Reviews for Woodstock Lyrics

Performed by Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 1/ 4
Add Your New Review About The Song

Too Old to be a Hippie | Reviewer: Geegadman | 9/20/14

I was 29 with 4 kids and making easy money in a rapidly growing computer company, but I sympathized with the younger people who saw another way. I never read these lyrics before and I am impressed that the wisdom they reveal is sounder than I expected.

Now a lot of people think they are too old to be a Hippie. It's true that that era is over, but it's not too late to get back to the garden in a timely fashion.

You only go around once | Reviewer: Bruce | 9/19/14

Yes, we were golden, we were stardust, as most young people naturally are. The times defined us, not because we were different than any other generation, but because we were such a large group of young people. Only the young can experience war, sex, drugs, love, hate and radical politics, while still feeling innocent.

california | Reviewer: cj | 9/1/14

i wish i lived inn california in the 70's, i was 10 when this song came out in 1970 british and american music was the greatest and that era will live forever in the memories

John14:6 Right On! | Reviewer: Scroberts | 8/8/14

Yes, we are stardust; it is the building blocks of nature, but only God can breathe a living soul into a mass of subatomic particles. The only way to get back to the garden is to seek Him, and you will find, if you seek Him with all your heart, that He will find you. God is not found in a church. He will find you if you seek Him. All you have to do is ask.

Anonymous -for a Security Blanket? | Reviewer: igneous1 | 7/13/14

I witnessed, I was there. Nobody was Full of themselves... we were glad to have found a bit of transparency in the Govt. -and our eyes opened... we listed, we heard, and we found our Voice... asked to be heard (turned down), held a # of enlightening protests/movements, only to be beaten & gunned down by the establishment STILL IN POWER TODAY! As for those who died too soon... alcohol, drugs, or...? -well, try to explain why it happens more Today than Yesterday. Police Officers, CEO's of Major Corporations, Govt. Official;s, CIA, ATF, & DEA Agents caught in more Corrupt and Hideous Crimes over drugs, money and Power... Worldwide.

And, as what a DORK doesn't believe, but just pretends to know... hippie Values were Not what we were after. All we wanted was Peace. To stop the killing, stay out of countries whose battles raged for a thousand years over Religion, land and loyalty... those who could defend themselves & Did Not Ask For U.S. aid, to stop the erroneous, wasteful spending of the Middle Class Taxes on Frivolous Govt. Play, Lobbyists & Waste -which is 1,000 X's more Corrupt today because DORK's Don't Vote... which keeps the U.S. Govt's Nose ALWAYS in others business- to this day. No Taxation Without Representation -meaning: ONLY IN TIMES OF WAR... and this is why we STILL have BOOTS on Every Continent! Hence, the song "Monster" by John Kay (Steppenwolf). DORK- tear off your own head... it's a Doll Revolution... and like yarko said: ...with any social revolution there are negative and positive effects. The world is a much better place because of the enlightenment that occurred during that time. If only our children were taught what we were preaching then! They are our future, but look at their behavior now. All Nations: Hallucinations- Are you ready to die for the future of an illusion? If we are going to Insist on maintaining a State we can obey, then we have to raise children who are willing to sacrifice Capital Gains, High profits and Corrupt Positions, and accept that they may have to die for it... so quit whining!

You said it, Peg.

And, to gbigsangle... the term "Hippies" was given by the Right-Wingers, kiddo...


Wow, you are all pretty full of yourselves. You are not the only people to pass through this world, nor in fact the only people on the planet. I was too young to be a hippie. As you were out there being hippies, I was sitting in my living room watching it all unfold in my living room watching TV waiting to grow up. You did change the world a bit and I grew up a little more aware of the need to love our planet. care for my fellow man, consider drugs as a danger, love music, hate war, see protest as a means of non-violent method to make change, recognize that money wasn't everything and value peace. Get over yourselves a tad.

