Reviews for That Little Boy Of Mine Lyrics

Performed by Bonnie Owens

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 2/ 4
Add Your New Review About The Song

i cant believe i found this song!!! | Reviewer: daughter of a gulf war vet. | 2/27/11

In 1990/1991 my mother fought in desert storm/gulf war and the very few things I remember about that time since I was not even 5 yrs old yet was her sending me and my brother tapes of her singing this song to us and I totally thought she made it up. And now I'm startin a family of my own and I can't wait to sing this to my child. And what's even funnier my mom meet boonie owens once in bakersfield, ca where my mom was born and raised. She can't remember if it was before or after the song came out.. my mom is dying of cancer and dementia now.

That Little Girl Of Mine | Reviewer: Linda S. | 2/12/11

My Mom changed it to That Little Girl of Mine. I remember so well when I was little and she sang it to me. I thought she had the voice of an Angel. She might have sung it to my brothers too, I don't know. But I always thought it was called That Little Girl of Mine. Mom went to be with Jesus in 2007. I miss her so much. Lost my Dad just before Christmas 2010. Ahh, the circle of life. Miss them so much!

Alternate Intro | Reviewer: Lily | 2/11/11

My Mom sang this to my brother when we were small. Most of what she sang is covered either in the top lyrics or by one of the other reviewers. Haven't seen her intro yet though. "I dreamed about a castle, twas high up in the sky, and in a little cradle my dreams I realised." Then of course into the tiny turned up nose, etc. I hope to sing this to a stepgrandchild someday soon. :)

That Little Girl Of Mine | Reviewer: Rebecca | 8/17/10

I love this song. My aunt used to sing it to all of us when we were little. I sang it to my neice and to my daughter as they were small. My 6 year old still likes for me to sing it to her every night. We sing "A tiny turned up nose, two cheekss just like a rose. So sweet from head to toes, that little girl of mine. Two eyes that shine so bright, two lips that kiss goodnight, two arms that hold me tight, that little girl of mine. Noone will ever know, just what your coming has meant, because I love you so, you're something Heaven has sent. You climb upon my knee, you mean the world to me. To me you'll always be, that little girl of mine. :)

That Little Boy of mine | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/21/10

My Husband's Mother sang this song to him and his brother.Sshe taught it to me when my first child was born and I sang it to my children, grandchildren and great grands. She died in 1980 at 81 years old. These are the Lyrics as I remember them to be: A tiny turned up nose, two cheeks just like a rose, so sweet from head to toe, that little boy/girl of mine. Two arms to hold me tight two lips to kiss good night, two eyes that shine so bright, that little boy/girl of mine. No one will ever know what his/her coming has meant,because I love him/her so, he/she is something heaven has sent He/she is all the world to me as he/she sits upon my knee. To me he/she will always be, that little boy/girl of mine.

That little Boy of Mine | Reviewer: Mary B | 5/2/10

My mother in law sang this song to my children, She called it That Little Girl of Mine. Now my children sing it to their children. And their children sing it to their children, which are my Greatgrand children. Isn't that beautiful?

That little boy of mine | Reviewer: J Foster | 8/11/09

My Mom sang this to all the grand kids, as did I, my sister said that Mom told her she sang it to us when we were small. Who did write it? Our version: A tiny little turned up nose, two cheeks just like a little rose, so sweet from head to toes, that little boy/or girl of mine. No one will ever know just what your coming has meant, because we love you so, you're something Heaven has sent, you climb up on my knee, so soft and tenderly, you're all this world to me, that little boy/or girl of mine. Two little arms that hold me tight, two little lips that kiss goodnight, two little eyes that shine so bright, that little boy/or girl of mine.

Wow..... | Reviewer: Chris | 8/1/09

I, too, thought that my mom made this up. I remember her singing it to my children when they were born and I continued singing it to each of them. I recently taught it to my neighbor who has two little girls. It brought back many fond memories. It made me miss my mom who died in 2006 at the age of 91 and helped me feel close to her at the same time...
Thank you.

Memories | Reviewer: Deb Weinfurter | 6/29/09

My Mother sang this to my brothers and me and then my sons and daughter. I didn't know if it was a real song or something she just made up and sang. She passed away in Feb of 2008, just missing her two Great Grandaughters, one of which was named Rosalie, after her. I now sing it to my Grandaughters.

Childhood memories | Reviewer: Joseph M. | 5/9/09

My mom used to sing this to me, substituting "My little Joey Boy" for that little boy of mine...She is now departed and sometimes I tear up a little when I read these lyrics and think about our past, especially with Mothers Day tomorrow...But I truly enjoy reading all the other comments, it kind of bonds us all with our Moms and Dads and those wonderful memories of the past, doesnt it?

THANK YOU! This song means so much to me! | Reviewer: lori | 3/2/09

It is so wonderful to see how many people share this tradition. I too thought it was only my family that did this. My grandmother sang this to me and my mom, the girl version of course. My mom, not being much of a singer, didn't sing it much. When I found out I was having a baby girl my aunt called and sang it to me. I have always wanted the lyrics so that I could share the song with my daughter (now 1 1/2). THANK YOU so much for sharing these lyrics! The tradition will be carried on!

family traditions | Reviewer: Michele | 12/24/08

My mom (now 92 years old) sang this song to me (changing the lyrics to little girl of mine) when I was little, I sang it to my daughter and she now sings it to her three little girls. It has been very special to all of us for at least 52 years!!!! I know that my granddaughters will pass the tradition down to their children


Dad to many boys | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/2/08

My best friend died in 1963 at age 10 of Cystic Fibrosis. This song was sung at his funeral. The words never left my mind or heart and having been a registered nurse for a great deal of my life and encountering the grief of parents and family members when their child succumbed to illness or injury, it was always comforting to them when I would present them with a specially printed, framed copy of this song (no copyright infringement). The lyrics to this song are timeless and appropriate for any generation, past, present or future, and they cannot help but touch the heart of anyone who has been, still is, or is yet to be, a parent.
Bryan M.
West Jordan, UT

Passed on from my mother to her children and grandchildren | Reviewer: Sherill | 11/11/08

Our mom sang this song to us when we were babies and she inserted "little girl" fo her daughters. She also sang this song to her grandchildren and great-grandchildren. She went to be with the Lord on October 15, 2008. She was 95 years old. She has also passed on many other songs that we have passed on to our children. She always had a song in her heart. I miss you, Mom, but thanks for all your love and the wonderful memories.

Should be taught to any parent of a son!!!!!! | Reviewer: tom ungaro | 10/19/08

My grandmother taught me this song 40 years ago. I learned how to play it on the piano years later and shared it with my two sons.
With the unfortunate passing of my 19 month old nephew, we used this song on the back of his mass cards, rather than a prayer or epithath. It was hard to get people to stop talking about it at the service, quite amazing and it helped throughout the tragedy.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 2/ 4