Reviews for Thunder Road Lyrics

Performed by Bruce Springsteen

Add Your New Review About The Song

I wanted Mary | Reviewer: Clyde Coronado | 1/22/14

...but I didn't have a chance to be with her for more than 30 years later. Married, content but not caring. Mary came back into my life. I sing this song for her when I play, but mostly when sitting on her front porch (when HER loser husband is out running around, drinking and never leaving his hometown)

Mary's dress sways... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/5/13

Mary's dress sways, it doesn't wave. "Sways" rhymes with "radio plays." Common mistake. Fantastic song.

I don't agree with Driza - he's not extorting sex; that would kill the emotion of the song.

Mary, the ride it ain't free because you're giving up everything to run off with me to find something better. It's a risk, Mary. It's getting late, but we can make it if we run... if we don't get out now, we never will.

What's it gonna be? Yes? or No? | Reviewer: Driza | 7/4/13

So, Bruce has been chasing Mary now for sometime. She keeps batting him off, in a "paradise by the dashboard light" type scenario- she wants to, but doesn't want to be another cheap shag as she has been so many bitter times before. Bruce is on it, he ain't gonna take no for an answer this time.He is so up for it he spells it out. If you come with me, this IS gonna happen, so you decide. (what's it gonna be Mary, yes or no?)And you know what? we never get to find out........

Exhausted | Reviewer: Alan | 10/15/12

Bruce musta collapsed for a WEEK after writing this. It fuckin makes me ball like a little girl every time I hear it. I aspire to this level of composition only to fail like a Salieri to Spreingsteen's Mozart. Here kids, go fishin: www.imdb.com/title/tt0086879/

From your front porch to my front seat . . . | Reviewer: Michael Faughnan | 1/6/12

To me this song is about finally coming to terms about the girl you love and wanting to enjoy the beauty of life with her. For him, he realizes the thought of this perfect, beautiful woman he's been searching for isn't really out there for him. The girl for him is Mary and its time to go get her. "You ain't a beauty, but hey you're already. Oh and that's alright with me" Mary also has a vision of prince charming who doesn't exist either. "Waste your summer praying in vain For a saviour to rise from these streets
Well now I'm no hero That's understood All the redemption I can offer girl Is beneath this dirty hood With a chance to make it good somehow " He's saying we're not perfect and we're starting to get old but we can still make a great life together. "I know its late but we can make it we run" He asking her to commit to him and he knows great relationships do not come with work. "From your front porch to my front seat The doors open but ride it ain't free" Eight years ago at the age of 39 and after spending 20 years chasing a lot of "beauties" I asked my wife to marry me with the line of "From your front porch to my front seat . . ." It was best decision I ever made and we still "roll down the windows and let the wind blow back our hair" God Bless you Bruce Springsteen from making the greatest song I've ever heard!

Greatest of all time! | Reviewer: MonkanStonkan | 8/21/09

The road down Lifelane in your pre-twenty's or somwhere around. That's what I feel and that's how I choose to listen to Mr. Springsteen's music. As you all say (or as I interpret your comments) he's the greatest all time songwriter and performer through all times.

If you're depressed, don't stay and cry, DO SOMETHING | Reviewer: pablo gd | 7/25/08

What can I say? This song is incredible, and probably the poet who composed it is the best composer in the world. As I don't know much about this, I suppose the things that matter for a good lyric are what he says and how he says it. This song has many stories in one, but in my opinion the most important thing that he teaches us is not to ask too much to our lives if we don't try our bests to improve our current situations. I mean, Mary has a little depression, because although she's had many lovers, she asks too much to them. Bruce knows it's not easy to suddenly lower your sentimental needs and change when you have been always doing the opposite thing, but he'll help her because he still loves her (the door's open but the ride ain't free). (Maybe all that I understand in this song is false; if so, please tell me)
The way he poetically explains the things is also excellent, using metaphors like "Roy Orbison singing for the lonely" to graphically describe situations.

most amazing singer/songwriter | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/29/07

bruce springsteen always puts such emotion, mystery, and love into his songs, and he shows it. even in concert, he is so passionate about his music. he is my all-time favorite singer, and it is impossible to not like him. BRUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCE!

Pure quality | Reviewer: Paul | 5/19/07

A song that is so good, it makes the hairs stand up on your neck.

11/22/06 | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/22/06

Bruce at his best. Mary is the girl he has fancied many years, but when she was younger and more beautiful she had the pick of all the guys so had no time for him. Now Bruce decides to call the shots, he still aint got much to offer when the reality of life has hit Mary, she might see him in a different light. A classic.

gorgeous | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/21/06

angst (of any age... teenaged, middle aged, your pick) meets music that's actually good. wow. springsteen is amazing. how can you not love a song with such imagery and emotion and music rolled into one?


Add Your New Review About The Song