Reviews for Your Love Is Extravagant Lyrics

Performed by Casting Crowns

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 3/ 4
Add Your New Review About The Song

... this is wat i have to say | Reviewer: cassandra | 6/25/07

seriously people lets not be disgusting.. you can be intimate with your parents and its not considered sexual right? in this song they are speaking of the heavenly fathers ability to be so close and intimate in his relationship with us individually. because his love really is extravagant and intimate and intoxicating and if you have only negative thing to say about it dont listen to it! nobodys twisting your arm, noone is pushing your head against the speaker. so stop bashing it!

Great Song | Reviewer: Dean Shillingford | 6/21/07

I love this song, it brings out the love of God in a great way. His love is really extravagant and his freindship is intimate.

Your Love is Extravagant | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/7/07

To a person that has an intimacy with Jesus then the song takes your breath away. You experience that level of intimacy, you know it's not a suggestive song you understand what they are singing about. That's why the Word says taste and see that the Lord is GOOD!!!!!

Beauty | Reviewer: Kallie | 5/28/07

If you want to interpret this song as something totally opposite of what was intended or don't agree with the appropriatness of the lyrics, then don't listen and stop with the blasphemy finger pointing. I personally think this song is beautiful and I know this song speaks to so many people, including myself. I love knowing that I can have an intimate relation with Jesus himself. :)

Words out of Context | Reviewer: Pete | 5/24/07

Problem One: The Song of Songs (Solomon's Song) is not about the love of Christ for his bride (the church). It is only about romantic love between a man and a woman. Any interpretation that tries to tie the Song of Songs to Christ's love for us fails to account for the general theme of the Song; fails to account for verses where God tells the lovers to drink their fill of each other. (Song 5:1e) Any such interpretation also fails to account for the many references that can only be sexual in nature. In this view, the word "intoxicating" becomes completely acceptable as used in the Song of Songs, that is, we should be intoxicated by the love of our spouses. But we should never be intoxicated by the workings of the spirit, as Al Muir mentioned referencing Gal 5:22. (For an excellent treatment of the Song of Songs and its application to marital relations, see Intimacy Ignited by Dillow & Pintus.)
Problem Two: The metaphor of the church as Christ's bride is just that, a metaphor. The same metaphor is applied by John to the Holy City (Rev 21:1-2) as opposed to just the church. When we try to take a metaphor too far and use it in worship where not everyone is on the same page, we fail to account for the weaker brother/sister who may not be as Biblically literate. All in all, this offering by Casting Crowns is lacking in substance and its meaning is at best confusing to far too many. Casting Crowns needs to study a little more and not rely on the old-school headings in the older editions of the King James Version.

Two Problems | Reviewer: Pete | 5/25/07

Casting Crowns' Your Love Is Extravagant, comes almost directly from the Bible and particularly from the Song of Songs (Solomon's Song).

Problem One: The Song of Songs is not about the love of Christ for his bride (the church). It is about romantic love between a man and a woman. Any interpretation that tries to tie the Song of Songs to Christ's love for the church fails to account for the nearly blatant sexuality as well as the verse where the lucky couple are enjoined by God (as some interpreters assert) to drink their fill of each other. (Song 5:1e) (For an excellent treatment of the Song of Songs and its application to marital relations, see Intimacy Ignited by Dillow & Pintus.)

Problem Two: The metaphor of the church as Christ's bride is just that, a metaphor. As a case in point, the same metaphor is applied by John to the Holy City (Rev 21:1-2). But we know that Christ doesn't love the city itself, but the people in it. Metaphors are wonderful things until we try to say that someone really is a lighthouse or that some lighthouse really is a lover. When we try to take a metaphor too far (as in Your Love is Extravagant) and use it in worship where not everyone is on the same page, we fail as a body to account for the weaker brother/sister who may not be all that Biblically literate. Finally, no matter how you slice the lyrics, they are erotic in nature. (If this song were written by a mainstream pop artist would anyone doubt it?) All in all, this offering by Casting Crowns is lacking in substance and its meaning is at best confusing to far too many. Casting Crowns needs to study a little more and perhaps think a little more. And Christian consumers need to get a little more discriminating. Play that song for an average non-believer and he/she will likely think romantic/erotic.

