Billy Joel = Genius | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/16/08

feckle u are a complete idiot this song is probably one of the most well thought and well written songs ever sung, if u don't like this song u are retarded, and have no appreciation for good music Joel is a genius and u are a moron

The most profound song written to date | Reviewer: FLOYD THOMAS TURTLE | 3/28/08

If my memory serves me correctly, I first heard this song almost exactly 20 years ago, in March or April of 1988. It is my understanding that Billy
Joel wanted to be a history teacher, not a singer. If you are intellectually inclined...print the lyrics and spend a day or two doing a Google search for each and every name and/or event that he wrote/sang about. You'll be more well-rounded, if you can carry on a conversation about the multitude of subjects that he mentions. If you do, you will realize that Billy Joel not only knows his history...but he has TAUGHT US ALL many, many history lessons.
Anyone who doesn't realize that Billy Joel is a genius...has alot to learn.

The most profound song written to date | Reviewer: FLOYD THOMAS TURTLE | 3/29/08

If my memory serves me correctly, I first heard this song almost exactly 20 years ago, in March or April of 1988. It is my understanding that Billy
Joel wanted to be a history teacher, not a singer. If you are intellectually inclined...print the lyrics and spend a day or two doing a Google search for each and every name and/or event that he wrote/sang about. You'll be more well-rounded, if you can carry on a conversation about the multitude of subjects that he mentions. If you do, you will realize that Billy Joel not only knows his history...but he has TAUGHT US ALL many, many history lessons.
Anyone who doesn't realize that Billy Joel is a genius...has alot to learn.

billjoelfan | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/25/08

to Feckle... this is not just random nonsense that just popped into his head.. this song is about the cold war and everything that is mentioned is not only important factors of global and U.S. history, but its in chronological order... billy joel is a genius<3

hi... | Reviewer: maria | 3/23/08

ppl... i thnk tht ure a lttle..... stupid... i mean, frst of all, i thnk tht ths sng is extrmly good... but.. its NOT MADE FOR DANCIING!! u can't dance thiis! i mean.. when i read tht i just thought that u have about... 45 yrs old! and i imagiine u dancing and it was a little disgostng... i'm sorry.... its a nce sng but not that much...

Long live Billy Joel <3 | Reviewer: alex | 2/27/08

Billy Joel is a complete GENIUS! Not only is this song an incredible teaching tool, a songwriters heaven, the soundtrack to history (and my life), contrevertial, but it is utterly and incredibly well put together. Billy Joel was the one genious that could talk dashes of history, pinches of celeberties and some of the most important and unknown events in history, and combine them into a brilliant rhyming masterpiece. Those who aren't thankful for this catchy song, thats your loss. I congratulate Joel for his clever mind and enthusiastic ways of sining. Long live the fire!!

hate this song | Reviewer: Feckle | 2/22/08

I hate this song. It's just a list of different things that popped into stupid Billy Joel's soggy brain. He's so stupid. I can't believe anyone likes him or this extremely horrible excuse for a song.

love this song | Reviewer: Emily | 1/21/08

I love this song, every time I sing I'm like "we didn't start the fire" and the chorus part, i can never remember the other lyrics. Anyway I love the song, its great for dancing, I love it!!!!!!!!

best song ever | Reviewer: vashton kingsly | 1/11/08

This song is fricken great. also as one of the few and proud who have memorized the lyrics i can personally say it works great if your trying to win a talent show, just make a slide show with pictures of some of the things in the song. over all this song is perfect, although..... billy joel's and elton john's PIANO MAN was much better LONG LIVE CLASSIC ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Muhammad Ali? | Reviewer: Andijaya | 1/3/08

I first heard this song when I was only 12. At that time really has no idea this song about. After understand the lyric, I became in love with this song. Only one question for Joel, since he mentioning many boxer name at his time, I wonder where did Muhammad Ali at that time?

billy joel and his brain | Reviewer: lionel nieves | 12/18/07

billy joel made the most awesome song ever! the truth is that in order to do something like what he did and make it MEAN something is great. i liked the song a lot.

WE DIDN'T START THE FIRE!!! | Reviewer: Summer Poff | 11/26/07

This song is awsome i love how it goes from year to year telling important people and events my music teacher played it 4 us in class it ROCKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
(I love th part were it says AIDS and CRACK!!!!!!)

HoD | Reviewer: cc | 11/22/07

<<"Belgians in the Congo"?? WTF is THAT?! First, we didn't do NOTHING, second, France & moreover ENGLAND were TEN times WORSE, in their colonies!!!!>>

ever read "Heart of Darkness"? Leopold treated the Congo as his own fucking resource machine.

? | Reviewer: jis | 11/13/07

"Belgians in the Congo"?? WTF is THAT?! First, we didn't do NOTHING, second, France & moreover ENGLAND were TEN times WORSE, in their colonies!!!!

Language Arts | Reviewer: Berry | 11/7/07

I use this song while teaching a dramatic adaptation of The Diary of Ann Frank. A line from the play written years before Billy Joel wrote this song mirrors his refrain. "We weren't around when all this started! So don't try to take it out on us!" Imagine, a young person in hiding fom the Nazi regime in 1944 expressing the same frustration we all feel about society's impact on our personal life. Isn't that expresion in songs, plays, and literature what it's all about any way? We NEED express our frustrations in music, literature, poetry, and art to learn our history so we DON'T repeat it, as Joel so eloquently points out when he repeats "we tried to fight it!"