Reviews for Weak And Powerless Lyrics

Performed by A Perfect Circle

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 2/ 4
Add Your New Review About The Song

Sahran | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/5/11

I agree with megan, the beauty of a creation is to have many possible aspects to look from.
When something is solid and constant it is physics or math not an artwork.
It is obvious this or obvious that, I don't pay attention what it is all about, but I just know this song is something I feel perfect when I listen to it, Isn't that enough for a song?
It is like a picture, we all look differently, there is no need to convince each other here...

? | Reviewer: meg | 4/26/11

Why fight over what the song was written about? Artists make their songs so people can listen, and a good artist to help reach out to help their fans the listening audience cope with something they're going through.... Why does it matter if it's about alcohol, heroin, or a relationship??? Everybody has their own interpretation and their own special meaning of each song, which is why I believe most artists write the songs.... even if your situation isn't EXACTLY such as his... it's about the feelings, and thoughts and going through shit in your life,for whatever reason.

Fools all of you | Reviewer: Megan | 4/26/11

Why fight over what the song was written about? Artists make their songs so people can listen, and a good artist to help reach out to help their fans the listening audience cope with something they're going through.... Why does it matter if it's about alcohol, heroin, or a relationship??? Everybody has their own interpretation and their own special meaning of each song, which is why I believe most artists write the songs.... even if your situation isn't EXACTLY such as his... it's about the feelings, and thoughts and going through shit in your life,for whatever reason.

Need | Reviewer: baalzebub | 4/10/11

For what it's worth, opiate addiction and the first heady stages of love are similar in terms of mental chemistry. The natural opiates of love are just devastating once they disappear as the artificial sort - as anyone who's had a bad breakup will attest.
In both cases, you will do anything to get the old feeling back, even if you come crawling, and your need is humiliating.
While I suspect the addiction is less about a person than a chemical (we are talking about rock stars after all), it doesn't really matter which. This song is about need of the most intense kind.

W R O N G all of YOU! | Reviewer: Angelique | 11/10/10

Ha, I just went to APC concert and Maynard James Keenan the man the myth and legend,personally said this entire album is regarding an addiction to alcohol so now you people can quit bickering among yourselves. :) He made the comment as he received a phone call about his wine (Merken vineyards located in Cali and Az ) received three medals and he commented " Ha, isn't that ironic to receive a phone call about my wine while I'm singing an album regarding an addiction to alcohol?"

Thank You and Good Night!

Tempe Marquee Theater Nov 4,5, and 6th Went to all three concerts!!!! They were all ridiculously AWESOME.

P.S We all are addicted to something in one way or another. Addiction is addiction. To what is inconsequential. Every day, everyone is waging, fighting, winning or losing their own personal war.

Seriously?? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/5/10

Anyone who knows anything can clearly see this song is about a heroin addiction...Some of the reviews on here are so stupid that it made me sick, why don't you read the lyrics...let me break it down for you guys

Tilling my own grave to keep me level
(shooting heroin, slowly killing himself through this addiction, to keep him level meaning he needs this to feel normal.)
Jam another dragon down the hole (referring to sticking the needle into his arm and shooting it up, another dragon as in "chasing the dragon")
Digging to the rhythm and the echo of a solitary siren
One that pushes me along and leaves me so
(again referring to how he needs this, knowing his addiction controls him, he is weak and powerless over it, but he needs the feeling of it to get through another day)

Even after the first few lines its obvious that this song is about a heroin addiction, more specifically shooting heroin.

someone noone knows | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/4/10

i think people should shut their faces and just listen instead of always thinking there is a hidden meaning behind something! just listen and how ever you interpret it is your mind don't try to ruin it for the rest of us who want to hear maynard's beautiful voice and his awsome lyrics

Opiate Addiction.... | Reviewer: JJ | 10/22/10

Look you can interpret a song how ever you see it. I know for a fact this song is about drug addiction. More specifically Opiate addiction (Heroin, Painkillers, ect...) opiates get you mentally and physically addicted. I could go on and interpret ever line, but if you read it and know anyone or have been an opiate addict you would understand.

..... just listen! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/15/10

look, as a song writed myself, i think he is appealing to your own thoughts and ideas.
this is his feelings, and thru this song he is trying to express them.
the fact that people are so self obsest enough to think they know what he is thinking and feeling is stupid.
dont try and understand what he is sing about.
just think of what the song is to you and how it makes you feel.
Maynard is starting to make sense now when he said "he hates tool fans"
get over your self and just enjoy the song for what is is. dont try and find the meaning behind it, coz unless you are Maynard you will never know.