Your Love is Extravagant | Reviewer: Ashley | 5/22/07

I LOVE THIS SONG!!!It rocks!!It doesn't mean anything "perverted."

In the line "your fragrance is intoxicating in the secret place" the word intoxicating means to be filled with. The line basically means to be filled with our Father. And the line "your friendship is intimate" just suggests that we should all have an itimate relationship with Christ. It doesn't mean anything sexual. Itimate meaning really close. Just like itimate friends means that you are really close to that person.

To me this song is awesome and does not suggest anything sexual. It tells that we should have an intimate with Jesus Crist our Father.

If it does suggest anything sexual to anyone, you know you don't HAVE to listen to it....

Really deep | Reviewer: Hossana Twino | 5/15/07

I loved the song the first time I listened to it. I note the discussion about the use of the term "intoxication". My answer is this... If you have entered into the awesome Presence of God especially in Praise & Worship, you will know what elated experience it is and understand why David danced unashamedly naked before the whole of Israel! That pleased God tremendously. If only we could have the same unashamed expressions.

It's a worship thing... | Reviewer: Michael | 5/9/07

Reading the other comments about this song, it typifies the true worship experience; it's a worship thing, you either "get it", or you don't. "The secret place" has nothing at all to do with the human form, rather it mimics the Holy of Holys in the inner court of the temple where once a year, the high priest would personally encounter God, one on one. As with the Word itself; you must worship Him in Spirit and in Truth in order to search out the secret things of God, or they will seem as foolishness to you. Just like this song. It's fitting, since it's almost word for word from the Song of Solomon, in the Word. By the way, we no longer need that Holy of Holys, the "secret place" today is a place we can visit in Spirit whenever and wherever we encounter God, through His Son Christ Jesus. It is my prayer that those wishing to understand this song, God, or the Word itself, have a closer understanding of Him and personally encounter the God I have come to call "Abba, Father". God bless you!

God Intoxicates me | Reviewer: Kierstan | 4/30/07

I know that intoxication may have a bad connotation but it isn't just associated with drugs and alcohol it also says other substances. God makes me feel jubilant and just FREE if you have ever been drunk i think you may get the same feeling but of course not all drunks are like this. But when you are in God's presence or in this secret place you feel so free and uplifted just intoxicated.

Your love is extravagant | Reviewer: N | 4/23/07

A real great song!!! I love it because of its special message

amazing | Reviewer: jesus's bride | 4/4/07

I love this song! I am a black person and I never thought I would like "white people worship" but this song is amazing! His love is forever intoxicating to me!!! I stay drunk in his presence!!!

Melodic, beautiful song | Reviewer: ken | 3/25/07

I compose, I write, and I believe in Christ. This song is not about infatuation, sex, homophobia, or whatever. It is simply about loving the Lord. Get over it! Besides, it is melodic and peaceful to sing. I like the last "Anonymous" review above. People read lyrics too analytically - just sing and rejoice, for Christ's sake (literally).

sooo yeah | Reviewer: Esther | 3/12/07

people are taking things too literally, seriously you guys! our relationship with God IS a romance, a personal relationship with our Creator. About having a problem with using the word "intoxicating", chill out. It's obviously NOT refering to alcohol. Intoxicating is NOT always used to refer to alcohol in every day language either. And to go as far as to call it "blasphemous" is just ridiculous

LOVE THIS SONG | Reviewer: CJ | 3/3/07

this song is one of the best songs....i think...i first heard it at a summer camp i go to...and i imediately loved it right off...it truly speaks to me....i hope it speaks to your heart like it speaks to mine! God bless


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 3/ 4