my mothers songs | Reviewer: june | 7/30/14

My mother used to sing this song to us when we were little, we would beg her to sing it and then we would cry all the way thru it. And when she was thru, and we were all crying we would beg her to sing it again. She always said no because we would cry. But we always promised not to cry and she would sing it again, and well you know the rest. Oh but there was more like "Put my little shoes away". Tear jerkers. Loved the songs and love my mommie. May she rest in paradise.

memories | Reviewer: meg | 6/21/14

In reading some of the comments, it's fascinating to me to see that so many people have similar memories with this song like I do. When I was about 5 or 6, my great-grandmother taught me this song. She didn't know all the lyrics quite right, but she would sing it anyway. The day before she passed away, we sang it in the hospital. My mother and grandmother thought it was horrible that we sang it, but it was "our" song, and apparently they had never heard it. When I told them it was the song she would sing to me years ago, they both almost cried because they realized it wasn't about the message of the song, but about the memory, and that she remembered it was our song.

My Grandmother sang this to me | Reviewer: Sherri | 1/19/14

I'm so glad to have found the words to this song. My grandmother used to sing it to me when I was little. I could only remember bits and pieces of it and my Grandmother also. In response to the person who wrote that it was "morbid and pointless" has obviously "missed the point"! The song's point is to teach us that it was wrong not to help the children. (Hindsight's 20/20) As I get older, I realize that omitting the unhappy parts to children's stories is creating a generation of unempathic, self centered people who don't understand the consequences of their actions. THE CHOICES WE MAKE EFFECT OTHER PEOPLE!

My grandmother sang this song to me! | Reviewer: Carol Thompson | 11/9/13

When I was a little girl (1950s), my grandmother sang this song to me. I don't know why, but I loved it!!- you kind of wonder why a grandmother would sing such a sad song to a little girl; and why a little kid would be so moved by it!! Anyway, I couldn't remember all the words; but these lyrics brought it all back to me! I'm so glad I found them. Thank you to whoever posted them- I've been down Memory Lane! (My grandmother passed away when I was 19) And, to reviewer Mike B. 10/4/08, I am sure that this song is rooted in fact, somehow- you should read up on Irish history- I'd bet money it came out of Ireland. People were destitute- and there was no one to help. Go read Hans Christen Andersen's "The Little Match Girl". It is as sad a story as you'd ever want to read; but, at the same time, there is a "happy ending". These stories/songs had to be influenced by real events! And I am SURE, this song/that story helped make me the generous person I am, today! Maybe that's why the older folks sang/read them to the younger generation!

Memories from Mother's knee | Reviewer: George Hickman | 8/14/13

As a very young boy, maybe When Imwas 4 or 5 years of age, I would sit by the rocking chair and mom would sing this song to mr over and over. I have been hopingntomfind the lyrics for many years, and thanks to my sister-in-law, I have them. That song touches my heart, especially in the winter months, and I still miss mom so very much. Thank you Marie

Laura | Reviewer: Laura | 4/15/13

My mother used to sing this song to me and my older sister when we were little. Her mother used to sing it to her and her mother (my great grandmother) to my grandmother. It is a sad little tale but is bittersweet for me.

My mother is in my care with alzheimers and we were sitting here a few minutes ago when out of nowhere my momma started singing this song that i hadnt thought of in years. My mom who has trouble remembering my name most days remembered this and I was granted a small glimpse of the woman she used to be. It was a wonderful moment. :)

Slightly different wording. | Reviewer: Marlene | 2/17/13

I had this song & a few others that I remember on an LP. I remember the artist only as John & Mary (Cassidy?). However that may be because my very Irish Grandparents names were John & Mary. And I am related to Cassidys on my Moms side. This has to be a remake. Another song on that same LP had these lyrics: I'm a rambler I'm a gambler I'm along way from home & if you don't like me well leave me alone. I'll eat when I'm hungary I'll drink when I'm dry & if moonshine don't kill me I'll live till I die. Etc. Does anyone else remember this song?

Who sang the original? | Reviewer: Michael | 10/5/12

My Mom used to sing this song back in 1958 ish... I always thought that Mikki & Griff sang the original...???

This song always takes me right back to those times when my Mom used to cuddle me on her lap and sing along to this song. Miss you Mom! {Yes, I am 57 years old}

So Thankful I found it! | Reviewer: Diane | 4/18/12

My mother taught me this song when I was about 5 or 6 years old. She passed on right after my 8th birthday and I could only remember the first 2 lines of the song. I am so thankful that I have found all the lyrics to the song. I believe my mom brought me to this website.

How old is the song Two little orphans ? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/22/10

My mother is from co clare in Ireland and now aged 84. She taught me this song as a child and her mother had taught it to her so it must go way back... Any idea how old it is or anything else on its origins?

Who wrote this song and WHY??? | Reviewer: Mike B | 10/4/08

Country music is reknowned for turning true stories to music. If this is a true story, then the person who told these children to go home and then listened to their story should have been jailed if not tortured for leaving these two orphans to the elements rather than taking them in or at the very LEAST finding them adequate shelter and care. If this story is fiction, what is the point???!!! Sure it's a tear jerker, but it's morbid and thoughtless! The writer should have come up with a HAPPY ending like ADOPTION!