Reviews for Brothers On A Hotel Bed Lyrics

Performed by Death Cab For Cutie

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 2/ 4
Add Your New Review About The Song

Meaning | Reviewer: James | 9/19/08

Its about one guy, looking back on being young and not taking the time to see change as its happening, rather looking at the past and present many years on.
it talks of a man, who feels the same as when he was probably a young man but his body isn't matching the way he feels.
To the people who think this is about homosexuals, you really don't get the music at all, the part; "like brothers on a hotel bed" refers to himself and his younger-self, because they're so alike, they're like brothers. get it yet?

When is a Death Cab song ever completely literal? | Reviewer: writerbynite | 7/21/08

I always took this song to be sad as well. Its about someone who is with someone and realizes that neither of them are the same, time has changed him, and the relationship. Most people who have one thing for a long time want something else, land locked lovers yearn for the sea, earth and sea being opposites...say goodbye from opossite sides, obviously these two people are so seperate and this person just wants to feel free. This is all my opinion.

"Like" .... "like" .... get it? | Reviewer: Exeterite | 7/13/08

PEOPLE! "Like" means, metaphor, analogy, simile, etc. Not hte actual thing. It doesn't matter to whom this song may apply, and the writer doesn't appear to care or he would have offered other clues. The song is universal because every last one of us must grow old (or face the alternative). Anyone can apply the sexlessness that follows a lack of intimacy and waning attraction-- gay or straight. In the face of that universality, why settle for the minutiae of particularity?

Meaning of the song | Reviewer: Noah | 7/3/08

You guys have brothers on a hotel bed all wrong. When I have to get a hotel with my brother, we sleep on the same bed if we have to, but far apart. We're not cuddling or anything. That's what the part about "Brothers in a Hotel Bed" means.

When they go to sleep, they're not holding each other. Just sleeping on separate sides of the bed. It's a very sad song, if you ask me.

a metaphor | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/3/08

i personally find it hilarious that some people have interpreted it as a song about homosexuality. the 'brothers' reference is obviously a metaphor for a lack of passion in a marriage. using the word "sibling" wouldn't be as effective because siblings may show some affection, but the lyricist is highlighting a lack of affection between a couple that have been together for a long time.

a metaphor | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/3/08

the reference to "brothers" is obviously a metaphor for the lack of affection in a marriage. it makes perfect sense because use of the word "siblings" wouldn't be as effective because siblings can show some affection for each other. sorry to disappoint but there are no homosexual references here.

Either way | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/29/08

I agree with most reviewers. Furthermore, I think it could either take the homosexual route or not. Aging could have a distancing effect in terms of intimacy. Homosexual or not. Either way, a lovely song.

yeah... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/11/08

This isn't about homosexuality to me. It's about a man who is aging and has faded from his former glory days...but still sees that young man inside of himself. And, as his marriage's love was between this youthful man, it is lost in the couples old age...

So, naturally if you've ever seen two brothers in a hotel bed, they tend not to hold eachother in loving embraces...they go to either side of the bed and sleep as if there alone. And that's what his marriage has become. Distant and lonesome. Just like his life.

Awesome | Reviewer: Djuna | 5/24/08

I think the "brothers on a hotel bed" part is referring to the "separate sides" line before. Have you ever been forced to share a bed with siblings? You always stray to the furthest part of your side.

Meaning | Reviewer: Adam | 5/18/08

I believe that this song is about an aging man and his wife, and how their relationship is weak and growing weaker, and could possibly be coming to a close. Near the end of the song, when it says "Cause now we say goodnight / From our own separate sides / Like brothers on a hotel bed," I believe means that the couple no longer embrace each other in bed, but rather sleep far apart, avoiding each other. If one has ever actually listened to the song or read the lyrics, he who realize that there is no way that this song could be about homosexual lovers.

not making sense... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/14/08

If it WASN'T about gay love (which I think it is) why would it say BROTHERS on a hotel bed? It would say "siblings" or something. If my husband and I grow apart, we wouldn't ever be "like brothers" because I am a woman. It just doesn't make sense. So, it may make you uncomfortable, but the song seems to be about gay lovers who have grown old and no longer have a sexual relationship.

