Reviews for We Didn't Start The Fire Lyrics

Performed by Billy Joel

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    Current page No. 4/ 8
Add Your New Review About The Song

emily kate boys | Reviewer: emily kate boys | 8/11/09

MR SMART,
It seems to me that since you know as much about your spelling as you do about anything to do with music and a little thing called "hypacritical comments", i would strongly advise that before you go shooting people down for having a (deserved,nonjudgemental, personal) opinion, you should really reobserve your own literature. Because, as you spent the first 5 lines of your statement saying that "Anonymous" was being biast and then finished the 5th line with,"that was theyr preference", followed by another 9 lines stating exacly why Billy Joel was better than REM, wouldnt that be stating your preference... sir?
Now... I just came on here because i was looking up the lyrics because im assisting a young man with his homework. And to find this bullshit on here is absolutely disgusting. Slagging someone for having an opinion is so wrong, and you really feel embarrassed for putting your name to such an angry, hate filled, non truthful, unfactful piece of writting. This is a forum for people to ask questions, answer questions, find out information, give information, and to generally chat about anything to do with Billy Joel or associated with.
Different people have different opinions Mr Smart, and a negative approach to someones opinion is a direct attack towards their self esteem, confidence, self worth, and to anything they ever believed in, not to mention ever having the courage to speak out about anything again.
So next time you have something to say that if said to you would make you feel uncomfortable, dont say it at all.
Whether your opinion be right or wrong, everyone has the right to one!!

0486254835
call me for a good time.

tarni jade rigby | Reviewer: tarni jade rigby | 8/5/09


It's The End Of The World As We Know It... | Reviewer: Michael | 4/14/09

...by R.E.M. came out in 1987. This song came out in 1989. Coincidence?

All you idiots saying 'did REM even exist then' need to learn your musical history, learn how to use google, and learn how to shut the hell up before you open your mouth's and prove your ignorance. This song is an obvious rip-off.

Billy Joel is, was and always will be a hack. If he's not ripping off R.E.M., it's Dylan, the Beatles or early Doo-Wop. He should stick to what he's good at - i.e. bedding his daughter's friends.

Later peeps!

0416847395

WOW | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/18/09

In the end Billy wins, he wrote a song about a controversial time and look what's happened.
It's not a good song unless you've got people arguing for and against it. Why compare these two? Both are great in their own right. Just enjoy what we have taken from them.

Krissy | Reviewer: The Zombie | 7/1/09

It's awesome to read about a kid your age so into music. A teacher at my ex girlfriends school used this song to teach about all these things. I'm 35, and most of these things are before my time also. Here is a cool website that is devoted to this song. http://www.teacheroz.com/fire.htm Now as far as these people arguing about what band is better, it's all subjective. Don't waste your time. It's a great song. Very clever, upbeat, and well written. Later...

i love it!! | Reviewer: krissy | 6/30/09

i just finished memorizing this song moments ago, and i love it. im only twelve, so i havent heard of alot of these things, but some of them i have. take the british beatlemania, i got there poster this weekend, and its on my wall! this song at first just seemed like a bunch of words, but then one of my friends memorized it and told me about it, i got interested, and about a month later i memorized this song! i think billy joel is a genious. this song will live on for a really long time, and un-like my mom, i WONT get tired of this song.

Wow | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/22/09

Wow, I can't even believe that someone would try and compare REM to Billy Joel. No contest, the real talent is Billy Joel. Sorry, man, but you need to be cultured. REM has a few good songs, but is nothing like Billy Joel.

annoyed lyrics browser!! | Reviewer: Paisley LaVerne | 6/6/09

MR SMART,
It seems to me that since you know as much about your spelling as you do about anything to do with music and a little thing called "hypacritical comments", i would strongly advise that before you go shooting people down for having a (deserved,nonjudgemental, personal) opinion, you should really reobserve your own literature. Because, as you spent the first 5 lines of your statement saying that "Anonymous" was being biast and then finished the 5th line with,"that was theyr preference", followed by another 9 lines stating exacly why Billy Joel was better than REM, wouldnt that be stating your preference... sir?
Now... I just came on here because i was looking up the lyrics because im assisting a young man with his homework. And to find this bullshit on here is absolutely disgusting. Slagging someone for having an opinion is so wrong, and you really feel embarrassed for putting your name to such an angry, hate filled, non truthful, unfactful piece of writting. This is a forum for people to ask questions, answer questions, find out information, give information, and to generally chat about anything to do with Billy Joel or associated with.
Different people have different opinions Mr Smart, and a negative approach to someones opinion is a direct attack towards their self esteem, confidence, self worth, and to anything they ever believed in, not to mention ever having the courage to speak out about anything again.
So next time you have something to say that if said to you would make you feel uncomfortable, dont say it at all.
Whether your opinion be right or wrong, everyone has the right to one!!

