Reviews for Jesus Christ Lyrics

Performed by Brand New

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 8/ 17
Add Your New Review About The Song

a | Reviewer: billy | 2/11/08

i agree with tara this song is definitly about jesus look at the album title, but its not just about jesus its also about his feelings on death and what comes after hes just asking questions because he is confused like everyone is.

Yes it is! | Reviewer: Tara | 1/31/08

If you honestly believe this song is not really about Jesus Christ you are close-minded and not listening to the lyrics at all, nor have you read the bible. Rev 16:15 "Behold, I am coming like a thief" -Jesus

Milstone is the same.

The album is called The Devil and God are Raging Inside Me.

How can anyone think this is not a spiritual album? Although I will not go as far to say they are a "Christian band" or put out christian music, I just think he's honest with whats going on inside of him. And people can't handle that so they make up laime excuses why it can't be about God.

Matt | Reviewer: Matt Griffin | 1/27/08

Who cares what the songs about or what the song pertains to it is music which is Gods gift regardless and personlly i wouldnt find this as a christian rock song but just a wonderful song and with any type of music nothing matters and yet everything does at the same time because music TRUE music or TRUE listeners only need the slightest note the slightest riff for them to see the spiritual side of anything in other words i win

... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/21/08

The song is amazing. Religion is something completely based on Faith and hope alone no facts what so ever. This song isn't anything about Jesus at all, ever hear of anything called metaphors? Yeah the ending of the song talks about Jesus, but do you realize what they're really saying? He wants a sign for when he's going to die. He asking how he's going to die and what it's going to be like and how the end really happens if there is a true end. All songs are picked apart and mean something different to everyone.

jesus christ | Reviewer: gabe | 1/17/08

i think Sara has it right. Jesus came for the sick and the sinner and died for all of our sins. furthermore, everytime we sin its the same as if we nailed him on that cross, but jesus came so we wouldnt have to die for our sins. Thank you Lord for your sacrafice and for this beautiful song we can sing in rememberance of everything you went through for us, saved and sinner alike. Amen

My opinion | Reviewer: Robert | 1/15/08

In my humble opinion I think it cant be about anything other than spiritual. The whole album is about spiritual matters, when taking the other songs into account. Even the title "The Devil & God are Raging Inside Me". Its a typical struggle of life, love & the struggle of what happens after you die. While it may contain things about love, I think it is much higher ideal, liking needing to be loved, liked. Again, only opinion.

pfffffff | Reviewer: cornelius | 1/13/08

religion is just a game of numbers anyway. and the source of wars and misunderstanding, hence this long list of posts. hey i got an idea, let's just label everything and fight about it. i sent this link the the band and they're probably laughing at you guys right now.

Libby | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/12/08

This has probably all been said before, but... I think the song has double meanings. Supposedly, he wrote it after a relationship went bad. "That's a pretty face, the kind you'd find on someone that could save"--I believe he could be addressing either the girl, or Jesus, and as the song goes on, it seems he's leaning more towards Christ before pulling away to say, 'I've betrayed you once--what makes you think I won't do it again?'

He feels like he's alone now, and realizes that this is a serious problem that isn't going to go away overnight or fix itself-- "What did you do those three days you were dead? Cause this problem's gonna last more than the weekend."

Then on the subject of death, he says he's not afraid to die, but he's worried about the after, making all these allusions to biblical deaths before saying, 'because I'm not really good enough.' --> "My bright is too slight to hold back all my dark"

It's like he sees himself as a Judas, and he's worried that when Jesus comes back around, he'll freak and betray him, denouncing him, and he obviously doesn't want that to happen, opting to prepare himself. But then he realizes that pretty much everyone is just like him--everyone has their own sins they carry. "We've all got wood and nails" And I think the machine is the human body.

That's my interpretation, at least.

You're a Joke | Reviewer: Janine | 1/11/08

"First of all for the moron Janine that posted the bullshit about an "allusion" it's actually "Illusion". So maybe you should look it up for yourself before you try and post something of that nature. Second Chelseaaaa you’re a fucking idiot if you knew anything about literature then you'd know that’s anything read or written has more then one meaning, maybe not to you, but to intellectual people. It's people like you that I want to punch in the face. "Oh he said god! He’s a religion fanatic, it's all about religion". If you’re so hung up on this "religious song" then go listen to some "jars of clay" or something."

First of all, that moron Chris, open a fucking dictionary.
Illusion: something with deceptive appearance: something that deceives the senses or mind, e.g. by appearing to exist when it does not or appearing to be one thing when it is in fact another
Allusion: an indirect reference to somebody or something

and you're wrong. there can be one meaning to a song. if an author intends for his poem mean apples, then it means apples. but there are different interpretations of it. you idiot and that's what people are talking about. pay attention next time dickface. it's people like you that i think should just die.

ummmm | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/10/08

stop arguing over lyrics guys i think thats kinda immature lol
everyone has different opinions isnt that what lyrics are for? its what makes u feel good and what u think about it that makes it a good song?
so lets just accept that everyone has different opinions and be happy yay

To the imbecile below me | Reviewer: Chris L | 1/11/08

It is no great secret that Jesse Lacey has had conflict with his religious upbringing and constantly used his lyrics to explain his personal struggle in understanding God. No use getting all worked up if you're too ignorant to know what you're talking about.

