Reviews for Me Vs. Maradona Vs. Elvis Lyrics

Performed by Brand New

By Pages:   1    2    Current page No. 1/ 2
Add Your New Review About The Song

Whoah people | Reviewer: DMC | 9/20/11

I really like this song, but for the actual content, not some imagined feeling behind the words.
This is a bad guy doing bad things to drunk girls because he can (and here I quote "I almost feel sorry for what I'm gonna do" - meaning he doesn't). Somehow Brand New make a pretty awesome song out of it though.



So sad... | Reviewer: camshaft | 8/19/10

This song breaks my heart.

This song is about a guy taking advantage of a girl.

He knows it's wrong, but he isn't strong enough to stop himself. Part of him is grieving that she "falls for empty word I say". Part of him wants to her see through gimmicks and gambits; but they're working.

He despises himself for what he does, but he can't stop.

The message of this song reminds me of Starstrukk by 30h!3.



<3 | Reviewer: a | 3/17/10

"If you let me have my way I swear I'll tear you apart."
Probably my favorite line from any song I've ever heard.

I don't know what half of you are on but this is the complete opposite of a "love song", lol.

the most blatant example:

"I will lie awake
And lie for fun and fake the way I hold you
Let you fall for every empty word I say"



Mike | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/22/09

I think that this song is fantastic. And I think part of why Jesse decides not to fluctuate his tone a whole lot in this song, is because it is like this feeling of numbness he gets from being able to take whatever he likes.

And I think this is one of the few essences on deja entendu where the title has some bearing. Maradona both had really terrible personal lives off the stage, and both fell really easily to the drug over use-age and random sex.

And another note, he does have remorse, but not enough to stop what he's doing. If that makes sense. "You can sin, or spend the night all alone" I think is kind of a good example of that.



Song | Reviewer: xscream_belovedx@yahoo.com | 1/28/09

I think this song is beautiful. Its like.. He wants you to feel that emotionality that he is trying to deliever with the lyrics. How he can hurt/use someone without even having a trouble at all and how he can easily get away with it. It sounds wrong but its just so beautiful how he wrote it. Its brutal but so beautiful, its hard to just see the song for what it really is, its more of just feeling the hurt and confusion that really makes it such an amazing song. I have to say, this is one of my favorite songs.



amazing. | Reviewer: krissssy | 9/23/08

this song could mean so many different things. i guess it depends on your own experiences and how you perceive what is being sung.
but all i know is that. whichever way its looked at. its a beautiful song.
brand new are beautiful.



blown away. | Reviewer: schwabee. | 7/24/08

wow kkids. have you ever heard a song likke this? i truely sat down and listened to the words this morning. and i have to admit that i am still numb. a certain boy told me to listen to this song. and now i kknow exxactly what was going through his mind while we were together. this song is absolutely beautiful. and p.s. brand new should takke over the world. (:



this means so much | Reviewer: ali | 12/13/07

this is my favorite brand new song becauase it means a lot to my relationship right now. i remember my boyfriend & i laying down on his bed & this song came on. he started singing it to me [& he sounds VERY similar to jesse which i love] & now whenever this song comes on he stops what he's doing & sings it TO me. i know it's not the typical "we're doing great" relationship song. it means something different. it's about a guy who is considering taking advantage of a girl. but if you knew my past this song means ALOT to me & when trevor[boyfriend] sings it, it takes on a whole new meaning.

i love brand new, my life is written throughout their songs. it's amazing.



woahh baby. | Reviewer: mrs. jesse lacey | 11/13/07

the chords in the chorus at the end are simply AMAZING. i think it's like 4 minutes and 15 seconds into the song. it's crazy how they can sing like that. i've heard covers of the song and NOBODY comes close. if you haven't heard the song, listen. all the way through.
iloveyoujesselacey =]



Brand New is tha shiznibabamsnipsnapsamwich!!! | Reviewer: SMJ | 11/2/07

I just recently got into these guys and I gotta say it was love at first listening. I like the guitar and the rest of the ensemble, I'm really into Deftones, GlassJaw, Tool, A Perfect Circle....basically any band that pushes the envelope with their music and especially lyrics and vocals. So Brand New turned out to be right up my ally and this song right here is no exception. Can't wait to see them live this Nov in Houston...."YEAH!!...YEAH!!"




Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    Current page No. 1/ 2