Reviews for She's Always A Woman Lyrics

Performed by Billy Joel

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 6/ 12
Add Your New Review About The Song

interpretation | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/11/09

Songs of Joel's caliber are pure art. The beauty of lyrics this poetically good, is that everyone can interpret this as he or she wants. What Joel thought is hardly of the essence. With true art, the individual decides what he sees in it; there is no 'one' explanation. The beauty is, as is seen in most reviews, that everyone sees something different in it.

As so many people like to say, 'this song is about' . I'll do just the same thing.

This song is about more than you can imagine.

ESTHER!! | Reviewer: Becca DeRoest | 11/11/09

lol ok, for those of you who have seen orphan, this will be hilarious!!!!
me and my best friends have been like constantly joking about esther and i looked this song up to post the lyrics on my facebook. well as i was reading it (after talking about esther with my friend) i realized something i never realized of all of the millions of times ive heard this song... its all about esther!!!!
go back over it, its soooo funny!!!! :D

Unconditional Love | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/7/09

I love art because it's open for interpretation. I believe everybody who commented is right because a true artist like Billy Joel understands that art is meant for however the interpreter wants to interpret it. My personal feelings I get from this song is love is not perfection until it's unconditional. This song is the essence of true love!

this one is personal | Reviewer: inlovewiththelyrics | 10/27/09

I personally love the song. Especially recently, because the man I love told me that it reminds him of me. I think the song means, he sees me deeper than any other and that inspite of my flaws he can't resist loving me. That I'm never perfect, but more interesting than that. That I've proved myself, but I never needed to prove anything to him. That when you're in love you have to power to be cruel or kind but that inspite of that power your love is resigned to only one person.

Meaning, simplified | Reviewer: Tommy | 10/27/09

Billy Joel is talking about all women, not just some random woman he's seeing. He bemoans the selfish, narcissistic nature of women. He implies that to be ALL these things is to be a WOMAN. What can you do but accept womankind as-is? Accepting a woman's marginalization at the fringes of her life seems to be preferable to being completely alone, he suggests.

Mourning | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/19/09

I heard this song soon after ending a relationship with a lovely women not long ago and it reminds me so much of her. She was very independent, emotional, feminine, secretive, sharp but sensitive, warm and spiritual. This song will always remind me of her. The melody is beautiful.

sarcasm | Reviewer: alex | 9/29/09

This is about a drunk or junky. She's the baddest person she knows. He was being ironic, this woman is a gold digger, uses and 'loves' you, till you aren't useful. Then she pushes you away saying you abused her, when she's only ever been kind. 'she's always a woman to me', he's quoting her, in sarcasm.

imo | Reviewer: nonnymiss | 9/19/09

This is about a woman who has learned to take care of herself first...which is which all women should do, to never let a man have the upper hand. And this is a man who can't help but respect that because she won't let herself be taken advantage of, which is what any man or person would do if they had the chance. She is really a good person inside, hence the lyrics like "she's frequently kind" and "she's always a woman to me." Yes, he's in love with her, but he loves her because of her "flaws" not in spite of them.

She's nobody's fool | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/16/09

This song is about a man who have found a true love to a woman who is very unique and with a very strong character. A woman who have her own say about the world. I love the part of the song saying "She's nobody's fool" because that is what a woman should be.

Means different things to different people | Reviewer: tmills | 9/6/09

There is no right or wrong as to what this song means. I can understand all of the reviews that I have read. There is no right or wrong. I remember this song as a child and it reminded me and still does of my mother. My mother has a very colorful personality to say the least and in my mind it really was talking about her. She is very strong willed and loves life in manic sort of way :)..

has a lot of meanings depend on your perspective | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/24/09

the first stanza indicates that this woman pretends to be innocent "she hide like a child" but the truth is she is clever she teases you the man is weak and fell with this woman...the following stanza is like a woman who just use man for self pleasure....obviously the man who is talking in this song fell in love with a wrong girl but can't help it coz she is a woman ...
She can lead you to love
She can take you or leave you
She can ask for the truth
But she'll never believe you
And she'll take what you give her, as long as it's free
Yeah, she steals like a thief
But she's always a woman to me it indicates like an oral s#x!
Oh--she takes care of herself
She can wait if she wants
She's ahead of her time
Oh--and she never gives out
And she never gives in
She just changes her mind
actually a woman can wait without sexual life but man can't but they can take care of themselves like mas@#$ba#ing


She's Always A Woman | Reviewer: Heather | 7/9/09

This song is gorgeous in so many ways. Personally, I feel it reflects me and my own personality and it speaks directly to my heart. It describes a woman at her core. Sharp to those she doesn't know or those who may try to hurt her or the ones she loves dearly. Sometimes rougher than necessary with those she loves but continuing to love them nonetheless.

I view this song more as a man talking about the woman he loves to a stranger in terms of what she would be like to the stranger, not just the person she loves. Many of us fiercely love someone not just despite their flaws, but because of them. Simply because she CAN be that way, doesn't mean that's the way she treats him.

Personally, I treat people I don't know with a pile of caution. It takes a long time to get into my "inner circle" and for good reasons. Many women are just like me. We're not a "one size fits all" gender. We treat different people differently based on our experiences and our life lessons.

simple explanation | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/4/09

It's about the world seeing a woman's flaws, but the man who loves her gets all the "good" of her being a woman. Basically, you may see her as a hateful lying bitch, but that's just what she shows to you, what I see is all the woman anyone could ever want.

Delving too deep? | Reviewer: Josh | 6/26/09

I think you all might be looking a little too much into the background of this song. I'm not saying that isn't a clever, thoughtful way of reviewing its content, but this song resonates with me, and I've drawn my own interpretation which is far simpler. In my opinion, at the core of this song lies the fact that the author loves the subject unconditionally, and I think that's what's really important to take away from it. In any kind of relationship, one partner can unwittingly hurt the other through small actions that are easily misinterpreted. Saying that it's a "lousy relationship" is ridiculous, because if any of you have been in a relationship, you probably know that to be true.

The lyrics are powerful and paint a beautiful picture because they are vague: when I hear "carelessly cut" I imagine one partner acting in any way that might make the other second guess his/her true feelings. It's difficult to know someone's real feelings on anything, and the true impact of emotion can't be delivered by saying something like "I love you." Naturally, one or the other often wonders, "am I really loved? How can I truly know?"

Honestly, it bothers me a little that so many of you think of this as sexist, or look into Joel's personal relationships at the time as an indicator of what the song is attempting to communicate. You can never TRULY know the inner workings of an intimate relationship between two people anyway, no matter what you think you know about love. As far as being a responsible partner is concerned, neither he nor she is doing anything wrong by not spending every waking moment thinking about the other, but sometimes, one cannot help but feel "cut" by that.

I think it's a beautiful song that wonderfully depicts the wonder that is unconditional love, and if Joel was swayed by any particular event, if a particular force manipulated his emotions and this song was the result, I doubt you'll be able to read about it on Wikipedia.

What I think... | Reviewer: Serafina | 6/16/09

I think this song is so beautiful! I think it's about a man who loves a woman very much- truly and deeply. She's very independent and very unique, and despite flaws that the world sees, he'll let her be because he loves her.

It's such a haunting song... when I first heard it, I fell in love with it...


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 6/ 12