Reviews for Woodstock Lyrics

Performed by Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 2/ 3
Add Your New Review About The Song

Even Funnier How Things End Up True Over Time | Reviewer: Belle | 7/16/11

Dandi's right about the terrible destruction caused by casual drug use in the 60s; most people had no idea how dangerous they were until it was too late.

And I know how everything the counterculture stood for terrifies some personality types, to this day. I was one of them and hated everything about the counterculture.

But the fact remains that most of the counterculture's claims were absolutely right, and proven by time. Our culture is too materialistic. We should never have been in Vietnam (everyone acknowledges that now, few acknowledge that, just like the war in Iraq, there were voices of sanity saying this very early on). Our society is incredibly hypocritical in regards to its founding principles of freedom and equality - look at how women, African Americans, and the GLBT community have had to fight for equal rights. We are overtaxing the planet and need to have more respect for it and be a lot less greedy. Our nation is 6% of the world population but consumes have its resources. Government is far too corrupt and nowhere near transparent enough.

All of this was protested in the 60s. It is no less true because the majority of the movement were along for the ride, and even the most dedicated ended up going Establishment.

Interesting reviews - love the song & lyrics | Reviewer: Sandy | 2/17/11

I'm sure much of what Dandi says is true; just depends on your perspective. No doubt the area where Woodstock was held was not "set up" for the huge turnout they had (with toilets & trash disposal) as it would be today. Probably only one in fifty who attended even understood what it was all about. And, unfortunately Joni Mitchell was not among them - she declined the invitation, and regretted it. Anyway, it's a great song. We ARE carbon - now discovered billions (plural) of years old. Some things have changed for the BETTER since the 60's. Some things have changed for the worse, but it is what it is. I think todays youth are better than we were back then, but it's a generation no one will ever forget. Pretty cool to have been a part of it, although I was more of a hippie wannabe than a true hippy.

Spot on Dandi! | Reviewer: Dave | 12/24/10

Wow, Dandi, you have summed up the times brilliantly! The older I get the more all I crave for is the truth, even though sometimes it's a hard pill to swallow. Thanks for your insights.
Nice tune though.

Dandi hates her 60/70's heredity | Reviewer: 3qtrtym | 11/3/10

Dandi .. Sorry for your pain about the sixties .. Wishing I could reach out to you beyond these few words .. The time when this song was released was truly was a time of extreme pain and joy for an era if both individuals and an nation .. We rebelled against " the man" for many causes from allowing girls to be able to wear pants to school to being allowed to hold hands with a friend (in school) to equal rights for blacks on a bus or in a public building .. So lighten up! You live better because of hippies/ drugs / free sex/ war and war protest/ and don't forget the openness of unconditional love.

Funny how things become romnaticized over time | Reviewer: dandi | 10/5/10

Good tune and catchy lyrics, but...

Woodstock was a mass of sheep, wallowing in the mud and imagining in a drug-induced stupor that they were somehow making a difference in the world just by being there. They left the place trashed, with garbage, torn-up earth and human excrement everywhere.

Someone above mentioned, "It was the beginning of a new era. Love and peace." Please. No doubt there were some peace-loving folks there, but the VN war continued for years afterward. The glorification of drugs turned into a boil on the face of humanity that has existed now for three generations. Society became increasingly violent.

The relaxed social and sexual mores led to tens of millions of illegitimate births, abortions, and single parent homes. The moral relativism and "if it feels good, do it" attitude contributed to breakdowns of the social contract and eventually the near-sociopathic behavior we see from so many individuals nowadays. Elders and their wisdom were disrespected, laughed off as being "out of touch with the times." People replaced God with New Age religious beliefs which ultimately tout Man himself as a god and furthered the hubris and me-ism.

What we're left with is the sorry state of affairs we are now stuck with in society: 50M abortions, a 50% divorce rate, 80% of black homes having no father, rampant drug use, drive-by killings, education devalued, the end of the American "melting pot" and apathy towards our fellow human beings.

This is what the '60s wrought. A bunch of stoned, unwashed, jobless, amoral hippies thinking they were changing the world. Well, they changed it, alright. It was fun while it lasted.

these lyrics are indeed deeply spiritual. | Reviewer: Robert | 9/5/10

"We are stardust", the song says, "billion year old carbon" it also says. When the big bang happened the future was set forth, everything that's in our universe is from the big bang. Our very own microbes (carbon) came from god's big bang, thus god's creation, therefor humans literaly are made of stardust. the black hole will lead to a white hole, this is heaven. We cannot travel to far in to space because we would travel in time, then you might travel past the time of our existence and shatter the future.
HEAVY.

