Reviews for Judith Lyrics

Performed by A Perfect Circle

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 7/ 24
Add Your New Review About The Song

This song sounds pro christian | Reviewer: Bria | 12/14/10

I dont like this song on many grounds. I dont like that christians are trying to go mainstream. the fact is, he covered up the lyrics with loud guitar riffs, which means to me, that the song is pro christian, and he tried to toss it in mainstream. That is my two cents.

Everyone's Overanalyzing | Reviewer: Gage Cloutier | 12/13/10

Let's look at the facts; as described by Maynard himself in the aMOTION commentary on the DVD. This isn't a song about anti-religion as a whole, or fucking the Christian god. It's specifically about his mother's church, and how the fundamental Christians were talking behind her back about being "punished"

it's too bad | Reviewer: jon | 12/7/10

I never see the point in going after a God you don't believe in for something you couldn't control. The root of all evil is people. evil inside of people is part of all of us. The degree to which people act on that evil is different for each person. Crusades under the guise of religion, robbing a store, or just thinking something bad - it's all bad and we are all capable of it. Only God can save us from ourselves.

Chill | Reviewer: Immi | 12/2/10

Why must people try to hard to argue about things? Maynard's mother died, she was very religious, and he's angry and hurt that she's gone and the god she chose to believe in didn't save her, and he wrote a song about it. It's pretty damn simple.

Christians have their own genre. Stay over there! | Reviewer: Adam | 11/30/10

C'mon guys, don't bring that religious BS over here. Go comment on gospel songs if you want to talk about your god. This song speaks to us like minded individuals who can't help but to laugh at your prayers.

my opinion | Reviewer: brian | 11/25/10

First off His music puts me in a trance and opens my mind he is truly blessed in many ways.

He misses his mother as anyone would. This song is how he feels as a human. His mother is at peace in paradise. And one day her unconditional love for God and her son will have them reunited.

The truth behind Judith | Reviewer: Kris | 11/11/10

Judith was a song named after Maynard Keenan's mother Judith who suffered a stroke in the beginning months of 1975. Judith was a very religious person always begging and pleading to her "GOD" and in the song, Maynard references how He (her supposed "GOD") did this to her, took all she had and left her that way. It's all about not believing in god or jesus christ which is the same in my opinion, If he exists, why let things like that happen to someone who doesn't deserve it. OH wait, most christians will now say it is "GOD"'s way of testing you. BS test this .|..

Opinions | Reviewer: Jarred | 11/9/10

I would like to point out a few things...

DNA is a compound made out of proteins and amino acids. Natural things found in the environment. There, explained.

Cancer is just a mutation in cells that causes the genetic material in them that keeps the growth rate in check to stop functioning. The cell keeps multiplying out of control, causing tumors which are just masses of this tissue made of cells that are reproducing without that STOP button. The only real reason it kills anyone is because the cells either start to decay and rot inside the body or they pressure/clog something vital.

I would also like to point out that the Bible was written by some nameless people centuries ago who wrote it down entirely based on the fact that they heard a voice in their head telling them what to write. All recorded history of the prophets COULD just be madmen going around raving about a God that nobody had heard of before, which was commonplace in that time.

I think that Maynard isn't trying to completely throw down Christianity. I think he's telling people to step back and take a look at what they're doing, why they're doing it, and to what end. That just because Eve ate that apple and got both her and Adam thrown out of Eden and condemned the human race until Jesus came unto Earth to be our savior doesn't mean that we as humans are inherently bad, but that believing in something we either know nothing about or have misguided views on is something that should be remedied. From personal experience, a great majority of people who are Christians, or of any religion for that matter, don't even know what's in their holy book, or even all the basic moral systems and beliefs that are valued in their religion.

I'd also like to point out that almost every major war to take place on this planet had been brought about by either religion or another belief system. Someone got butt hurt that someone else thought something differently, so they decided to try and "persuade" the other to believe their way. The Crusades, anyone? What about Rome? Genghis Khan? How about Hitler? Even Britain, taking over a large portion of the world. That itself was primarily a business thing, but once they got to another place, they invoked a superiority system. Brits were better, and everyone else was to either obey and follow the British lifestyle and convert to being Catholic, or they were exiled, banished, executed, or otherwise ostracized.