This is Me - Near 40, Gray Hair, Overweight Married 13 years, 2 Kids | Reviewer: Senator | 3/30/08

Hi all,

I related to this song the moment I heard it. Every day when I look in the mirror I see the circles under my eyes, salt and pepper hair, and the fat face of a 215 lb man who was once a svelte 150. WOW. My wife can't bear the site of me nor can I. (You may tire of me)
But amazingly enough when I look in the mirror or imagine myself, I still also envision a good looking 22 year old. I was a photographer and played in a SKA band - a bohemian. I still feel like this person inside. (Youthful boy below)

Now I am a depressed and aging business man. It is like a double life within myself.

And like the song says, I yearn for the freedom of sailing and travel or being on the back of a vintage BMW motorbike going 110mph of the Golden Gate bridge at 3 am. But no matter how hard I try, I am limited by my circumstances - family, mortgage, kids, and a depressing relationship with a woman who does not see me as she once did. (Can't break from the concrete)

She sees a broken man. And for her, there is great disappointment as well as a true feeling of being trapped - land locked.

We sleep in separate beds - cause I snore like beast.

It is all true and the song is very sparse but dead on.

Cheers


Loveless23 | Reviewer: Caroline | 3/17/08

I think that this song is supposed to represent a love that was once so strong, so unbreakable...and yet the chains connecting them have rusted...the part where it says "like brothers on a hotel bed" I think it is supposed to connect how when children are small they stay close to their siblings and sleep close to each other to protect one another out of the love that they share. A love that seems like it could never be gone....but as they grow older they begin to drift apart and no longer sleep next to each other because the bond is not as strong and sometimes it almost seems as if it is gone. This always happens no matter how hard you try to stop it. This is the way life is, although it hurts in th end. That's about it....but I'm only like, in middle school so this isn't that deep...but that was how it was with my siblings and now we barely see each other...so much like this song...our chains have rusted...and now it is just like brothers on a hotel bed...

Caroline | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/17/08

I think that this song is supposed to represent a love that was once so strong, so unbreakable...and yet the chains connecting them have rusted...the part where it says "like brothers on a hotel bed" I think it is supposed to connect how when children are small they stay close to their siblings and sleep close to each other to protect one another out of the love that they share. A love that seems like it could never be gone....but as they grow older they begin to drift apart and no longer sleep next to each other because the bond is not as strong and sometimes it almost seems as if it is gone. This always happens no matter how hard you try to stop it. This is the way life is, although it hurts in th end. That's about it....but I'm only like, in middle school so this isn't that deep...but that was how it was with my siblings and now we barely see each other...so much like this song...our chains have rusted...and now it is just like brothers on a hotel bed...

my view | Reviewer: MB | 1/16/08

i've read some of the other reviews and some reviewers have made very valid points.i gree that the song, like all poetry, is open to different interpretations.
i think that the song is about lovers who have grown into more of a brotherly/platonic love and have lost the sexual aspect of their love,hence the title.
i think that the first verse is about a man who has become old and no longer recognises his physical self as he feels young inside.
for hunter:
i don't see how the song necessarily refers to gay love.i think that like brothers on a hotel bed simlply means that there is a closeness that comes from knowing and being with someone for a long time but there are things (desirous or sexual) that you wouldn't do with your brother.as close as he feels about this other person he also feels that they have grown apart and become more like brothers/siblings.

the line "even landlocked lovers yearn for the sea like navy men" is a simile.the literal interpretation would be that landlocked lovers yearn for the sea like navy men yearn for the sea.so i don't uderstand how this line led you to conclude that the song was actually about gay love...
this is a very beautiful song.



Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 2/ 4