Uptight, Religious and Unsophisticated thinkers | Reviewer: Ellen | 7/28/10

The message to this song does not take rocket science thinking. Going back to the garden merely refers to a closer walk with God. So a message to all the religious well-meaning folk: Stop splitting hairs and clinging guiltily to man-made concepts. All great religions approve of a closer walk with God. It's so sweet, clean and peacefully simple. Break out of your guilt and renounce your addiction to religious doctrine and follow Christ, Buddha, Mohammed, etc. the way they stressed we should do in all the great books. And if you use the Bible to try and argue your stale points, just remember the Dead Sea Scrolls. They're part of the the monotheistic tradition too. In these you'll learn that Christ was more interested in each man knowing his own heart than emphasizing Christ's death and resurrection for salvation. All that theory came about during the Nicene Conference (early Catholics---they were looking for ways to control the masses). To all you youngsters, I was at Woodstock and it was beyond anything else I've experienced. Hope you'll be reading my book about the 60s that will be coming out soon. Blue Jeans in the Sky. Peace.

The other winner......... | Reviewer: Steve Ising | 4/12/10

The name of the group that had a hit with this was Matthew's Southern Comfort, and they left out the "Devil's Bargain lyric as well. Their version is mellow and kind of dream-like. I just got back from Bethel Woods, and even being there today is an experience nothing short of religious. The site to me is Holy Ground.

great woodstock | Reviewer: aelisir | 4/6/10

i'm italian 57 and i still feel a strong lovely sensation of freedom just hearing 'Woodstock' of CSNY. It was the beginning of a new era. Love and peace, How can we forget that air, those words, those dresses, those long hair, those marvellous songs? Woodstock made me a spiritual seeker.

Devil's bargain vs. billion year-old carbon | Reviewer: Mark | 3/23/10

Most lyrics leave out the third line of the chorus, which I know was not part of the original Joni Mitchell lyric. However, it's clearly there in the CSN&Y version. Can anyone state with authority whether they sing "We are billion year-old carbon" or "We are caught in the devil's bargain"? In a way, those two lyrics are practically opposite in meaning.

Crosby Stills & Nash are amazing. | Reviewer: Katie | 2/10/10

I'm 16 & I wish I lived back then sooooo bad. Someone needs to make a time machine already, haha. But anyway, I love this song. Songs, well music in general, was so much better in the 60s. It had meaning, & actually talked about important things like what was going on in the world. Crosby Stills & Nash have to be one of my favorite groups of all time.

I wish I was at Woodstock.
):

Hippies, drugs, free sex, Flower children, and spoiled brats | Reviewer: harvey | 12/18/09

1969 I graduated from High school... Legionary Evangelist David Wilkerson was at Woodstock and has wrote about what he saw and the spiritual state of the people that attended... "We got to get ourselves back to the garden" Well, the Garden of Eden was BEFORE SIN, a sinless state, of being. We can NOT get ourselves BACK there, though we desire to do so... But CHRIST can take you there if you totally surrender to him, trust him, believe in him, read the bible to find the REAL HIDDEN TREASURE...
It's not evolutionary, it's factual, spirit, truth and life... the only way BACK TO THE GARDEN of heaven.

Wow. | Reviewer: Amelia | 11/30/09

I feel the exact same way as Brandon, I'm also 16 and feel I was born in the wrong generation. But this song, and CSNY, just create this place in my head of love and harmony. It's a great song. Great band, too.

Get real | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/6/09

I guess the song is about hoping to become more natural, and therefore better, by treating people as mutual players in the cosmos instead of cogs in a machine.

I don't like this though. It doesn't tell me anything about what people or the world are like. It only tells me how Joni wants to see people. Things too. I'm pretty sure bombers don't stop bombing because we imagine that they're butterflies. I don't find out anything about these 'children of god' either, except that they share Joni's idealism. The song's all about tacking idealism onto reality.

I really like the music (Joni's version and CSNY too) but the lyrics are shallow.

timeless | Reviewer: david | 11/2/09

The "fall from grace" story, (Adam and Eve and the Garden of Eden in the Judeo/Christian/Islamic perspective (all together maybe 30-40% of the world) ) is a pretty universal theme in world religions/perspectives.

That is, almost everyone likes to believe "life was better, before." The "western" (Judeo/Christian/Islamic) perspective is unique in that the blame is placed squarely on us for this "fall." Most of the world doesn't beat themselves up for not being perfect (as defined by someone in an authority role).

One of the huge breakthroughs of The Woodstock Generation Counterculture, was to realize that we are, in fact, divine, (as Christ said); that *everything* in the universe is divine - and we are mundane, billion-year old carbon (not formed 4000 years ago or whatever).

We need not submit to rubbish such as a church telling us we are born in sin.

This song articulates this change of perspective beautifully, and again, pretty universally.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 2/ 3