Paisley

You don't know talent | Reviewer: John Smart | 5/28/09

Well, Anonymous, I don't think you've ever heard heard Billy Joel play the piano, but since you know so little about music I don't suppose you know what a piano is. Let's look at the facts: Joel wrote all his songs himself, he's a fantastic singer, and fantastic piano player. REM are a band. It takes several of them to write some simple ass songs, and they can play simple stuff on their stereotypical instruments. You're just stating preference, not technical proficiency. Billy Joel wrote more than the 15 songs of his you've heard on the radio; and as you said, anyone who knoes "real music" knows that any song that becomes a hit on the radio isn't worth an atistic ****.

Also, Billy Joel didn't knock anyone off, he wrote original songs in an existant style; THAT'S HOW THE MUSIC INDUSTRY HAS ALWAYS WORKED YOU IDIOTS, and REM didn't revolutionise anything either. When he wrote "the longest time", i don't think anyone in the world thought he invented doo-wop, but he created something new from a 30 year dead genre, surely that's worth something.

B.J. < REM | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/21/09

I don't really care whether Joel ripped REM off. What I do care about is people saying Billy Joel is BETTER than REM, which, if you know real music, is a JOKE. Joel makes trashy pop, while REM makes REAL music, hit up the album Murmur on Youtube. Radio Free Europe > We Didn't Start the Fire. REM > Billy Joel.

meaning of the song | Reviewer: history kid | 5/15/09

alright look i learned about this song in history TODAY!!! and Billy Joel wrote this song about the Cold War chronologically by HIS LIFE! he went thru his life and put in important facts and things like that that had happend up to the time he wrote the song. Like the person above im also doing a report on the song because of its ties with the Cold War so idk who R.E.M. is but this was no ripoff. GO BILLY JOEL THIS SONG IS AWESOME!!!!!!!

Great Song | Reviewer: Summer | 5/9/09

Excuse me, but R.E.M. isn't even half as talented as Billy Joel and they'll be lucky to have even 1/4 the talent that BIlly Joel has. R.E.M.'s song :The End of The World as we Know it" is about, well, the end of the world. This song is about history, so how could you even see a resemblance between the two? And how in the world has Billy Joel ripped off the Beatles, Dylan, OR Doo-Wop, Michael? Please explain it, because I think there's something I'm missing here

It's The End Of The World As We Know It... | Reviewer: Michael | 4/14/09

...by R.E.M. came out in 1987. This song came out in 1989. Coincidence?

All you idiots saying 'did REM even exist then' need to learn your musical history, learn how to use google, and learn how to shut the hell up before you open your mouth's and prove your ignorance. This song is an obvious rip-off.

Billy Joel is, was and always will be a hack. If he's not ripping off R.E.M., it's Dylan, the Beatles or early Doo-Wop. He should stick to what he's good at - i.e. bedding his daughter's friends.

Later peeps!

actually... | Reviewer: ima nerd | 4/10/09

my history teacher is making us do a project on this song where we have to make our own and learn a lil about the song itself.
billy joel wrote the lyrics to the song before he did the music.
the reason he did the song was because he'd always been intrested in history and was planning on becoming a history teacher before he got a break in music. one day, a kid said he felt bad for all the "old people" because nothing happened in their life time.
this was kinda his was of telling the kid to shut up i guess. lol.
it was billy joels 3rd billboard hit. just b happy for him, guys!

oh please | Reviewer: hannah bville | 3/9/09

don't compare REM to joel. obviously chronological order doesn't matter, it's the words sticking to the beat. billy joel has a greater more broad perception of the world, and REM sounds like they were doing it just to be apart of the majority. don't compare classy with trashy, i love you billy! and anyone that's here to bag on this song, bag your head, you should die of embaressment.

you guys are so dense!!!!! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/3/09

in this song billy joel is not refering to the band REM. he is talking about an event that happened in history...during the 20th century to be exact. while writing this song billy joel could really care less about another band, especially one as unimportant as that one.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    Current page No. 4/ 8