Reviews for Jesus Christ Lyrics

Performed by Brand New

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 4/ 17
Add Your New Review About The Song

For those who cant see that it's the song of a struggling Christ follower | Reviewer: Morgan | 6/14/09

I said Christ follower because I hate the word Christian. It's become about shunning and selfishness so I'll stick with Christ follower.

Well, Jesus Christ, I’m alone again
So what did you do those three days you were dead?
Because this problem's gonna last
More than the weekend

I cant see how that is anti-religion. Jesus dying on the cross wasn't meant to redefine the world and fix everything, it was a sign of God's forgiveness. Also, him asking what he did the three days he was dead was, I think, Jesse asking God what he did to get through the problems life throws at you.

Cause I'm scared I'll get scared and I swear I'll try to nail you back up

OK, seriously? How is that not a spiritual statement? He's so afraid of sinning because he knows that it breaks God's heart to see us fall, almost like we crucify him every time we sin, that's how much I/other Christ followers believe God loves us.

It's not about the downside of religion, it's Jesse crying out, being deathly afraid of hurting God every time he fails, looking for guidance.
And for good measure

And at the gates does Thomas ask to see my hands?
Thomas was a bible character that doubted that Jesus was risen from the dead and stated he wanted to put his fingers through Jesus' hands because that's the only way he'd believe. When Jesus visited them Jesus held out his hands to Thomas, and Thomas believed. That verse in the song is like God asking, "How much were you willing to sacrifice to further the Kingdom?"

I'd love to talk more about this because this song, to me, is an amazing story of a Christ follower that struggles with seeing is believing.

Jesus Christ | Reviewer: Maleina | 6/12/09

I think it is hard to dispute that this song is Jesse's struggle with his faith. I love this song, and I'm glad to hear someone actually talk about this struggle because no one ever wants to say they are losing their faith or are questioning their beliefs.
The line "But I'm scared, I'll get scared and I swear I'll try to nail you back up" is obviously a reference to the fact that more than likely no one would believe that Jesus has come back if he did and he is scared he might deny him as the savior. I mean think about it, if someone came to you and told you they were Jesus in this day and age would you honestly believe them? You'd probably deny Him too. As a non-believer I really relate to this song because I also struggled with many of these feelings before I just admitted to myself there was no way I could believe in a God.

Thornz4Therapy | Reviewer: Thornz4Therapy | 5/17/09

As a song writer myself I like to write stories about something without saying what i really talking about, like in a form of a big metaphor. I think he is having some issues with himself. Comparing himself at times to Jesus christ. Feeling crucified. Self-crucifiction. And as far as the title of the album its not even about religion its more the duality of man. we all have evil and good inside us. Good side n bad. ying-yang

Its what you want it. | Reviewer: NB | 4/30/09

This song might not be as specific as every1 thinks. Yeah its his problems but the way it relates to you differs with every1. It could be alone, indifferent,fear. It relates to every1 cause every1 has those. I am suicidal but afraid to act without thinking... Thats fucked up but everything else is. This song applies to my situation totally.

Song is about acceptance of his failure. | Reviewer: JP | 4/22/09

This song is about how he feels horrible not only for what he has done, but for what he will continue doing. The line, "but I'm scared I'll get scared and I swear I'll try to nail you back up" refers to the fact that Jesse knows Jesus is coming, he just isn't sure whether or not he wants to go with Him.
The line that most reveals Jesse's Christian belief, however, is "we all got wood and nails", meaning we are all responsible in some way for Jesus' crucifiction.
Jesse know heaven exists, he just doesn't want to live the life he thinks will get him there. The whole second chorus shows this. And the line "And I will die alone\and when i get there i wont know anyone" shows another reason he doesn't want to accept it, his friends have not.

