and violence, and that religion divides us all. i love this song as it demonstrates strongly the destructive power of religion and how we need to escape the constraints of conformity and express our own opinions and live.

religion | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/1/07

cleary the author has taken an atheist stand on the world around him. He represents within this song the destructive nature of faith, and not only that it leads to destruction, but how it forces us all to be led blind, and lose our sense of individuality. They believe that god is the most important thing in life and forget to live by devoting their lives to him. 'They know no other
Life but this.'

The next line is also interesting, 'from the cradle, they are claimed.' i was reading 'the god delusion' and this line emphasises a strong point within that book, that most people are born and brought up with their religion, and don't make a concious individual decision to follow god, this is supported thoroughly throughout the entire song.


AMAZING PEICE!!!!!!! | Reviewer: Rick | 11/22/07

Dream Theater is the single greatest group of musicians to have ever lived!!!

Long songs, and their shorter ones, each a true master peice in and of itself!!!

This to me has to be one of, if not THE single greatest songs they have composed!!!!!

Their new album, Systematic Chaos, blows my mind as well

Greatest Ever | Reviewer: wissam | 8/27/07

heyy all....this is the greatest song I've ever heard!!! the solo, the lyrics, the hole song is just great!!! Amazing band!!!!


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    Current page No. 6/ 7