Reviews for Same Old Lang Syne Lyrics

Performed by Dan Fogelberg

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 2/ 3
Add Your New Review About The Song

song for the ages | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/30/10

Anyone who doesn't like this song is not a student of, or educated in, music. Not only do the notes flow evenly, and the music is layered beautifully, but the lyrics are interestingly divided between story-telling (verses) and emotional intimacy (chorus). This explanation may be too complex for some, but those who appreciate the song can value its quality.

Negative reviewers don't get it! | Reviewer: Darcy Childs | 12/20/10

Those individuals who posted their dislike of this song obviously do not have ex-lovers. I have lived this song on several occasions. Fogelburg is writing about the bittersweet moment spent with a past lover. He nailed the experience with beautiful lyrics and a wistful melody.

I LOVE THIS SONG!!!!!!!!!!!! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/24/10

Some people may not like it..."it's too sad..to this and that blah lah" but I happen it like it and there are alot of other people who do too. It makes me cry.. and it's nice to know that in this horrible world we still can find peace and joy in small things like that.

Absolutely can't stand this song... | Reviewer: Nony Mouse | 12/15/10

I think this is the worst song ever. I already don't like "story-telling" songs, but this is just terrible musically and every other way. Not what I want to hear when I'm listening to a radio station playing Christmas music.

Garbage | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/10/10

Horrible horrible song. Musically, it's nothing impressive and the lyrics are even worse.

Dan Fogelberg: "Hey, I should write a song about a married woman (while I'm married myself) about how I really should have stayed with her way back in high school. Boo hoo. Let's go drink beer in your car."

32 years have passed | Reviewer: Sue Bartlett | 12/10/10

I love this song! I have heard it many times but never really listened to the lyrics. It brings me to tears every time I hear it. It reminds me of a love of more than 30 years ago. I wonder what he would think if he listened to the lyrics? Would he feel the same? This is my favoite Christmas song of 2010!

Real life story | Reviewer: Allen | 9/22/10

This song is probably my favorite Dan Fogelberg song. What really makes this song so meaningful to me is that the song is basically an autobiography. Dan Fogelberg wrote the song based on an actual event that happened in 1975 or 1976. He was home in Peoria, Illinois visiting his family at Christmas, and went to a convenience store to pickup some supplies for Irish coffees, when he ran into an old high school girlfriend. As he said in the FAQ's on his website "The rest of the song tells the story." I cannot think of a better story for a Christmas Eve than that!

A visit back in time. | Reviewer: Dianne Goodman | 1/7/10

This song brings back so many feelings from the past. Of that one that got away. If only we could all go back just once more and rekindle that special love that we know if our hearts that we should have been with today. I love this song, it really touches the heart.

to the person who said this was disgusting | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/31/09

What's wrong with you? This is not supposed to be negative and yes it is sad but it is a love song! How many of us have ran into the love of our lives, a past love and wished things had been different. This is about 2 lonely people on Christmas Eve who ran into each other after many years, so their holidays brought a little joy to them, as they parted after laughing and talking. I love this tune and it is way better than that old stuff Old Lang Syne everyone plays at the clubs!!! My husband is a musician and said he wished his band would have thought of playing this tonight!

LOVE this song!!!! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/2/09

To the guy who hated this song...lighten up a bit. Or grow a heart. Yeeshhh! I have loved this song for over 20 years. It is sad to think of how many have settled for warm, safe, and dry. I refused to do that and I ran into the love of my life at the mall after 8 yrs of not seeing him and now we are together again and I'm so glad I never settled and that I have the love of fairy tales that everyone should have and deserve. I'm putting this song on my iPod tonight!

Bittersweet sad song of the heart | Reviewer: Archie | 6/21/09

I have always heard this song and never knew the lyrics, and after reading the lyrics, it took me back as well, and it moved me to tears. Because it's so sweet and sincere, innocent and full of love and Pain all in the same. The words for this song was perfect in everyway. Anyone who reads these lyrics and is not touched or moved by them, don't know the feeling of love, and love lost. The Pain and comfort of being with and meeting your ex, that you haven't in a long time. Thank you Dan Fogelberg.

Disgusting... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/8/08

I absolutely HATE this song. Yes, there are people for whom the holidays bring no joy, for various and valid reasons. Heck, we all (myself included) have probably had our share of sad Christmases.

The problem is, we get plenty of the negative during the rest of the the year. If you believe in the true meaning of Christmas, then you know that it's a special time based on hope, joy, and love. What in the world could possibly be wrong with focusing on just the positive during such a special time? After all, we tend to gravitate toward (or draw toward us) that which we focus on. Just something to think about.


:o( my Christmas song | Reviewer: kate | 11/17/08

love this song. I was hoping I would spend this Christmas making wonderful memories with a guy I really cared about ... but he dumped me for another girl so now I can relate to this Christmas song a lot more than all those happy-go-lucky, lovey-dovey ones that are played all the frickin time. I love this song, and it is DEFINITELY my fAvE of the season.

First love | Reviewer: Luigi | 4/15/08

This song is about a love from the past. Many of us have someone back in our younger days that we loved. This song is about meeting that person again and remembering the pain of that love. It is also about someone who settled for dry warm and safe rather than for love, and her unhappiness and lack of fulfillment. I used to think of my first wife when I heard this song, and what I lost

Beautiful | Reviewer: Luigi | 4/15/08

This song is about a love from the past. Many of us have someone back in our younger days that we loved. This song is about meeting that person again and remembering the pain of that love. It is also about someone who settled for dry warm and safe rather than for love, and her unhappiness and lack of fulfillment.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 2/ 3