Love | Reviewer: Fernando | 1/9/13

I think that instead of fighting about the meaning of the lyrics, we should just honor what Damien is trying to say overall. Love, and all its meanings are different for everyone, just love what you know.

It's about masturbation | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/1/12

This is what Damien said about this song at a concert..
"There's this guy I knew who, when he was young, discovered this thing hanging out of his body. And one day he actually found out what to do with it. He used to feel so guilty about talking to this new friend of his that he used to donate money to charity. Until he got to the point where he didn't have any money to donate anymore."


My yoke | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/1/12

I think this song might be about religion but, DR plays with the meaning of words to create two songs in one, you know.
I don't know anything about him or about his faith but that's what this song makes me think of. & basically, I don't care if this song is about sex or whatever, it's just a powerful song that I like to listen when I'm angry, aha!

But yeah, btw, DR is definitely not french, I am and I would know if France has such musicians!

Not Religion | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/10/12

Dudes.. Damien isn't religious atall.. He doesn't write about religion, he believes that once you think you know something you stop learning.. He highlighted this as why he doesn't have a faith..

this song is not about sex not one bit | Reviewer: dontusemyname | 9/16/11

thats restarted the word come does not normally mean to ejaculate yes it can be used that way but thats stupid to think of that in the way he is talking this song is about spirituality and for every jackass that thinks otherwise understand this i don't believe in god one bit not at all fuck that and am one of the most perverted people on this earth but even im not that stupid to think this song is about sex

I don't know | Reviewer: Sgxst | 9/7/11

Well, i'm brazilian so i don't know if the translation sounds like in irish ;) cause do not make sense these explanations!! But anyway does not matter about what is the really meaning, it's a Damien's  great job !!

everything is not about sex! | Reviewer: amber | 9/3/11

LOL! I disagree so so much with everyone who says this song is about sex. I've read the arguments, and lyrically you CAN make the case--but it's all a stretch. I mean, the first thing that comes to mind with all of these images and symbols is a struggle with spirituality / religion: God gives one a rod and commands we punish with it, a yoke is a burden, something that binds and the word is used a lot in the bible, fishing is also a central motif in the bible and other spiritual and philosophical texts. . . I mean, look, I have no idea what the total meaning of the song is--I think that even artists, themselves, sometimes only have a loose sense of what they mean (which is what drives them to create in the first place). BUT, I see no reason to jump to sex when the tone and feel of this song alone are enough to let you know that there is some intense and deep meaning behind it somewhere. . . and then he talks about being mad as in crazy, which is how a person gets when struggling intensely with questions of spirituality and philosophy on a personal level.

I've always | Reviewer: CCC | 6/19/10

I've always think that DR have not a good teenage! Maybe is only an my impression but i think this! When he did write this song ? Certanly not when he was 25.

I'm talking like a 17 a little ... filosofic!

the age 15-20 is the "ideal" age of sex. I think is complicated that one of my age have idea of what is the real love! It's so difficult. With this dialogue I don't want say that I know what is it. In general we start to know when we have (20-25 years) and we become a little "sensitive"!

This is clearly a song of sex and masturbation! He didn't write at 25 but a little before!!!

however he can be different significate! When I will song a translate I'll think it! I'm not english or ireland. I'm Italian!

DR I hope that the Tuscany was like you.

To Lucy | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/23/10

Can you not just Google something before stating "facts" about it?

My faith in humanity, as low as it is, is forever plummeting downward due to people's constant love of ignorance.

To not know things is acceptable. Intelligence lies in curiosity. I actually double checked that I spelled 'plummeting' correctly before submitting this. To be blatantly ignorant and charge onward as if you do know everything is where stupidity lies.

The man is not French and he openly states what the song is about.

I shall assume that you'll never look at or reply to this but maybe, just maybe, someone who feels the need to state that the German genius, Dorian Rice's song called 'Me, My Yoke And I' is in fact about the Bavarian tradition of Buffalo racing on the Gobi desert (which was eventually stolen from the Germans by the Chinese) and is in fact about a 12 year old girl's struggle against the Communists, might just decide to do a simple search of facts before making a statement.


He's an Irish man called Damien who wrote a song about having a penis.

Clear. Plain. Simple.

It doesn't need to be dissected.

ceart | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/9/09

he's not french he's irish..he used to busk and live all over europe..he's from co. kildare..he used to be in a band called bellx1........and ..u dont need to talk about poetic bullshit this song is just about sex

ob 1 | Reviewer: 5-htp/cannabis | 5/5/08

-=My hand going "understand"=- should be under stand, or at least that would be an interesting perspective on the use of the symbolism of something that 'stands', perhaps physiologically, in the mind, such as an idea/thought. An idea in ones mind, that perhaps he wishes to eliminate the accumulation of biased thought and prejudice built behind it by years of perceived experience on the matter, by going under it.

Play this on the guitar! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/8/07

If the song is about masturbation, he makes a great job, because if you play this on the guitar, is a contantly movement, up an down on the guitar neck... just like... you know... =)
But about this thing that he said in a concert "masturbation as a teenager in catholic Ireland" Im pretty sure is about another song... I was on the concert and he said this for another that I dont remember.

Sometimes a song is just a song, you know... we dont have to understand this 100% or looking for things that didnt really are there... like...
Drum, Book, Fall, Fishing... sounds not like a sex for me... but... I like the idea!

Peace!

moody | Reviewer: lucy | 11/13/07

counter example 'Ryder'
the Ireland meaning of 'Yoke' doesn't really mean anything, since he is French, not Irish.
But yoke does mean combine, and it does fit it with your theory about the song.
And I'm pretty sure the 'My Fall' part is about him having an orgasm.
By the way; thanks for tainting the song for me.

moody | Reviewer: lucy | 11/13/07

counter example 'Ryder'
the Ireland meaning of 'Yoke' doesn't really mean anything, since he is French, not Irish.
But yoke does mean combine, and it does fit it with your theory about the song.
And I'm pretty sure the 'My Fall' part is about him having an orgasm.
By the way; thanks for tainting the song for me.

moody | Reviewer: lucy | 11/13/07

counter example 'Ryder'
the Ireland meaning of 'Yoke' doesn't really mean anything, since he is French, not Irish.
But yoke does mean combine, and it does fit it with your theory about the song.
And I'm pretty sure the 'My Fall' part is about him having an orgasm.
By the way; thanks for tainting the song for me.