Be Enlightened | Reviewer: Patrick | 4/21/09

If you realized that this album is about Jesse's struggles facing his own religion, good for you. You're very astute... At least that might possibly be true, had he album not also been titled 'The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me'.

my thoughts | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/8/09

i think it's a mix of things. but for me it has a meaning that is something probably different from all the other meanings. when it say's "do you believe you're missing out and everything good is happening somewhere else but with nobody in your bed the night's hard to get through" i think it's that your stuck in a relationship because you want to help the other person and you know that there are better things out there but that you might be with the only person who would want you and you don't want to be alone(nobody in your bed.)

everyone | Reviewer: victoria | 4/8/09

this song applies to anyone. i'm not religious but i cry everytime i listen to it. my favorite line:
Well, Jesus Christ, I’m alone again
So what did you do those three days you were dead?
Because this problem's gonna last
More than the weekend

wrong | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/6/09

He wouldn't write anything blasphemous? Didn't he write Limousine? ("And in the choir, I saw our sad messiah / He was bored and tired of my laments / said, 'I died for you one time, but never again.'", questioning Christ's ability to forgive a drunk driver for killing a child. Most of this CD is exceptional BECAUSE it's blasphemous, it's all about questioning religion and finding your own answer, and about seeing the whole of dark and light instead of some narrow view.

. | Reviewer: Rachel | 4/5/09

In my opinion, this is about Jesse's struggles with his faith. He's a Christian, so why would he write something blasphemous?! The atheist guy at the top of the comments page needs to get his facts straight and should show a little respect towards others who might not share the same beliefs. Being Chistian is possibly the least cowardly thing you can do.

For those who can't see that it's against Religion | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/2/09

This song is one of my favourites as an athiest. He's not, for one, trying to reach out to anyone. Jesse is one the most influential writers of our time and this song is about the downside of religion. 'Jesus Christ, i'm alone again. What did you do those three days you were dead?' amazing allusion to the fact that, in a rhetorical sense, seriously, what did he do those three days? Cos sacrficing himself has not solved all the problems which, as he mentions, have lasted longer than just a weekend. 'I swear i'll try to nail you back up?' Yeah, cos Jesus is gonna want to hear something like that. Sure, it's about sadness and regret, but in the long run this whole religious concept of how we revert to our faith in times of need, is for cowards who can't accept the fact that GOD DOES NOT EXIST. Now, i have no proof that he doesnt, making me Agnostic (Without Knowledge), but i have yet to hear any coherent arguments to support his exsistence. I have not been proved wrong. Jesse is no coward, you can tell from his writing. Peacex

my interp | Reviewer: jesse | 3/30/09

i think this song is about how he is dieing and trying to find peace with God. he obviously is depressed and is asking God how he got through all his torture and pain. and then he wants to know if he will get to heaven even after repenting. he reflects on how one might get to heaven or if there even is one
anyway, thats what i got to say.
love the song!!

anonymous | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/17/09

I just reckon this. He who made these lyrics was ready for war with someone, or something. All the songs found on this CD are profound.
And I'm pretty sure it's tied to religion 'cause of Limousine.
Seeing a sad messiah in the choir isn't religious?
Or making even more relevance by counting to 7.
"One'll love you so much, do me a favor....Seven'll love you so much...."
Besides that, these songs are incredible, inspirational, and admirable.

Its a struggle | Reviewer: Ryan not the same one | 3/16/09

This song is clearly about a struggle of some sort in his heart and soul. What that struggle is no one knows but him. I personally found this song very helpful in my time of weakness. It makes you think about what is gonna happen. And by far my favorite line in the song is
" Jesus Christ Im not scared to die Im a little bit scared of what comes after". That says something big!!!
But all in all this is a great song about Jesse's struggle inside himself. Which goes to the title of the album. The Devil and God are Raging Inside Me. There is good and evil inside all of us. Some of us just choose to observe the battle and question things about it. We are only human, and " We all got wood and nails and we're tongue tied to this hate factory". That is wat the lyrics actually say. Not "we all got wood and nails and we talk dirt at the hatting factories". I mean come on did that really make sense in someone head?

AwesomeSong. | Reviewer: Andrew | 3/16/09

To that religious guy under me - the bible mentions "faith" so much because without it no logical person would believe in a magical fairy and thats no way to make money for the church!

As for the song - it isn't about God at all obviously. It's all about the demons everyone holds inside em, I reckon anyway. Fear of death too I guess.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 4/ 17