gotta hand it | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/1/09

I have to hand it to my gf Katie, she introduced me to Bright Eyes, and I was always the type to listen to the beat before the lyrics, but the lyrics to this song make me wonder what I miss out on. It's so easy to relate to the lyrics of this song, and as I told her, I tell anyone who reads this now, Bright Eyes has became one of my new favorite bands.



And since then I've been so good at vanishing. | Reviewer: Ed | 10/19/09

I love the way this song transforms. The lyrics tell the story of young friends who try to be something more. They fool around and the girl realizes that her friend will never be more than the sweet kid she'd known for so long, she won't ever be able to see him as anything but a little boy. She doesn't want to hurt him so she tells him to forget the whole ordeal, to pretend it never happened and to go back to being friends, but this kills him. He becomes bitter and hurt and in the end, refuses to ever really love anyone again.



yes they're similar... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/15/08

They're similar because they were both released on the same date and one is more of a darker album and the other lighter... so i wouldn't be surprised to see them similar with one a little darker and the other a little brighter.



Similarity | Reviewer: Arlin | 10/5/08

Does anyone see slight similarities between this song and "First Day Of My Life"? I mean they are both songs on albums that were released at the same time, so I assume written at the same time too.
The main similarity I heard came in the line:
"Now they're spreading out the blankets on the beach
Oh that weatherman's a liar, he said it'd be raining"
which reflects the line "I went out in the rain, suddenly everything changed
They're spreading blankets on the beach" from "First Day..."
Is it possible they are about the same thing but different points of view in Conor's own head?
Just my thoughts, they're both amazing songs.

I don't think I've heard a Bright Eyes song I didn't like.



First Day Of My Life | Reviewer: Arlin | 10/5/08

Does anyone see similarities between this and the Bright Eyes song "First Day Of My Life"?

They were on albums released at the same time, so probably written at the same time, so could be different viewpoints on the same event?

First Day... : "I went out in the rain, suddenly everything changed
They're spreading blankets on the beach"
Take It Easy... : "Now they're spreading out the blankets on the beach
Oh that weatherman's a liar, he said it'd be raining"

I've never heard a Bright Eyes song I didn't like. x



Dear God | Reviewer: Toni | 2/15/08

Could this relate to real life situations anymore?!

"I was a fool you were my friend we made it happen"

I had a friend. who wanted to be more than friends. I was stupid to beleive that he wanted something more serious. When he actually wanted some tail.

This song relates to the situation sooo much.
Its really the only thing keeping me sane.
Take it easy... love nothing.. is exactly how I should live



Conor is amazing. | Reviewer: Andrei Migunov | 11/15/07

"Now I do as I please, and I lie through my teeth
Someone might get hurt, but it won't be me
I should probably feel cheap, but I just feel free And a little bit empty" is probably one of my top 5 favorite bright eyes lyrics ever. Bright eyes has ruined my life. I now compare all bands' lyrics to conor's. None of them make it higher than a 6/10




i love this song!!! | Reviewer: alma sky | 11/7/07

i love my friend jacky for introducing Bright Eyes to me! i love this band now! i love this song! it's one of my favorites from Bright Eyes!



<3 | Reviewer: Marlie | 9/29/07

"Now I do as I please, and I lie through my teeth
Someone might get hurt, but it won't be me
I should probably feel cheap, but I just feel free
And a little bit empty"

that is probably one of the greatest lines Conor has ever said.


i get to se him perform tonight at the hollywood bowl :D



way with words. | Reviewer: lauryn | 3/18/07

I love the last line of this song-
Conor has such a way with words.