Reviews for Bobby Bare



By Pages:   1    2    Current page No. 2/ 2
Add New Review About The Artist

Old Friend | Reviewer: Leon Turner | 1/26/09

Bobby and I were friends in tbe early 60's he produced a recording on me called "Leavin' Town" in 1962 Bobby wrote the song and Waylon Jennings covered the song in 1966, Bobby is a great artist and song writer and has always been willing to help someone out, any way he could.

Song I Wrote For Bare | Reviewer: Lathan Hudson | 7/27/08

I had written this song for Bobby Bare titled LEAVING LOVE ALL OVER THE PLACE but the last verse deals (humorously) with death and my wanting to play it for Bare coincided with his daughter's loss of life.
I took it to Don Gant at TREE Publishers and Don played it for Billy Sherrill who recorded it on GEORGE JONES. It was the "B" Side of a Bob McDill song titled I'LL JUST TAKE IT OUT IN LOVE which was on the BARTENDER BLUES Album. I always regret that I didn't get to pitch the song for Bobby Bare because it was 'taylor-made' for Bobby. I am a Bobby Bare fan and always will be...Lathan Hudson

The Streets Of Baltimore | Reviewer: Bobby Williams | 1/21/08

This is probably without a doubt his best work.I find it hard to believe it isn't available on CD. Although I've made copies from the L.P., it just isn't the same as a true digital copy without all the hiss etc.The L.P. tell a story of sorts

Bare's Picks | Reviewer: Bill Parker | 11/2/07

I have the Bobby Bare CD "The Columbia Years--Bare's Picks" and play it over and over. It never seems to get old. The varied selections, ranging from "New Cut Road" to "Numbers" are as fresh today as they were when they first came out. In between are some classic songs that bring back memories of my days as a young picker and a dreamer. I particularly like the song that begins with, "Me and Jimmy Rogers..." It's the quintessential day dreamer's song that immediately transports us back to our adolescent years, back to times when we were shooting imaginary hoops in imaginary games while imaginary crowds roared their approval. Bare's voice and presentation of the material create the perfect mood for these stories. What a great CD and what a great artist.

good memories | Reviewer: bill riley | 10/8/07

i am 72 years old been listing to bobby bare for a long time i like all american boy and just love marie laveau millers cave is high on my list i wish him the best oh i did meet dave dudley on a show in indianapolis years ago and he said him and bare had some great times together he spoke very highly of him i wish bobby bare the very best and ..ps im still pickin and a grinnin god bless still hoping to meet you some day bill riley

The Great Bobby Bare | Reviewer: James Bentley | 9/30/07

What more can be said of this Great Singer/songwriter. I have been a fan of Bare's music since 1964. I have an I-pod with 455 of his songs on it. I play it all the time. He is the best of the best. I too was a Hank Williams fan. But since discovering Bare, rarely listen to him. I wish Bare would make a great comeback, all his fans miss him. The wife and I have attended several of his concerts and will attend more. We go to his concerts if they are within a days drive of our house. Return home the following day. I met him in his wifes shop in Nashville during the 1991 Fan Fair. Bobby is simply THE GREATEST.

THE CABBIE AND BARE | Reviewer: FRED LASLETT | 12/30/05

I MET BOBBY MENY YEARS AGO, IAM A LONDON TAXI DRIVER AND AT THE TIME I WAS DOING SOME WORK FOR THE BBC COUNTRY SHOW FOR THE WEMBLEY FESTIFUL.I WAS ALREADY A BIG FAN OF HIS MUSIC,AND HAVING SPENT TIME WITH HIM [TAKING HIM TO GIGS ECT}IM PROUD TO SAY WE HAVE REMAINED FRIENDS OVER 30 YEARS. OFF ALL COUNTRY STARS I MET WORKING THE TAXI FOR THE BBC BOBBY WILL ALWAYS REMAIN NO 1.HE IS A GREAT COUNTRY SINGER,AND MAYBE JUST AS IMPORTENT A GREAT AMBASSADOR FOR THE USA AND HIS MUSIC.

The very first outlaw | Reviewer: Doclee | 9/15/05

Bobby Bare is the most underrated artist I have known. He is first to bring out a concept album. "Bird Named Yesterday" is undoubtedly the first although some regard his very successful album “Lullaby Legends & lies” as the first. He is also the first to gain control in the production of his music and should be regarded as the very first “outlaw” but was never being recognized as such.
Bare is very versatile and keep producing songs to meet the demand of the time. However, undoubtedly, his most appreciated talent is his ability to create the right emotion to a song. I personally still find his earlier RCA releases his best and have never got tired of listening to them. They are soulful country songs done with feelings and emotion and yet not overdone.
He has now just released a new CD "The Moon is Blue" produced by his son Bare Jr after so many years of absent. I hope he will gain the high popularity and respect he so deserve.


Add New Review About The Artist

By Pages:   1    2    Current page No. 2/ 2