its not about an emo | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/13/08

Ok this song is about a drug addiction, like many other songs on Thirtheenth step. He's singing the song like he's singing about watching someone he cares about be severely addicted to drugs and wondering why they don't listen to him and he screams at them for throwing their life away.

Awesome song, great lyrics :D | Reviewer: -_- | 5/24/08

People, stop being drama queens.
And stop arguing. Something as lame as 'oh its 4 emos' is not worth anyone's energy. Seriously.

Anyway...

I've had this song stuck in my head for several weeks @-@...but I don't really mind, I never get tired of it. This band has the best lyrics :)

perfect song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/1/08

to give to girls who complain to me about their problems like they are going to kill themselves over it. the fact that i've given it out more than once probably means i'm attracting the wrong crowd. oh well...

WTF?... | Reviewer: Still A Mystery | 3/1/08

i only have one thing to said...YAAA..BITCH YAAA..!!...you guys are suckers...writing about theise songs...annyway nobody`s read this annyway!!!...it was just a Message to told you guys how loosers you are!!.

hmm | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/19/08

lol to all you retards going on about emo go die we don't care, it's really amusing because you don't even see Maynard is taking the piss out of you people, (think of the title! it's call the outsider) this song is ironic it's meant to be sung about the point of view of someone watching someone they care about act self-destructive, and how this person doesn't understand and just assumes its for attention. (I don't think Maynard is saying suicide is right, but I think he's saying don't give everyone who is such a hard time, because yer theres some who do do it for attention, but depression is an illness a chemical inbalence in the brain so you can't fake that lmao.... though some obviously do, and stop refering to emo , yes I do find emo kids annoying but it doesnt mean everyone going through depression is a fan of taking back sunday lmao....

p.s maynard basically explains this songs meaning for himself on the dvd just incase you want to check of course youre menna have your own ideas too

Adrastea | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/28/08

It reminds me of a girl who I'm obsessed with.

She's a suicidal imbecile, a medicated drama queen, and she's fucking narcissistic.

But she has something which makes me unable to stop watching her, talking to her and listening to everything she tells me.

Response | Reviewer: Jordan | 12/13/07

As a response to abe76016, everyone has different interpretations that mean something for them. Simply because that was the intention for the artist doesn't mean that one must interpret the song in that way. That is what the song probably means for Maynard, however, we cannot relate to that meaning of the song. Therefore we take the song and shape it, so it means something for us. That, for me, is the entire meaning of Tool. I think we should use their music as a tool for our own lives and situations. Interpret it to best influence and help our own lives. Then, we can respect the great music that has been made for us by Tool and A Perfect Circle and just all bands and music in general.

This comment is probably generalizing way too much. Also, keep in mind, this is just my interpretation, there are many others. In fact, a lot of the time I find myself interpreting a song in several different ways while listening to it because that is what it means to me at that particular time.

Pru Good | Reviewer: Jordan | 12/13/07

Little story pertaining to this song: I had this song stuck in my head today at school. I was thinking about something and the song came into my head completely out of the blue. Previously I'd listened to it 2-3 times. In retrospect it may have even been slightly subconscious. I didn't know what song it was, who sang it, or what the exact lyrics were. All I knew was that, in my mind, it pertained perfectly to the situation I was thinking about.

After about half an hour, I thought it was a song by "A Perfect Circle". So, after school I decided to come home and listen to A Perfect Circle until I stumpled upon it.

Sure enough, it came up and... it was AMAZING! Now that I know the lyrics and have listened to it a few more times it has even more meaning. Great song.

Not a bad album, not fabulous either, personally I'd rather listen to Tool. However, this album seems to have a few songs that hit home for me. Most notably, this song.

Anywho, I like to view this song as being about the mainstream view of drugs in American culture and how flawed it is. Just my take on the song.

morons | Reviewer: abe76016 | 10/26/07

This song was to Layne Thomas Staley(lead singer of Alice in Chains), former friend of Maynard. The song "Thomas" was also to him, IMO.

Staley was a heroine addict and eventually took a mix of heroine and cocaine, which killed him. In no way was this song was directed towards "emos" when it was written. BTW, anyone dumb enough to even consider suicide as a way to end their "suffering" should go ahead and do it, quit wasting my oxygen. The world spun before you were born and will continue to long after you kill yourself.

get it straight | Reviewer: abe76016 | 10/26/07

This song was to Layne Thomas Staley(lead singer of Alice in Chains), former friend of Maynard. The song "Thomas" was also to him, IMO.

Staley was a heroine addict and eventually took a mix of heroine and cocaine, which killed him. In no way was this song was directed towards "emos" when it was written. BTW, anyone dumb enough to even consider suicide as a way to end their "suffering" should go ahead and do it, quit wasting my oxygen. The world spun before you were born and will continue to long after you kill yourself.

get it right people... | Reviewer: abe76016 | 10/26/07

This song was to Layne Thomas Staley(lead singer of Alice in Chains), former friend of Maynard. The song "Thomas" was also to him, IMO.

Staley was a heroine addict and eventually took a mix of heroine and cocaine, which killed him. In no way was this song was directed towards "emos" when it was written. BTW, anyone dumb enough to even consider suicide as a way to end their "suffering" should go ahead and do it, quit wasting my oxygen. The world spun before you were born and will continue to long after you kill yourself.

Excelent | Reviewer: Archaeopteryx | 10/24/07

The lyric is great. It has one thing that I always search in a song and that is to feel conected to it. Normaly is the lyric is this case it everything! This lyric shows the reflection about suicide thing that I also thought about, and quite don't understand too. Personaly don't think that it's the best way out but "desperate times call for desperate measures" i guess...

personally love it | Reviewer: LeeLee | 9/28/07

So, I see those who have no respect for others feelings. This song is great for different reasons to different people. PERSONALLY it hits home b/c I have attempted suicide over 5 times, and NO, I'm not "emo"- most of the attempts happened before the word "emo" was even coined. All very serious attempts, but yet someone saved me w/o my permission every time("everyone will have his day to die"). Most people who attempt suicide do it for attention, and really have no intention of doing it. for those this line was dedicated: "should your drama prove sincere, do it somewhere far away from here" The rest of the song is for people like me w/ self destructive behavior who bring down those around us b/c we can't find happiness in anything.Maynard is speaking from the perspective of say, my boyfriend. Who loves me and wonders why I have tried so many times yet knows its my decision but doesn't desire to see me die. Maynard is basically saying I don't care what you do, but if you want to self destruct don't do it here. He isn't really condoning or justifying suicide. In the end its your decision anyway - you are the one who has to deal w/ the consequences. This song just says that in a fun way. :)

... | Reviewer: DeadRayne | 9/24/07

This song is a true piece of art. And it isn't hateful towards suicide, it is distasteful towards it. The lyrics are basically saying that suicide is the easy way out, and that those who do commit such an act are desperate.

I love how Maynard always seems to put important matters into his songs, while still remaining emotional and true to the artistic aspect of the music as well as the political and social aspects.

Pro-suicide or anti-suicide? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/23/07

I cant believe Maynard really thinks this way about suicide. I thought he was pro-suicide. He maybe had suicidal thoughts but now he talks like a possitivist. Anyway, people talking about emos like always, please just shut up. Being really depressed and not finding a way at life is not funny and its not a thing to child with. Anyway, do as you want, Im fine with my life. I dont know what I think about suicide, Myself I dont want to do it, I want to live my entire life, but any person has the chance to choose when to die.