Kyrie | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/14/10

This song is about how powerless we believe we are over the world that we have made for ourselves. It is about our illusions and the duality of the ego that we made when we separated from God. We have made ourselves desperate and powerless because we have tried to replace our Creator and his will in order to obtain an individuality but because we have forgotten where we came from and where our inheritance lies we recycle our unconscious guilt. Our Father waits with open arms for his eternal children to wake from the nightmare that they have made for themselves. We get so lost in the thought that we could actually attack ourselves or others (who are essentially ourselves) that if we had it our way we would have already destroyed ourselves. But this is not the will of God. God made us eternal, powerful, joyful, creators in his likeness. God did not create anything that would cause us discomfort...as much as we would like to put the blame on someone else, anywhere you point the finger is redundant because there is no one to blame for the meaningless. What we believe now we can change simply by perceiving things the way that we were created to. We can do this only by identifying the ego and learning how it works so that we know that it is false and there is no reason to fear anything in this world that we think that we see because God did not make it, therefore it is meaningless. Anything that happens here has no effect on our eternal beingness. Our only function is to help our brothers to realize that they are whole and have nothing to fear but themselves in a very literal sense. It is very important to realize that everything that you think that you see outside of you is inside of you. That is why it is so important to accept your brothers and never judge them or accuse them of anything because they are you and any attack on them is an attack on yourself. Forgive your brothers for what you and they have not done because we are all innocent no matter how much we think that we can sacrifice and crucify ourselves. Our minds are comprised of two guides. The Holy Spirit is the guide that is from God that you should give any discomfort to and His function is to guide you to see past error and the meaninglessness that surrounds you so that you may fulfill your function in healing all of your brothers by thinking of them as whole and remembering where they came from for them. The ego is the dark, multi-leveled, multi-possibility, disease causing, stress causing part of your mind that you have made real by giving belief and power. We would have ourselves be as vampires are, eternal creatures that feed on others in order to sustain their pitiful existence. But this is not what we were created for. During the process of learning to perceive truly, speaking from my experience, you see the ego and the Holy spirit in action and you learn to distinguish between them. It is easy to behave accordingly, in not letting anything disrupt your peace by knowing that it is meaningless because it was not created by God, but emotionally you tend to internalize when you are not attacking on the outside of you when you normally would because you do not yet realize that what is on the outside is on the inside. Any attack (inner or outer, which are the same) will lead to projection which is when the ego is given power to run rampant and you start to feel weak and powerless over it because this is not your natural state. The ego is a sneaky bastard that will do anything for your allegiance. He is completely logical yet totally insane and has nothing to lose. The Holy Spirit does not acknowledge the ego because it knows that the ego was not a creation of God and therefore isn't real and is therefore meaningless. The little angel symbolized the Holy Spirit's guidance and symbols being pushed aside for the ego's illusions. We will all find our truth and our way to the light. We were created to create,share, and be joyful. Peace is the answer. Give all to all to have and all will make perfect sense.

this song is strong in so many ways........... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/9/10

yes to an addiction. addiction to drugs, sex, to an unhealthy realationship to an ex...that lingers over your shoulder and soul. everyone will define this song as thier own as I did...and made sense.

weak and powerless | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/18/10

Weak and powerless is about addiction. The stage before cleaning up as evidenced by him telling the angel to go away. He's gonna use today to kill the pain of feeling so weak and powerless. China white is a type of heroine and 13th step is a reference to sleeping with the newcomer or a new person to a 12 step meeting usually after you've had some clean time. That's where the dynamic between sex and/or other forms of addiction can be seen within the music.

powerless | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/12/10

I do believe that this song is about an addiction. To anything. When you need to give in. Knowing in the back of your mind that you shouldn't be doing it again. That one bump. One hit. One fuck. Whatever it is. When it has total control over you and the choice is no longer yours. But that's just my opinion.

the meaning | Reviewer: adrian | 2/28/10

hey if anyone snagged the bonus dvd to APC's Annhialation album the video to this song is on it with the option of hearing Maynard describe the content of the song. Assuming he is not fucking with people which is highly possible, he said this song was in reference to alcoholism

Well.... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/25/10

The only one that knows for sure what the song is about is the author himself, but it seems like an addiction song. Whether it be to a drug, person, or other is up for debate in my head. Could be completely wrong though. lol


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 2/ 4