Anti-war song? | Reviewer: David | 4/5/10

Ok, I agree that it speaks of friendship among soldiers, but it is anti-war song. Last verses " We're fools to make war,On our brothers in arms". So enemy soldiers are in fact also brothers in arms?

Brothers in Arms | Reviewer: Normz inDagame | 3/25/10

Try listening to the song in context of the whole Album.

Its about (for me) a universal soldier.

1977 we had to run from Northen Angola. we faught for Zavimbi against Chinees, Russians, Cubans, & anyother comunists that faught for P.A.C. the forrunner of A.N.C.

Our bearing was E by Noreast heading for Kenya & Home.
Those mist covered mountains for me is about the highlands of the CONGO.
We stayed for a week R&R.

Listen in context PLZ:)

Regards

The Real Meaning | Reviewer: Scally | 3/15/10

He wrote this song about one of his best friends who Died in the Falklands War between UK and Argentina in 1982

The Mist covered Mountains is the place where his friend was killed in the Battle of Goose Green and it written in testament to all the men who died in the Falklands thousands of miles from home with no family except each other


THE REAL MEANING | Reviewer: 11B | 2/23/10

Most of you people have no frigin idea as to what this is about. The ones who are saying this is about those soldiers and marines who left everything behind to fight with their buddies are definitely correct. HELLO PEOPLE, the name of the song is Brothers in arms! Its not some stupid hippie love song you tards.

TANGO MIKE MIKE!! | Reviewer: Rick Tack | 1/18/10

These lyrics work perfectly for one of bravest soldiers to ever fight, for any country. He came from humbly beginnings and preformed his duty to the highest standard.

Great American Hero, God Rest His Soul!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZ7968BbMnU&feature=related

The True Meaning | Reviewer: Gleb S. | 5/22/09

People, you are trying to find the meaning of these lyrics, but as gabriele pointed out, and I fully agree with her, this is poetry and it applies to each one of us in a whole different way. And that is the beauty of it. We listen to the same song, but love it in a different way. To me that is something very special.

Also when I listen to it, i feel like we are a bunch of fools that live trapped together on one planet, everyone has different interests. We all care so much about our little problems. While hey, this is one small planet earth, there might be so much out there. We are just one tiny place in the universe.

It might sound childish, but as I write this I remember an episode of South Park, where planet earth is introduced as an intergalactic reality-tv show. Where people of different races are put together on one planet and the aliens watch us fight for entertainment.

It really makes me think about what the hell are we doing?

BROTHERS IN ARMS | Reviewer: Jed | 4/22/09

I d like to add the correct information about the song.. This song was written at 70s but it was NOT released until 1985.. There are two versions of it technicaly, and the last version is shorter..
This refers to an event which MK has faced..But he is not happy to tell it anywhere...

He used ery special guitar to play this one.. Pensa Suhr MK1 ... It is known as Stradivarius of the Guitars... Very special made by maple..

This information is somehow-something "hidden"...

the meaning | Reviewer: cameron | 12/13/08

this song is about the brave men who left everything they had and loved to fight for thier country. All they had was a rifle and the men next to them. Those men being thier "brothers in arms". They didn't have thier mums, wives or god, just a rifle and brothers in arms.

Brothers In Arms | Reviewer: Celt | 12/9/08

It is.. heh "simply" a song about revolution and the sad destruction of live's revolution and war entails. Some hope is amended to the fact that, us humans, to date, still manage to finish our mutual destruction and maintain some bonds of "humanity" or brotherhood, if you prefer.

I care not what war or "revolution" it was initially written for, it applies to all. We do what we feel we must do, all of us.

my opinion | Reviewer: gabryiaxx@hotmail.it | 9/10/08

I can only guess what this song's about, but i don't mind it; my thought is...
sometimes the result trascend the aim...
so the lines,
"...and we have just one world,
but we live in different ones",
are of the highest poetry.
Surely M.K. intended to say a particular thing with that,but they for me can mean another whole thing...
and that's not misunderstanding,
that's the poetry.

my opinion | Reviewer: gabriele | 9/9/08

I can only guess what this song's about, but i don't mind it; my thought is... sometimes the result trascend the aim... so the lines,
"...and we have just one world,
but we live in different ones", are of the highest poetry. Surely M.K. intended to say a particular thing with that, but they for me can mean another whole thing... and that's not misunderstanding, that's the poetry.

love song | Reviewer: Emil | 12/11/07

I think the song is about "the ones we love the moust, is the ones we hurt the moust". its about when someone stands by you no matter what, and you push them away. like when you are breaking up with a girlfriend, and afterwords you regret, but learn to live with it

great song | Reviewer: Michael Kuzma | 10/25/07

It's my favourite.I'm a fun of Mark Knopfer and Dire Straits.I know that this song is't exactly about love,but the most important thing for me is that I was dancing with the most beautiful girl in the world during this song.:)Great band:)

answer | Reviewer: pieter | 7/8/07

It's a song that Mark Knopfler wrote for his father who was a soldier in the Israelian army.

Agreed | Reviewer: Tuan | 6/10/07

I think so, war is a waste of lives and destroy everything we try in this world.Make love not war, why do we have to kill the others ?For whom and for what do you think this war bring to us? Lets stop it !