interesting reads and a thought | Reviewer: marie v | 1/31/14

I was going down a rabbit trail of looking for this song's lyrics and got sucked into the hole of this conversation. It's been quite an education about the 60s. I love hearing the true stories from those who were there.
I think the wonder of this song is how it can be so fiercely debated by both sides of an issue, which is what makes it one for the annuls. It speaks to the human condition - no matter which decade because human nature and our inherent problems keep following. (thanks for letting me wax on as well. God bless)

Why Joni wrote this song | Reviewer: Mike Runyan | 12/26/13

She was due to appear on the Dick Cavett show on the Monday after Woodstock, but nevertheless was set to play on Sunday at Woodstock. But when it became obvious that there would be huge road-clogging crowds at the festival, it was decided that if she performed as planned she might not be able to get to the Cavett show on time, and it was to be a very important appearance for her career. Missing Woodstock was a lifetime regret and writing this song was a salve for her emotional wound.

True Joy | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/24/13

What I remember most from the drug culture of the '60s is all of the lives that were destroyed by alcohol, heroin, cocaine, marijuana, LSD, etc. Good, kind, talented people who blew their minds and lost their lives because they decided to live life without regard for themselves or for others. Any lifestyle that is based upon pleasure for pleasure's sake must by its very nature fall in upon itself. There were some people who were truly invested in ending the war and fighting the establishment, but for most it was just about getting stoned and getting laid.

We Blew It! | Reviewer: Aries | 8/16/13

As a baby-boomer and formerly long-haired hippie trippy, I have fond memories of the late 60's. It was like we were on a spiritual journey to find peace, enlightenment and a better way of living. We had the most noble ideals... and were naive. I think at the time we did have the right ideas, but did get caught "in the devil's bargain."

Now that my generation is in control and I survey that current state of our society and ever-expanding government, I think back to a pivotal movie from the same year as Woodstock - "Easy Rider"... near the end of the movie, Wyatt (Captain America) looks at Billy and says "We blew it!"

At the risk of loosing many of you, with my gray beard and bald head, I believe we have another chance to get "back to the garden" by having a relationship with Christ... the Jesus that exists FAR above and beyond the church and what many know as the Christian religion. IMHO, MAN made religion. Christ's second biggest gift to us is the Holy Spirit! Let that be your guide.

Allahu Akbar | Reviewer: Dork | 7/10/13

I like to "imagine" the scene when hippie values triumphed throughout America and we all actually *did* "get back to the garden" only to suddenly be confronted by a group of radical Islamic Jihadists with, not rifles, but swords and knives prepared to behead the infidels. How useful would a daisy be against that? We'd be so stoned we wouldn't know we were being eliminated.

blah blah blah | Reviewer: yarko | 6/13/13

dandi's post is stock fundamentalist christian nonsense. with any social revolution there are negative and positive effects. the world is a much better place because of the enlightenment that occurred during that time. the fact that christians today get to benefit from it without realizing it shows how limited their comprehension is. but how can one's comprehension be anything but limited when you have been hearing the same, repetitive falseness every sunday for your entire life?

Back to the garden ... | Reviewer: Tony | 5/14/13

Doesn't anyone think "getting ourselves back to the garden" just meant going back to a simpler, more meaningful life growing your own food, as done on a hippy commune? I guess the "devil's bargain" might make you think that but I never did.

The Fringe | Reviewer: Peg | 4/3/13

Remember, all, that change comes from the fringe. The excesses of the '70s led to several justice movements that have transformed the world we live in. Sort of what was intended, I think, although we certainly thought the transformation would be to a world of love and peace. Those are not bad qualities to be part of a society! Not that I think we'll ever have that world, but it is nostalgic to think about the innocence of that time and the belief that we could change the world. The concept of individual freedom arose from that time.

Who Hippies Really Were | Reviewer: gbigsangle | 3/7/13

The term is pleasure seeking and narcissism. There was and still is no grand motive the 60s kids took to communes and the streets and got stoned. The music followed and came from them. But just as the left-wing today assigns themselves grander purpose and higher thinking, they are in fact none of that.

Hippies, long hairs, acid freaks, and groupies were after pleasure and escape. And they have grown up and ruined the country since then.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 1/ 4