Stop reading things as if there is no progression in thought | Reviewer: Chad W | 4/17/13

Two sections: non-believers perspective, musical interlude, then beginning to believe, then believer in the chorus. The "you've done all you can do" is said as a deistic or atheist type statement before the break mocking the existence of a god who cares. After the break, the same line refers to a God who did everything needed for salvation. People these days really have poor literature interpreting skills. The brilliance of the writing is flipping the meaning of the line's meaning. The other point being made here is that all faith in the invisible is blind. The non-believer and believer both have blind faith. One has faith their is no hope other than humanity (which leads to dispair) and the other has blind faith in an invisable Savior that leads to hope.

Well | Reviewer: OneHorseAndFiveCats | 12/21/12

it seems as in the line "I am the believer who gives purpose unto you" he, as a theist, is aware of the fact that there is no god/deity/Messiah without the faith of us humans.

It also seems as though he's/they're realizing he's/they've had blind faith in something, just relying on it to be there. And when it comes to show, it has never been there;

"I don't think we let you down
So come Messiah show us how how
Throw us a pure lifeline
I hope that you hear me
Too proud to be around
There's more to us than we see now"

Basically, it seems as though "he" is losing faith in a deity.


I may/probably have, interprated this wrong, but that's how I did it.

Interpretation | Reviewer: Sergio | 6/8/10

Just like the Bible and pretty much every other religious text, you can read whatever you want into this. If it makes you feel good to think that these hard rockers are singing about their faith, then so be it.

Hmm | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/28/09

Seems to me it does have a theistic feeling about it. I am a Christian and I too have problems with others relying on blind - if not ignorant - faith.
"Know there lies the truth
I am the believer who gives purpose on to you" suggests a believer of sorts wrote this, and an ambiguous line ... "Cause you've done all you can do Incredible"

Incredible as in amazing or lack of credulity?

Agreed | Reviewer: JC | 7/12/09

Yep, I agree with Zero here. Although the song is definitely critical and questioning of theistic belief, it does show it in an overall positive light. Not surprisingly as Jame LaBrie, its writer, is a confessing Christian.

Can be religious | Reviewer: Zero | 7/9/09

"... am catholic and it's nice to see I'm not the only one out there who believes in God."

They actually have a point. With a first glance through the lyrics, you might think that it's going against God, but in actuality it isn't. In fact, the first lines do admit to one talking to a God, though it be critical. Also, towards the end, the lines that say, "I don't think we let you down...I hope that you hear me," those would be addressing the Messiah with whom we can associate with a God. Thusly, our friend whom a few of us think is an idiot, really has a deeper view than the other two critic critics. So before you go off on others, make sure you have actually gone through any other possibilities of an alternate view, because titles can easily be misleading. And if you feel like you have a problem with my thoughts, feel free to write about it.

... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/22/09

"I always love a good dream theater song, and this is one of my favorite songs. I also like that it has a religious theme to it, I am catholic and it's nice to see I'm not the only one out there who believes in God"

Did you even read the lyrics?

Not Religious | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/5/09

"I always love a good dream theater song, and this is one of my favorite songs. I also like that it has a religious theme to it, I am catholic and it's nice to see I'm not the only one out there who believes in God"


YOU IDIOT! Read the lyrics...

Great song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/3/09

I always love a good dream theater song, and this is one of my favorite songs. I also like that it has a religious theme to it, I am catholic and it's nice to see I'm not the only one out there who believes in God

... | Reviewer: Austin | 1/1/08

Wonderful song, especially the part "And still life pushes on...", just gives ya that wierd feeling in ya. And that awesome piano breakdown near the end. The ending, however, could be better, like a huge Chord and everyting just stops. But anyway, yeah.

"Cheese sticks everything." Frickin' youtube. ;)

Sex is evil | Reviewer: Pure evul | 11/27/07

Hahaha, it does sound like "Cheese sticks every day" actually. I bet I am going to hear that whenever I listen to this song from now ow, just like Wishmaster with the Fishmaster lyrics, by Nightwish.

Ah well, it's still a pretty good song :D I never liked it for the lyrics anyway, so it doesn't matter whether the lyrics were ruined or not :>

--- | Reviewer: uday | 8/30/07

haha!! true... "cheese sticks everything".. damn youtube video!!!
beautiful song... i esp like the music in the first 3-4 stanzas... cant get enough of it...

Wonderful | Reviewer: Peder | 6/21/07

I really like the depth the keyboard sounds give this song, together with the guitars, and also the drum patterns.(This is of course nearly as it usually is with DT, though) But I think this is one of the songs Rudess really shows what he is good for. I don't mean playing very fast, but the arranging of his keyboards.

Ruin your listening experience | Reviewer: Steve | 4/24/07

AWEsome song.

however someone runied my listening experience by joking that the line in the 5th stanza "Shes fixed everything" sounded like "cheesesticks every day"

ever since then thats what ive been hearing!

haha!

Great!! | Reviewer: Jared | 2/27/06

I really like this song,I love Dream Theater in general,one part I really like is the piano part towards the end or I guess middle.Overall I thinks its a great song!