I think that's about it. Can't think of much more to say right now. XD

Reasons why. | Reviewer: Matt | 11/7/10

After hearing the lyrics to this great musical piece all I can say is sad. Sad that so many in this world try to rationalize their own shortcomings and misdeeds by dismissing or accusing God. Why does cancer

Reasons why part 2 | Reviewer: Matt | 11/7/10

Ever think about the fact that we humans screwing with Gods earth with genetically modified food might cause cancer? Sinful people like us are the reasons why. Since Adam and Eve we have disobeyed God and killed each other blaming wars on religion instead of our own greed. Great music but misguided lyrics.

To Anonymous on the first comment. | Reviewer: ThinkStraight | 10/29/10

People learn from their experiences, and evolve. You have to understand that Maynard is a person as well. What anybody preaches is not for others to follow, there has to be use of discretion.
When his mother passed away, he realized what undying faith meant, and why faith was more important than god. See for yourself, listen to Wings for Marie pt 2(10000 days) by Tool.
If I could cure one disease, it would be prejudice. :)

my point | Reviewer: Kris | 10/28/10

First of all I like the song Judith and APC...and thats all I can say for it.
Second wether or not there is a God or supreme beings or anything out there, I think the best way is just respect them and who ever is the highest among them...I'm a Christian but I dont go to church like I'm obligated to neither do I look to the bible as a truth I look at it as a fact and a book with so many unparalleled teachings, neither do I look at my religion as a main reality because I was born in a Christian family so I never got to pick my religion anyway...we dont have to fight over something that wont even make things better..first of all if theres a God or not, would fighting ever help us? would it make us feel better?..just stand down put the points in your head and thats it..as for songs I listen to lots of songs with different points, sometimes because of the lyrics or the point or the tune and stuff like that or all of it...just remember not to judge people you dont know...our perception of someone is not always true...remember KNOW is different from THINK...so know someone rather than judge him/her because you just think of him/her as that..

To take the lord's name in vain | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/28/10

So many for and against arguments on the existence of a god, this annoys me. Why can't we all agree that while the great mystery of whether a god exists or doesn't exist will not be revealed to us until we die and eventually all our particular predjudices will do is get us into arguments, for the most part the generalized Christian bible (in which these lyrics refer to) has and will continue to be a fantastic source of inspiration to millions of people and is actually a fantastic source of moral explanation. Example is the ten commandments. I hold no predjudices either way but I will say that the only thing more annoying than someone peddling there so called beloved god like an Avon product, door to door, are these vocal athirst characters who try and spoil the very positive side of religion for those who turn to it seeking guidance, faith or a general
sense of belonging. This song is like "smack my bitch up". The composer revels in self righteousness over his reasons for writing the song and perhaps justifies the statements with "deep personal experience" but cheapens his personal relationships through using them as a poor excuse to say something controversial, for attention, exposure and ultimateley for materialistic gain. Bit sick when you think about it isn't it.

I can't worship a god | Reviewer: Seeker of the Mind's Eye | 10/27/10

that would put anyone in such a situation where we could advance, and live, and die and understand, to laugh, to cry, to lie, to tell truth, to be a human, noting that we are human, and say "NO, you can't do that", and then say the one who let us see is the evil one

Are you serious? | Reviewer: TheAbandoned | 10/14/10

God gave us free will? Guess it was fair of him to let two people decide the fate for everyone. Were we born having tasted the fruit already? An evil deed from an innocent seed in a mother's womb? Why must we be born into suffering and share the world with the wicked. Righteous is he who abandons us. We are like Daniel in the lions den. (except)Betrayed by god* and placed into a world of dangers and evil. We are expected to still love him as if he didn't place us in the horrible world. Would you trust someone if they put you into a den of lions? Hey! Turn them into sheep so they may be like you! And if that doesn't work just lie there and let them be as they are and feed on you. You will come out ok in the end because I love you. I can come at this many ways. Here's just a taste of that forbidden fruit.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 7/ 24