Also, do me a favor and look up the definition of 'illusion,' and then look up the definition of 'allusion.'The Janine poster was correct, you are infinitely stupid.

Now do me an even bigger favor, take a deep breath.

Now exhale.

Permanently.

Jesus Christ | Reviewer: Sara | 1/10/08

We'll I think that it's pretty crazy and dumb how everyone is arguing on here about the lyrics being about God or not. This song has so many biblical statments in it it's really ignorant not to admit this song has some spiritual meaning. I think those who don't believe in God are mad that such a great powerful song can be about ones spirituality.

The artist sings of Jesus christ's face being found on someone who can save (Jesus died to save us from our sins)
I will die alone, when arive I won't know anyone( this implys the kind of people who the artist has been around all his life and he recognizes himself as a sinner who would feel out of place in heaven he went to heaven after his death)
Then the artist asks Jesus what he did the 3 days he was dead ( christains believe that before Jesus came back to the earth as a living spirit rose from the dead he spent 3 day in heaven or hell (depends on the denomination)
Then the artist asks if when he dies will thomas ask to see his hands ( Thomas was one of Jesus's followers who doubted Jesus's return from the grave until he asked Jesus to see his hands. Thomas needed to see Jesus's marks from the nails)
Then the artist tells Jesus "I know you thik I'm someone you can trust, but, I'm scared I'll get scared ans I swear I'll try to nail you back up"
( The artist is telling Jesus I know you think I'm good bacause you love me and died for me but, I'm a sinner and I'll put you back on the cross with the many sins I have sinned and for the ones I will sin in the future. Humans are sinners even if you are a christain)
"Do you think we can work out a sign"
( this line the artist is asking Jesus that when Jesus comes to earth again can they have a sign so he will know it's Jesus at his door and he will not try ot hide)
"I know you come for the people like me but, we all got wood and nails ...."
( In this last verse the artist is telling Jesus he knows Jesus comes for people like him...regular people..people who have sinned)
"we all have wood and nails etc"
( the cross which Jesus was nailed was a wooded cross and the nails were a symbol/punishment of the worlds sin being driven through Jesus to take sin away from the world. "We all have wood and nails" simply inplys that we all have sin which in the end makes our bodies/this world a "hate factory")
This song is no way about a lover, I think that's really nuts. I think music is expression so everyone has the right to free interpertation but, don't ignore the obvious. This song is simply about a person's confusion about what happens after death and knowing about God but, having unanswered questions about God.


A few statements. | Reviewer: Darin | 1/11/08

First of all to Chris...I hate to burst your bubble, but Janine was right when she used allusion. She was saying that Jesse is alluding (look it up) to something other than what a listener or reader might initially think when they hear this song. Here's the thing with this song, I can kind of understand how people can try to perceive it as not a "religious" song, but I feel that the evidence is overwhelmingly in favor of it being just that. First of all the song is called "Jesus Christ" and it specifically references Jesus and addresses concerns that Jesse may have about death. All the people who say that those of us who believe this are narrow-minded have no right to say that. The problem is atheists, or people who may not agree with Jesse's views in this song become upset because they love Brand New so much they can't fathom that Jesse may actually have religious beliefs. Just because I believe in God and heaven and that the only way I can get to heaven is through that belief in God doesn't give me any right to hate on bands like Bad Religion. In fact I enjoy Bad Religion's music and I'm not so narrow-minded that I'm going to look up there lyrics and yell at people who say that they think the lyrics are about there disdain for the church and everything it stands for. I am allowed to not agree with someone, but it doesn't give me the right to hate them. My final thought on this song is with all the biblical references and the name, it clearly has a religious overtone to it. It is beautifully written and one of my favorite things about it is Jesse asks questions that I feel most "religious" and non-religious people struggle with a lot. Whether you believe he has a religious background or not this song can speak to everyone because I think we all at some point or another have questions about what happens when we die.

Idiots | Reviewer: Chris | 1/8/08

First of all for the moron Janine that posted the bullshit about an "allusion" it's actually "Illusion". So maybe you should look it up for yourself before you try and post something of that nature. Second Chelseaaaa you’re a fucking idiot if you knew anything about literature then you'd know that’s anything read or written has more then one meaning, maybe not to you, but to intellectual people. It's people like you that I want to punch in the face. "Oh he said god! He’s a religion fanatic, it's all about religion". If you’re so hung up on this "religious song" then go listen to some "jars of clay" or something.

Why so angry about such a precious topic | Reviewer: Rob | 1/7/08

Why are some of you cursing and then breathing/speaking Gods name? If someone believes the meaning to be one thing that you differ with, let them.
James 1: 26 says: If any man among you seem to be religious, and bridleth not his tongue, but deceiveth his own heart, this man's religion is vain.
There are several other verses that speak of not cursing. Christ was never angered by non-believers. NEVER! His anger was always at the religous people who had contempt and no patience for non-belivers. In the spirit of Christ let us show the kind of pateince and love that Christ demands of us.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 8/ 17