Reviews for The Downeaster "Alexa" Lyrics

Performed by Billy Joel

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    Current page No. 2/ 5
Add Your New Review About The Song

No, no, no | Reviewer: Larry | 2/13/13

It's amazing how people don't have a single clue about this song.

A downeaster is a fishing boat used to fish off New England, especially maine (hence the name Downeaster, get it?), but often used in other areas as well. It is not usually wooden (but can be) and certainly not a product on the 19th century. It has a cabin with a galley and bunkbeds, and is usually around 30-40 feet long.

The stripers are of course not striped marlin as there has never been a fishing restriction on those -- they are striped bass. Striper is a nickname for striped bass, NO ONE calls striped marlin "stripers." Stripers were severely overfished in the 80s fishing of stripers was sharply restricted as a conservation effort, which is what the song refers to.

The giants in the canyons refers to the huge waves in the ocean, not to tuna! Ridiculous! He's saying that you have to be vigiliant at the helm of your ship because of the extreme nature of the sea.

Threads like these really remind me how low many IQs are....

Just a note from a local boater. | Reviewer: James of LI | 1/8/13

To correct Jason and then to correct the people critiquing him, because I am a know it all too. A downeaster is a popular fishing boat often used in small scale commercial operations on Long Island and a lot of other places. They are just a rugged all purpose boat, usually around 35'. They are made of fiberglass, not wood. The "stripers" he is referring to are striped bass. I don't think we have "striped marlin" around here, even in the canyons. I could see how this song might confuse people who aren't familiar with Long Island, but every place he mentions from the bell in gardiner's bay to the Atlantis canyon, are real places.

regulation | Reviewer: Scott | 1/4/13

I dive the waters of the deep sea. I have seen with mine own eyes the fish you all speak of only but a spear length away. You will only see such a sight at depths that may not allow you ever to come back tell your tale.
I now realize I could eat a hole bag of pepperidge farm goldfish right now. WoW

the songs dates | Reviewer: btc | 12/21/12

If you knew anything about commercial fishing Jason you'd know that a down-easter was a 19th century fishing boat made of wood. The down-easter is not used in fishing today. The song is about a time long passed before any restrictions on fishing were in place.

wonderful | Reviewer: Ryan | 9/28/12

I've known this song for years. I don't claim to have ever sailed professionally or even done any fishing except for Mackerel off my uncles dock. But the first time I heard this song it struck me as such a beautiful and powerful piece of music.

The story it tells. The care and hard work that goes into this way of life that is steadily disappearing. Its wonderful and heartbreaking all at once and of all Billy's songs 'The Downeaster Alexa' will always resonate with me as one of the most beautiful.

Trying to school us on stripers? | Reviewer: Michael | 9/28/12

@ Jason. If people didn't commercial fish striped bass, why is there always the threat of banning commercial fisherman from them? Do a little research before you say commercial fishing striped bass is stupid. Striped bass are the new york state marine fish. Pretty sure they were banned in the late 80's early 90's when the song was written. Any bans on striped marlin?

BILLY JOELS-ALEXA LOCATION. | Reviewer: JAMES | 9/24/12

THOUGH I'VE LOVED THIS BEAUTIFUL CLASSIC IN IT'S OWN TIME,

I APPRECIATE EVERY WORD THE LOCALS GAVE US TO EXPLAIN THE SUROUNDING

AREAS, IT ADDS A GREAT DEAL, ALSO WITH THAT FEAR DEEP INSIDE OF PROUD MEN WHOSE LIKELIHOODS ARE NOW BECOMING BUT A MEMORY AS SO MUCH OF OUR WORLD HAS BECOME..WE SURE CAN'T ALL SELL ''SHAM-WOWS '' ON THE NETWORK..
(MY SCRIPTS NOT MEANT TO 'SHOUT?? IT'S SO I CAN SEE IT..)

striped marlin | Reviewer: jason | 9/16/12

The stripers are striped marlin not bass, who the hell commercail fishes bass, thats just stupid. He's a swordfisher not a man on a three day weekend. Also just to say it again the vineyard and atlantis are real places not a metaphor for heaven. He's not dead, just his way of life and the fish that provide it almost are.

listen it to become into a peaceful mind | Reviewer: santhosh | 9/11/12

Yeah really so pleasant song from Billy Joel, Im listening it again and again and again... And his voice too which made me to listen this song more and more...
This song takes me to an Island for a pleasant and peaceful mind...

RE: Giants | Reviewer: Matt | 6/21/12


I believe that "There are giants out there in the canyons
And a good captain can't fall asleep"

The Canyons refers to the Hudson as the northernmost, then the Toms, Lindenkohl, and Spencer Canyons. These are all the local canyons in the North East Atlantic.

The Giants are Giant Tuna - Blue Fin, Big Eye and Yellow Fin Those are the Money Fish

I Fish these waters having grown up on Long Island and fished both north and south shore.

This is a great song one of my Favorites.

Lost in the lyrics | Reviewer: Brandon | 6/11/12

I grew up on Long Island Sound. I have been to every place he sings about in this song. I also spent time on the open ocean in the Navy. I am in no way putting down anyone for their "thoughts " on the verses in the song but as someone that has been to these places, I grasped what he was referring to at once. This song is about the heartache and stress of the small fisherman due to over fishing and government regulations that have all but "killed" the small fishing fleets. If your ever in New England, you will find small fishing boats for sale and even rotting due to not being sold almost anywhere you look. Billy Joel did an amazing job with the words he sings in bringing how every small fisherman feels and lives daily to the public and he did it in a way that anyone can enjoy. Even those that have never been near or on the oceans. Please check into what he is talking about and help save what is left before that heritage is completely gone.

Love it | Reviewer: DaGuru | 5/2/12

I'm not even a sailor but my uncle has been a for a long time. I have been out on the Seas with him several times and I respect the Bonnie Blue. I don't need to "decipher" this song... just as a previous poster said this song will have heart to those that live, work and play on the seas and they will know it's meanings. I absolutely love this song. It's strong kettle drum rhythm is that of an oremans master's cadence on a Nordic vessel. It's a beautiful piece invoking the soul and sound of the sea just in its composition alone not alone it's words... I love it!

Giants | Reviewer: Daguru | 5/2/12

PS...

I believe that "There are giants out there in the canyons
And a good captain can't fall asleep"

Refers to either Ice Berges or Sunken vessels in narrow waters or in canyon inlets.

great song...STOP ANALYZING AND BUY A MAP | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/20/12

The ONLY people who are confused buy the lyrics of this song are obviously NOT from the original 13...THIS is HOME...as a sailor and a New Englander this is one of my favorite karaoke songs...look at a map...its not a code people...the bell is a sailing term...as is troling Atlantis...call Vanna...buy a vowel...get a clue

An accurate picture | Reviewer: MW | 1/28/12

I live 1 mile from where Alexa was built and have been on it with him. I have been to all places referenced in the song. It is a sad story of the lost lives of good people that Joel knows, fishes and drinks with. There are many who have had to stop fishing because thye can no longermake a lliving on the water. Some have retired or swing hammers. Others have sold their east end houses and moved to Maine or the Carolina's.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    Current page No. 2/ 5