Reviews for Judith Lyrics

Performed by A Perfect Circle

By Pages:   Previous 10 Pages    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 19/ 24
Add Your New Review About The Song

TOOL | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/26/07

It is quite well known that "Eulogy" is about the individual battle with the ego-self. You have to understand that much of what Maynard writes (especially with Tool) is based on experiences he has had tripping on LSD and as crazy as it sounds one can never really understand the music unless they have done so.

Catma for catholics | Reviewer: Lolo | 12/27/07

mom's are important to kids...hard to lose one twice...I hate to throw a damper on the party and quote scripture but 1st Peter verse 8 shows that we all are subject to the enemie's clutches....and I would think thats where the blame rests...getting pissed is theraputic...it gets the most results....I like all the Judith songs...as a mother myself i think it's a great tribute and love shown...dispite the sailor cussing and damnation...I am happy to get my son's answering maching and hear his voice once a week...."Leave a fucking messge!"

Ok, so I read all of them... | Reviewer: E | 12/7/07

I've read all of your ideas and opinion's on what this song is about... This is mine...It is about his mother's fight with cancer and her undying faith, despite the fact that she had a stroke and was paralyzed for 30 years. And Maynard's anger towards her belief system. I heard someone compare this song to "Eulogy"...not even close. That song was about his stepfather who was a preacher and left his mother alone after the stroke. The same guy who molested him as a youngster. So no comparrison. He wrote about the same man in "Prison Sex"...Then if we move to the "10,000 Days" album with the title tracks is also about his mom. That's roughly the number of days in the 30 year span. She had passed and ended her struggle, to which Maynard wrote it so poetically. From funeral to the approach of the pearly gates!

Art | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/7/07

The music written by Maynard or anyone else is art at its very core and the beauty of art is interpretation. Obviously Maynard has his views and we all have ours, but trying to feel what some one else was feeling at the time the art is created is futile. When you approach music as art and take away from it what you see, hear, and feel there is no wrong interpretation. It is all about what it means to YOU.

Judith | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/23/07

At one time of everyone's life, you question why. The song starts of very harsh against Christianity, then mellows. I like it, it pushes. If you never question why then your are following the herd. I like tool & perfect circle because they test boundaries. Isn't that what life is all about?
READ THE LYRICS. His mother suffered and died. What did it get her? WHY?

Hail to the Power of the First but Respect | Reviewer: none@none.com | 11/23/07

Im all for the First Admendment right to free speech so a Perferct Circle can let views rip...Feel free.. I liked this song till I saw the lyrics. I think it goes to far. An attack on Allah, Christ, Moses umm I think its a little much but to each his own. This song was full of too much venom for me and Im a Disturbed fan lol.

Stumbled here | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/21/07

I've read the lyrics to the song (after listening it for ions). I've also read the "debate". And since everyone has an asshole..I mean opinion.....
1.) You can be SAVED and beleive in GOD and have FREE WILL
2.) After reading this "debate" only one word can sum this up..IGNORANT. You people have no idea what you are talking about. And sometimes, IGNORANCE can't be counter acted with come-backs.

for his mother | Reviewer: max | 11/21/07

ok, i read the first couple of imputs... and i lost it to the point i had to add my own... I am very sorry if this has all ready been said... but i have to add what i think at this momment... first and fore most i am a christain.... this song was written from a son that lost a mother to cancer... you can feel the pain... and even though some right wingers would love to think this song is ebil... its not... it gets back to a question of faith... and if by hearing this song you felt you needed to judge someone... then you have made the mistake... I know personally more then lyrics and god this song is awesome.. and if you think for a momment it is putting down faith you are wrong.... it is questioning your belief... wait until it happens to you...

Jordan... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/18/07

Hey Jordan, I think there's more to it than that. I think if it were just about the guy who stabbed Jesus then it wouldn't be named after his mother. He's making an analogy through the guy- that's for sure. He's saying that Judith wasn't the one to stab him, "It's not like you killed someone, It's not like you drove a hateful spear into his side" (he uses it to argue his question of why she is to suffer). Then he contrasts it with how after all she'd been through, she'd still "Praise the one who left you broken down and paralyzed."

This song! | Reviewer: Jordan | 11/14/07

You all realize, that this song was made for the man who stuck the spear into the side of jesus 2 make sure he was dead, right? "Praise the one who left you broken down and paralyzed, He did it all for you.." its a song praising the man that scraped the life away from Jesus...and i honestly raise my cup to that man as well

P.O.V. | Reviewer: Bri | 11/13/07

I feel I can relate to this song because even as a catholic (since stating one's belief seems to be rather important in this review) I've felt the same way I assume he feels in this song. I was next to my grandmother when she died. It was a horrible slow and painful death. As I stood by her death bed I was so angry that this God whom she was always so faithful to would put her through so much pain. I like this song because I feel he does a great job expressing that emotion through music. So I guess it all just depends on your own perspective.

awesome song | Reviewer: diluted | 11/13/07

i cudn giv a rats ass abt all d religious freaks who gets offended by d lyrics cuz ths is one song dat u can never get bored of listenin to..d music is awesome..nd quite frankly d lyrics fit well wit d music..nd besides i thot rock wuz d devils fruit...so y r u religious idiots even listenin 2 it...shudn u b off prayin sumwhere...:S...neway...ths song rocks nd neone who is offended...well there isn nethin u can do cuz its already been released nd well....u can jus go crawl under a rock or sumthin..peace out..\m/..:D

awesome song | Reviewer: diluted | 11/13/07

i cudn giv a rats ass abt all d religious freaks who gets offended by d lyrics cuz ths is one song dat u can never get bored of listenin to..d music is awesome..nd quite frankly d lyrics fit well wit d music..nd besides i thot rock wuz d devils fruit...so y r u religious idiots even listenin 2 it...shudn u b off prayin sumwhere...:S...neway...ths song rocks nd neone who is offended...well there isn nethin u can do cuz its already been released nd well....u can jus go crawl under a rock or sumthin..peace out..\m/..:D

It's a two sided blade | Reviewer: Klimbatize | 11/11/07

If you listen to the song "Eulogy" by TOOL (The band that was always meant for Maynard to be in)
he does a similair thing...except its a bit longer and a bit more descriptive. That's beside the fact though.In the lyrics "Fuck your god,your lord,your christ" he's taking one side and disproving that there is a god and that many people believe what they are told with no questions asked. They follow like sheep and never really think for themselves because they are told what to believe and anything else that doesn't believe it is wrong,wicked and demonic. At the same time Maynard is taking the other side and saying that Christ did die for everyones sins and that he did it for us. All in all...he is taking an athiest and christain point of view,But its to hit some of the focal points in huge arguments about this subject (just look at the reviews lol...there's quite a few that are qutie one sided)using simple words.
for one last thing though.It is about his mom so while it raises controversy around god and antichrist it's mainly written around his mom. It may have been written in anger if you really look at it and feel the song out as well. Like what some others said (I agree with Amy on a lot of things...but I'm not trying to take sides here) it's just music. Love and know it. This is an amazing song. Then again...doesn't damn near everything that Maynard has written been amazing???

RE: Stop and think before you write | Reviewer: Toast | 11/6/07

I am not a Christian or religious and like most of you i adore the song. there was something that "lamar" said that i feel needs ammending tho he said, "there'd b peace if people would just learn to keep their goddamned options to their selfs"
what i think he should have said is "there'd be peace if people would accept other peoples right to voice their opinion and not find offence in it just accept it as the way they feel.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   Previous 10 Pages    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 19/ 24